We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost like Grandma's Farm House”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Evansville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cooksville Farmhouse Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Evansville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My Mom & 4 sisters spent a week at the Cooksville Farmhouse during the summer of 2011. It just reminded us so much of spending summer vacations at Grandma's farmhouse when we were kids. The early morning farm sounds, the walks through the farm meadows, the lay-out of the house and the farm provided many opportunities to relax and unwind and to reminiscence about earlier days. We enjoyed our daily walks about the quiet and quaint town. It was almost like staying at Grandma's...except we had all the modern conveniences of 2011...AC, dishwasher, cable, etc. We'd love to come back for another visit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
There are newer reviews for Cooksville Farmhouse Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2011

My wife and I spent Valentine's Day weekend at the Inn and had an amazing time! We spent hours reading by the fireplace and woodburning stove, took a snowshoe walk (provided by the innkeepers) through the fields behind the farmhouse, and went to an artisanal cheese tasting in a nearby town and into Madison to visit the history museum. The Inn is not a bed and breakfast, so you'll have to make your own food, but coffee, tea, and hot chocolate are provided and you have the whole farmhouse, including the kitchen, all to yourself. We hope to go back in the spring to see the wildflowers in the fields and hopefully get a tour of the renovated barn from the owners!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimntammi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

The Cooksville Farmhouse is amazing - it conveys the feeling of a cozy, comfortable, and welcoming home. We started relaxing the minutes were arrived. I already stayed in several B&B, but rarely encountered such a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. Thanks again for having us & we would love to be back any time! Wolf-Uwe, Carsten, Antje, Brigitte, Margot, and Katherine

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ask010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2010

We knew from your prompt and detailed responses to our email inquiries that we would be well taken care of here. We were spoiled with your full weekend of graciousness and fantastic hospitality! A weekend at the farmhouse was the perfect recipe and the secret ingredient to fulfill our appetite for old fashioned relaxation. We toasted and celebrated the true blessing of womanhood, friendship, and laughter by the warmth of the fires (inside and out) you stoked while we were away shopping. Thank you! Thank you for showing us your home - the "barn" is amazing and inspirational! Cooksville is so fortunate to have you a part of their community and we feel lucky to have found you! We'll be back! Thank you and God Bless!
Heather and the Girls from "Girls Weekend " 2010
Heather, Allison, Carrie, Christine, Yengyee, Stephanie, Renee, Nancy, Danielle, and Heather

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heather34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Best time! Beautiful Bed & Breakfast. Even better, the hospitality was the best I have ever had!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhapril26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2010

Cooksville Farmhouse Inn is a lovely B and B in a classic country setting. The accommodations were cozy and extremely comfortable, a home away from home. Located within an easy drive of Madison, we spent the afternoon browsing the shops on State Street and returned home to enjoy the evening on the farm, eating with friends and family, playing cards and enjoying the perfect rest that one can only get out of town. I very much enjoyed my time there and would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2010

Every winter our family gets together for a "winter weekend." We found your place for this year. It is perfect for our families' needs and more than met our expectations. We had a great time playing games by the fire, snowshoeing, and exploring the surroundings. There was plenty of room for our family. Now we wonder what this peaceful setting is like in other seasons! Bob and Martha were gracious hosts.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WITraveler45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evansville
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites of Stoughton
4.2 mi away
Boarders Inn & Suites Evansville, WI
16.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison
18.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
22.5 mi away
Springdale Inn
Springdale Inn
#1 of 1 in Verona
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cooksville Farmhouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooksville Farmhouse Inn

Address: 11203 N State Road 138, Evansville, WI 53536-8925
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Evansville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Evansville
Price Range: £87 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cooksville Farmhouse Inn is located 19 miles from Madison and 2 hours from Chicago. The farmhouse, originally built c. 1845, is on the National Register of Historic Places along with most of the village. It is set beside a lovely restored prairie crisscrossed by paths for snow shoeing in the winter and walks along the spring-fed stream in the summer. Enjoy the quiet, rustic, family friendly atmosphere of the farmhouse which has a soapstone woodstove and a massive free standing fireplace to keep guests cozy when the snow flies, a large deck and stone patio area for barbeques and outdoor meals in warm weather, as well as great views of the prairie and sunsets. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing