We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Village Green Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Ephraim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ottawa, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home Away from Home”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

My husband and I have been going to Door County for approximately 18 years. Door County has numerous lodging options, and we stayed different places the first 5 or 6 years. Then we found the Village Green Lodge and have not stayed anywhere else in Door County since then!

What sets the Village Green Lodge apart from other places we have stayed is the hospitality of Sue and Steve, the owners. They truly make each guest feel pampered and special. Coming back for a week each summer feels more like visiting friends than staying at a motel. The delicious homemade breakfast buffets and afternoon cookies served in the Gathering Room also set the Village Green apart from other lodging options.

The Village Green is nestled in a beautifully landscaped tree-filled setting -- a close walk to the water but away from any road noise. It offers the best of both worlds -- the privacy of a hotel/motel with separate room entrances and private bathrooms, and a wonderful homemade breakfast usually only found at a traditional bed and breakfast. The lodge rooms are homey (quilts on the beds, stenciling on the walls, and comfortable wingback chairs), well-maintained, and exceptionally clean. A small refrigerator and microwave in each room are extra conveniences not always found in rooms.

This past June I introduced two of my friends to the Village Green Lodge. We stayed in the 2 bedroom suite -- a perfect option for a friends' get-away. The suite is tastefully decorated, comfortable, immaculate, and has all the conveniences of home. We already hope to return another year!

My husband and I are looking forward to again "coming home" to the Village Green Lodge for a week this summer. We know we won't be disappointed!

Cheryl

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    25
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
128
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
RatherNotSay
Level Contributor
108 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stumbled on this gem a year ago, and came back this year without hesitation. The owners are wonderfully friendly, helpful, and they run a fantastic bed & breakfast. The rooms are quaint and homey, the landscaping pretty, a block off the main road and therefore quiet, and the food at breakfast is always a treat. The private pool and deck area are big enough for the feeling of ample space yet keep a personal and intimate setting for friends to sit together for conversation or lounging in the sun. Oh - and the beds are comfy too! We will continue to go back because they are doing everything right!

Room Tip: I really like the quaintness of staying on the 2nd floor with its wooden outdoor walkway and hanging...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

After a month of researching sites, trails, parks, and restaurants around Door County, I was finally left with the difficult decision of finding a place to spend three nights during Memorial Day weekend. Many of the options are outdated and over-priced, at least according to Trip Advisor. Now after spending a wonderful long weekend here, I write this review:

Village Green's location couldn't be any better being just a block from the scenic lake front in Ephraim. To follow it, follow the hotel arrow signs (or turn right on Cedar then the next block will be Poplar). Upon arrival, it looks like a converted motel. Once you enter the lodge and main dining room, that all changes. You're greeted by one of the owners, Sue or Steve. You have a pleasant view of their well-kept gardens with hummingbirds and orioles feeding while you take care of the business of getting your key and getting the scoop. While this is considered a B&B, you have the privacy of a hotel and breakfast of a B&B without being in a stranger's home.

They offered the most reasonable King bed room (it's a rarity to find, especially at this price) I could find in Door County. Even more so, a hotel that is FREE of pets, cigarette smoke AND kids---Triple score! That's what I call a true escape! The room was extremely clean--and I mean immaculate. I'm one of those who examines my bathroom and sheets for hair or any other uninvited critters. I didn't find any of this my entire stay. The room had an outdoorsy theme with wood and leaves. The room also came with a mini fridge, a desk, TV with WGN (to watch Tom Skilling's weather report), plenty of lighting, a bathroom heater, bathtub, everything I would ask for. Breakfast is served between 8 am and 10 am and was exceptional. Everything is homemade by their European assistants who have talent. They made the best oatmeal (with all the works on the side) and almond Kringle I have ever bit into! Be sure to partake in free cookies, tea and coffee at 3 pm. The only one fuss is that Wi-Fi is only available in the lodge versus all the rooms. This is unfortunate since cell phone signal is hard to find on the peninsula.

If you're looking for a reasonably priced, clean and perfectly located place to stay while in Door County, I would highly recommend Village Green Lodge.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, I would recommend the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiskas, Owner at Village Green Lodge, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Richie, thank you for your awesome review!
I'm happy to be able to report that we are right now upgrading our wireless to include all the rooms and suites. Everything is in place and just needs a bit of "tweaking" to get it fully functional.
Sue and I are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again!
Thanks again!
Steve Sherman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaukauna, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We have enjoyed a May weekend at the Village Green Lodge for 4 years in a row. The service is always heartfelt and wonderful. The breakfasts are absolutely delicious! This year I was lactose-intolerant and Maria and the staff were so caring and accommodating. They went out of their way to make sure I had a hot, delicious breakfast. We love the gathering room, where we can stop in for coffee and cookies anytime. Steve even filled our water bottles with filtered water from their fridge! Might sound silly, but we love the personal attention. The location in Ephraim is great too -- you can travel north or south for good food and shopping. Walk across the street and watch a beautiful sunset. We'll be back again next year!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogden, Utah, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We had a great stay at the Village Green Lodge. Sue and Steve are very friendly and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Relaxing in the lodge was very cozy. We had a chance to meet some of the other guests and chat with Sue and Steve about attractions and restaurants in the area. The lodge is a nice size - big enough so that we met a variety of other guests, but small enough to be comfortable and cozy. Breakfasts were delicious. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipp City, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

This is a must for anyone who wants a retreat atmosphere in a quaint, comfortable destination: writers, leadership teams, crafters clubs, couples/friends/relatives. All of the beauty of Door County was at our fingertips without the bustle of the busy season. And even though many tourist attractions were closed, we hiked all over Ephraim and surrounding towns/parks, found places to eat, toured a winery, walked along the water and rode the ferry to Washington Island. We had a fabulous breakfast every morning that is truly one of the selling points of Steve and Sue Sherman’s Village Green Lodge. The Fireside Room – which is open all day – is the perfect place to warm up and relax, read, chat and have Sue’s amazing cookies with coffee or an assortment of tea. We have been guests on three occasions – all in the fall months – but we want to try cross country skiing and snow shoeing in the winter months. The individual, outdoor entrances to the Lodge’s rooms lend a privacy factor not usually found in B&Bs while breakfast in the common Fireside Room give it that homey feel; a perfectly balanced blend.

Room Tip: The family suite is a new feature that works great with more than one couple or a small group that w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We loved this B&B! We had a suite, everything was clean, the bed was comfortable and the furniture in the sitting area was attractive - nice couch, leather recliner with a foot stool and assorted small tables. We even had guests in for supper one night! Sue and Steve were very accommodating in providing extra serving bowls, utensils, etc. The kitchenette included a table and chairs, coffee maker, microwave, and cupboards stocked with service for four. Breakfast was delicious every day and the hosts were so welcoming. This was our first time at the Village Green but not the last. We didn't make use of the whirlpool bath in the living room but I expect some people would enjoy a dip. This B&B did not have a Fitness Center, I don't know if they had room service or not, this was not something we needed.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WIBumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephraim
0.1 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
742 reviews
3.0 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
381 reviews
3.8 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
357 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Grove Resort
Pine Grove Resort
#8 of 8 in Ephraim
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Green Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Green Lodge

Property: Village Green Lodge
Address: 10013 Poplar Street, Ephraim, WI 54211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ephraim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Green Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The peaceful grounds, comfortable rooms, adult-friendly atmosphere and great location in the heart of Ephraim, provide a great venue to unwind and relax while you explore all of Door County. Come experience the charming quaintness of a bed and breakfast lodge 1/2 a block from Eagle Harbor. The tradition of the Village Green Lodge hospitality starts with breakfast and farm-to-table offerings, which change with the seasons. Our guests enjoy couples retreats, ladies weekends, mother-daughter get-a-ways, family and friend reunions or use the lodge as base camp for biking, hiking and kayaking expeditions. Our room options include 1 king or 2 doubles, whirlpool/fireplace suites and a large 2-bedroom/2 bath suite with full kitchen and living room with fireplace...perfect for two couples. Owners, Mike and Jamie McCarthy can suggest fun Door County options to fit your time and interests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Village Green Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing