We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality! They go the extra mile.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Village Green Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Ephraim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
suzy42
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful hospitality! They go the extra mile.”
Reviewed 11 July 2010

Just stayed at Village Green Lodge in Ephraim for a couple nights. Sue and Steve are gracious hosts who will go the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable. You would like this lodge if you're looking for a super clean, comfortable, quiet, and homey atmosphere with delicious full breakfasts. Village Green is a block from the main steet in Ephraim so you are right downtown but don't have to see the traffic going by. Also the pool area is sunny and private with beautiful flowers and lots of lounge chairs and tables to relax. The hospitality is A+. Sue even did a small load of laundry for us as we had some wet stuff from camping the night before. We'd definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    25
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
128
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

We made our first trip to Door county this spring, and after plenty of online research, we chose to stay at Village Green Lodge. Let's be clear: there are LOTS of places to stay in Door county, but I couldn't have been happier with this as our choice. First, the location is great. Ephraim is cute and not as busy as Fish Creek or Egg Harbor, and the lodge is located close to the main road so lots is within walking distance but still far enough away to offer quiet and privacy. I was surprised how secluded this place feels, even though it's really not. The grounds are lovely with mature trees that keep things cozy. We enjoyed the birds, chipmunks, and squirrels that visited the feeders we could see from our room, too.
We had a king room on the second floor, and it was perfect. This is not a fancy, luxury place, but the entry and bathroom had nice tile that was sparklingly clean, and the room had immaculate carpet (grungy carpet disgusts me!), a nice comfortable bed with plenty of pillows, and two comfortable sitting chairs and a table. We also appreciated the flat-screened TV, though we were outside enjoying the weather so much we didn't really watch it. The decor is simple and a little country, but not overdone or silly.
The service here is really what makes Village Green shine and why it stands out from the many other area options. Upon arrival, I told our hosts that I am a vegetarian, and we immediately got helpful tips about area restaurants sure to meet my needs. My husband also had several questions about area hiking and nature preserves, and not only did we get great suggestions, but we also got free passes to Ridges Sanctuary (well worth a visit!). Each morning, a terrific breakfast is served, and I always had my own special vegetarian dish. The meals were really delicious and more than enough to keep us full. But just in case one gets hungry in the afternoon, there are always fresh cookies and lemonade available in the lobby.
This is really a great place, and we couldn't be happier with our choice. Yes, it's adults only, which of course rules it out for many families, but this was perfect for us and just meant a quieter, more relaxing stay. My husband and I are in our 30s, and we were the youngest guests, as other reviewers have mentioned, but we never felt awkward or uncomfortable. Overall, a great choice!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, WI
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2010

Our stay at the Village Green Lodge was nothing short of wonderful. Sue and Steve are more than accomodating and welcoming. I felt that Sue and I became friends; she is an amazing chef. The breakfasts are out of this world! This was our first trip to Door County and everything was perfect. We will now plan on annual visits and our place of choice to stay is the Village Green Lodge.

Thanks Sue and Steve!!

Marge Graf

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargieG5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookfield, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Sue & Steve are the hosts with the most! My friend and I enjoyed two nights at the Village Green Lodge in Ephraim, WI. From the time I emailed to determine if the room we wanted was available to the moment we drove out of the driveway, our hosts were warm and full of hospitality. My email was answered quickly and the reservation made easily. The two-bed room was adorably decorated. When we arrived Sue made us feel so welcome and offered fresh baked cookies, coffee or tea. The fireplace gave off just the right atmosphere - and Sue even called to make our dinner reservations. The full breakfasts were delicious and plentiful! This is a wonderful place to stay; I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisetravels9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaukauna
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2010

We received a gift certificate to Village Green Lodge from some friends of ours as a wedding present. We were so surprised at the warmth and friendliness of Sue and Steve. They made reservations for us at several places and said what ever they could do they would help us with our honeymoon.

The breakfast's were excellent, tea time was nice, and the pool was warm.

The next time I plan to go to Door Country and need a place to stay, I will have Village Green Lodge on the list.

Alan & Julie

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mequon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2010

Village Green Lodge is an affordable and charming alternative to condo accommodations. Delicious homemade breakfasts, refreshing afternoon tea, comfy beds, a view of the bay, immaculate rooms and great showers with fluffy towels make this one of Door County's best kept secrets. The Shermans were always glad to see us, answering any and all questions about which shops and restaurants were open (we stayed in early April), driving directions, and dinner recommendations. VG's central location meant we easily found our way around Door County and saw many sights, inside and outside. When we left, we felt rested, cared for, and refreshed. Thanks, Sue and Steve! We'll be back. Barbara, Mequon, WI

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BHDMequon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2009

My wife and I have stayed here for 15 years, even before Sue and Steve. The fact that we keep coming back speaks for itself. We have been recommending The Village Green Lodge to friends and family and without fail they have enjoyed their stays. Now all of my siblings gather every summer at Sue and Steves. Wonderful food, pool, and knowledge of Door County. They are great innkeepers and business people. We feel like we have become friends.

George and Colli

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoColWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephraim
0.1 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
742 reviews
3.0 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
381 reviews
3.8 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
357 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Grove Resort
Pine Grove Resort
#8 of 8 in Ephraim
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Green Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Green Lodge

Property: Village Green Lodge
Address: 10013 Poplar Street, Ephraim, WI 54211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ephraim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Green Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The peaceful grounds, comfortable rooms, adult-friendly atmosphere and great location in the heart of Ephraim, provide a great venue to unwind and relax while you explore all of Door County. Come experience the charming quaintness of a bed and breakfast lodge 1/2 a block from Eagle Harbor. The tradition of the Village Green Lodge hospitality starts with breakfast and farm-to-table offerings, which change with the seasons. Our guests enjoy couples retreats, ladies weekends, mother-daughter get-a-ways, family and friend reunions or use the lodge as base camp for biking, hiking and kayaking expeditions. Our room options include 1 king or 2 doubles, whirlpool/fireplace suites and a large 2-bedroom/2 bath suite with full kitchen and living room with fireplace...perfect for two couples. Owners, Mike and Jamie McCarthy can suggest fun Door County options to fit your time and interests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Village Green Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing