We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hosts & cute room!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Village Green Lodge
Ranked #2 of 5 Ephraim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Sue & Steve are the hosts with the most! My friend and I enjoyed two nights at the Village Green Lodge in Ephraim, WI. From the time I emailed to determine if the room we wanted was available to the moment we drove out of the driveway, our hosts were warm and full of hospitality. My email was answered quickly and the reservation made easily. The two-bed room was adorably decorated. When we arrived Sue made us feel so welcome and offered fresh baked cookies, coffee or tea. The fireplace gave off just the right atmosphere - and Sue even called to make our dinner reservations. The full breakfasts were delicious and plentiful! This is a wonderful place to stay; I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louisetravels9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2010

We received a gift certificate to Village Green Lodge from some friends of ours as a wedding present. We were so surprised at the warmth and friendliness of Sue and Steve. They made reservations for us at several places and said what ever they could do they would help us with our honeymoon.

The breakfast's were excellent, tea time was nice, and the pool was warm.

The next time I plan to go to Door Country and need a place to stay, I will have Village Green Lodge on the list.

Alan & Julie

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2010

Village Green Lodge is an affordable and charming alternative to condo accommodations. Delicious homemade breakfasts, refreshing afternoon tea, comfy beds, a view of the bay, immaculate rooms and great showers with fluffy towels make this one of Door County's best kept secrets. The Shermans were always glad to see us, answering any and all questions about which shops and restaurants were open (we stayed in early April), driving directions, and dinner recommendations. VG's central location meant we easily found our way around Door County and saw many sights, inside and outside. When we left, we felt rested, cared for, and refreshed. Thanks, Sue and Steve! We'll be back. Barbara, Mequon, WI

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BHDMequon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2009

My wife and I have stayed here for 15 years, even before Sue and Steve. The fact that we keep coming back speaks for itself. We have been recommending The Village Green Lodge to friends and family and without fail they have enjoyed their stays. Now all of my siblings gather every summer at Sue and Steves. Wonderful food, pool, and knowledge of Door County. They are great innkeepers and business people. We feel like we have become friends.

George and Colli

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeoColWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2009

We have been staying at the Village Green Lodge ever since we started going to Door County 15 years ago. We go there two times per year: May and October. We have never been more pleased with a peaceful, smoke free, adult inn. Sue and Steve are tremendous hosts and the breakfasts are fantastic. The service is fantastice. They will even call restaurants or theatres or whatever to see that you are taken care of. We recommend The Village Green Lodge to anyone who wants a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2009

Sue and Steve work hard to provide a great environment for guests. They greeted us warmly and Steve carried our bags to our room. The facilities and food were great. The location was convenient-Across the street from a restaurant offering a fish boil (In my eyes, a fish boil is the Door County version of a Hawaiian luau); around the corner from the Historic Ephraim Village Hall; and next door to a casual restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rskob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

Our three night here were relaxing and refreshing; pure joy. Steve and Sue are wonderful hosts and though running the B&B keeps them busy, they're always willing to talk and to give hints and pointers about things to do/see/where to eat in Door County. Room was clean and comfortable and free Wi-Fi was the icing on the cake. The fireplace in the main gathering room makes it warm and inviting; there’s nothing like a warm crackling fire to warm you after a long day in the State Park. Breakfast was wonderful each day and every afternoon there is "tea" with cookies and - for this time of year - hot cider. Would highly recommend and if we get back to Door County, we'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danf100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephraim
0.1 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
809 reviews
3.0 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
410 reviews
3.8 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
222 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
409 reviews
1.4 mi away
Somerset Inn & Suites
Somerset Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Ephraim
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Green Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Green Lodge

Address: 10013 Poplar Street, Ephraim, WI 54211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ephraim
Price Range: £125 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Green Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The peaceful grounds, comfortable rooms, adult-friendly atmosphere and great location in the heart of Ephraim, provide a great venue to unwind and relax while you explore all of Door County. Come experience the charming quaintness of a bed and breakfast lodge 1/2 a block from Eagle Harbor. The tradition of the Village Green Lodge hospitality starts with breakfast and farm-to-table offerings, which change with the seasons. Our guests enjoy couples retreats, ladies weekends, mother-daughter get-a-ways, family and friend reunions or use the lodge as base camp for biking, hiking and kayaking expeditions. Our room options include 1 king or 2 doubles, whirlpool/fireplace suites and a large 2-bedroom/2 bath suite with full kitchen and living room with fireplace…perfect for two couples. Owners, Mike and Jamie McCarthy can suggest fun Door County options to fit your time and interests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Village Green Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing