We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic stay at the Village Green Lodge!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Village Green Lodge
Ranked #2 of 5 Ephraim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We could not have chosen a better place to stay in Door County! Our family has been coming to the Village Green for 15 years. We love it here! We build our visits around their vacancies. The owners and staff are extremely friendly, helpful and we always feel as if we are 'at home'; they know their guests by name! The rooms are cozy, comfortable, very clean and have all the amenities expected of a high-class accommodation. The breakfast served every morning is reason alone to come and stay! Location is another reason. During our stay, we take advantage of the 4 minute walk to the water AND the 5 minute walk to some of the best ice cream and an awesome fish boil! The staff takes care of every need; they make dinner reservations as well as honest recommendations for dining, activities, and sights to see. No Door County visit would be complete without a stay here!! They really know how to do it right!

Room Tip: Rooms are all excellent! Upstairs waterside rooms have a bit of a view of the bay and are sunny...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joseph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
There are newer reviews for Village Green Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

After spending the day in the hustle and bustle of Fish Creek, it was simply wonderful to arrive at the Village Green with its total serenity! The staff was amazing and so friendly. The rooms were very clean and well stocked. I was glad to make my own coffee in the morning and sit out on the deck listening to the birds! It was terrific and I would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Go for the suites, they are large and have fireplaces and whirlpools.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KKJ29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Sue and Steve (the owners) are one of a kind. When I called to ask if any rooms were available Sue answered and accommodated our every need right down to my husband's breakfast diet needs. As we spoke I felt as if she was a friend already. We arrived to find our room ready and cute as a button. The beds were comfortable and the details in the room were helpful. Sandy at the front desk made dinner reservations for us without hesitation and the staff were kind and helpful. The property is neatly tucked away off the main strip and cozies back up to a wooded area. We would recommend this resort for your next Door County outing. Adults only was a key for us to truly relax and unwind. Be ready to be treated like family when you arrive.

Room Tip: There are several types of rooms available so inquire before booking.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hopp13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vgl2515, Owner at Village Green Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

We would like to thank all of our guests who have taken the time to write a review of their stay at the Village Green Lodge for Trip Advisor. We are honored when people choose us as their destination in Door County.
Our goal is to treat our guests as we would like to be treated when we travel. We are also grateful to have a wonderful staff that strives to serve our guests as we would do.
When we receive these reviews we see that it is working. We can only say thank you from the bottom of our hearts.
For the past 19 years we have been constantly working to make improvements and listening to what our guests say is important to them. Every winter we take on projects that will keep the Village Green Lodge a destination that people will enjoy.
Thank you and kindest regards,
Sue and Steve Sherman
Village Green Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

So many places in Door County are quite lovely, but our stay this time at the Village Green Lodge was really wonderful. We stayed in a suite at the back of the property and it felt as if we were deep in the woods far from traffic and people. The rooms were spotless, the bed comfortable, and the little kitchenette was furnished with just about every supply you would need for a vacation stay. The lodge is only two blocks away from the main action on Hwy 42, so a very short walk gets you to the water and to other shops and restaurants. Ephraim is a "dry" ( no alcohol sold or served) city, although there are other cities very near by where you can buy what you want. The nice part about Ephraim being dry is that it is quieter than some of the surrounding cities. The pool is heated and there are chaise lounges and towels provided. The breakfasts are really good as well. We stayed for 3 nights, and we will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mermac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I know that I am a "hard case," but I can't give the Village Green Lodge an excellent rating. The staff was friendly, helpful and accommodating and the room was clean, comfortable and quiet (until breakfast began directly below), but the room door still opened to the outdoors, which is my definition of a motel. Call it a lodge if you like, but to me it will always be the nicest motel I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank decatur_dug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I hesitate to tell others about this fantastic Lodge in Door County - I may have trouble reserving it once the word gets out! I've been coming to Door County for decades and have stayed in many types of establishments - from B&B's to resorts to cabins. This place is p-e-r-f-e-c-t. The rooms are spotless, spacious, and charming. The grounds are beautiful and well manicured - and it is so peaceful! And, they are about 1/2 a block from the water - easy walk. The pool is small and inviting with plenty of chairs and tables either to nap or read. (No need for a large expansive pool - who is up here to train for the Olympics?) Everything is clean and orderly. There is also a large indoor "Gathering Room" with large comfy couches and tables/chairs. Nice place to meet others in conversation. So, then there's breakfast...home made, creative, and simply fabulous. (Nothing in sealed cellophane there!) And for those coffee addicts like me, there's coffee virtually all day long in addition to some afternoon treats. I came up here for some peace and to decompress and this is the place. Now, do not get me wrong - I love kids - I have three. But the fact that it is a 16 and over establishment is the icing on the cake. The rates are very reasonable. I'm in and I don't have to look any further!

Room Tip: If have mobility issues, you may want to consider those rooms on the ground level instead of those r...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JudyWild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Located In the beautiful town of Ephraim, The Village Green Lodge really is a lovely place to stay. Staff are exceptional friendly, room are comfortable and clean. Breakfast and tea time treats, delicious! We really loved our stay here but it would have been nice to have known that Ephraim is a 'dry town"!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peggydolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephraim
0.1 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
788 reviews
3.0 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
404 reviews
3.8 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Somerset Inn & Suites
Somerset Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Ephraim
240 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
395 reviews
2.6 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#4 of 17 in Sister Bay
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Green Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Green Lodge

Address: 10013 Poplar Street, Ephraim, WI 54211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ephraim
Price Range: £121 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Green Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The peaceful grounds, comfortable rooms, adult-friendly atmosphere and great location in the heart of Ephraim, provide a great venue to unwind and relax while you explore all of Door County. Come experience the charming quaintness of a bed and breakfast lodge 1/2 a block from Eagle Harbor. The tradition of the Village Green Lodge hospitality starts with breakfast and farm-to-table offerings, which change with the seasons. Our guests enjoy couples retreats, ladies weekends, mother-daughter get-a-ways, family and friend reunions or use the lodge as base camp for biking, hiking and kayaking expeditions. Our room options include 1 king or 2 doubles, whirlpool/fireplace suites and a large 2-bedroom/2 bath suite with full kitchen and living room with fireplace...perfect for two couples. Owners, Mike and Jamie McCarthy can suggest fun Door County options to fit your time and interests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Village Green Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing