We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Village Green Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Ephraim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Just returned from another great stay at the Village Green Lodge in Ephraim WI. We have been staying here for over 17 yrs! Sue & Steve Sherman have owned it for 17 yrs and they are the best. The rooms are neat, clean and oh, so comfy. While the rooms do have refrigerators and microwaves, one of the best features is the breakfasts prepared by Sue and her helpers. For example, this morning we had cherry scones with cherry butter, egg & ham croissant sandwiches and raisin toast (or limpa I think). There was also a fruit juice and coffee or tea. They go above and beyond giving you suggestions for dinner or different things to do and see. But most of all you are treated like family. And you have a great time visiting with all the other guests. It is truly home away from home. I highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: We always have the corner room at the top of the stairs. You can't go wrong with any room. Sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peggyb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    25
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
128
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the Village Green multiple times. Sue and Steve make us feel like family! Rooms are comfortable and immaculately clean. Breakfasts are freshly prepared and served in the cozy gathering room. There are many choices in Door County but this is a hidden gem!





Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We have stayed at VG many times over the years-- Always a delight! Great rooms & suites. Steve & Sue are ultimate hosts! Breakfasts are the best & offer an intimate gourmet buffet- homemade everything-- even Door Co jam, set in the Lodge with fireplace & garden views.
Location is super-- walk to stores & beach. The pool is heated and pristine and comfortable lounges galore. Nearby Penninsula Park has the outdoor Folklore Theatre--a must! Also fab golf with breathtaking views of the sparkling bay-- all just minutes. Wonderful for couples and girls getaway. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: All great! Upstairs in Lodge --a couple rooms have views of bay. The suites are fabulous-- like co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaymanLaurelei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

We love the friendly and clean VGL and come back time and time again. Off the beaten path it is quiet but well located to get to food, shops, spa walking or driving. The breakfasts were not as wonderful as usual but the the mid treats were fabulous. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Punky70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at the Village Green Lodge for Labor Day weekend. It had gotten good ratings. We had a lodge room including breakfast. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. The grounds were well kept and the pool was very refreshing and even had floaties. Breakfast was very tasty both days we were there.
So, what was wrong? Our room always had a dampness to it. The towels in the bathroom alwahys had that same dampness. In fact, there was a certain smell to the room-I don't know if it was cleaner or what.
Too bad!

Room Tip: I think I would go again but maybe ask for a different room in another location maybe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Ridge, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I had a wonderful retreat to a Wisconsin find! The Village Green set the climate for an outstanding and relaxing experience. I felt extremely welcomed and cared for by Sue and Steve!
The location, and details of the Village Lodge make it easy to find and get to restaurants as well as other local sights. I loved looking out my window and seeing sailboats on the water.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jericho, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

What can we say - we love this quaint, lovely place, only minutes from fabulous views and sunsets on Green Bay. The owners, Sue and Steve, and the staff they hire, go out of their way to assure continued vacation happiness. They are all the best! The rooms are sunny and spanking clean, with ample towels which always makes us happy. The breakfasts are plentiful and great. We feel always, as if we have "come home" when we stay here. It is a deep pleasure for us to return what seems to be almost yearly. The hikes in the nearby state parks are wonderful, and then there's the wonderful Peninsula Music Festival which we love. Door County is a treasure - but so is the Village Green Lodge.

Room Tip: The second floor is what we like best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessg_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephraim
0.1 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
743 reviews
3.0 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
381 reviews
3.8 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
358 reviews
2.6 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#3 of 17 in Sister Bay
167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Grove Resort
Pine Grove Resort
#8 of 8 in Ephraim
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Green Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Green Lodge

Property: Village Green Lodge
Address: 10013 Poplar Street, Ephraim, WI 54211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ephraim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Green Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The peaceful grounds, comfortable rooms, adult-friendly atmosphere and great location in the heart of Ephraim, provide a great venue to unwind and relax while you explore all of Door County. Come experience the charming quaintness of a bed and breakfast lodge 1/2 a block from Eagle Harbor. The tradition of the Village Green Lodge hospitality starts with breakfast and farm-to-table offerings, which change with the seasons. Our guests enjoy couples retreats, ladies weekends, mother-daughter get-a-ways, family and friend reunions or use the lodge as base camp for biking, hiking and kayaking expeditions. Our room options include 1 king or 2 doubles, whirlpool/fireplace suites and a large 2-bedroom/2 bath suite with full kitchen and living room with fireplace...perfect for two couples. Owners, Mike and Jamie McCarthy can suggest fun Door County options to fit your time and interests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Village Green Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing