We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place, restaurant and hotel was excellent!”
Review of The Silent Woman

The Silent Woman
Ranked #6 of 10 Restaurants in Fennimore
Price range: US$5 - US$28
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Silent Woman restaurant is open for lunch and dinner Thursday - Saturday 11 a.m. - 9 p.m. We have a unique setting with running water through our dining area and a beautiful full bar. Join us for an excellent meal prepared by Chef Josh. With over 20 years of culinary experience and a deep passion for food. The Silent Woman is also an excellent place to host both large and small groups. We have a large banquet hall that can host weddings, reunions, large parties or meetings. We also have smaller rooms that can be reserved for smaller events. Please call for more information and we hope to see you soon!
Athens, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love this place, restaurant and hotel was excellent!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We were in town for business and found this place for dinner. The food and drinks were exceptional. We had the fried cheese for an appetizer it was delicious. We also had the blue gill and steak. Very good! We decided to stay the night in the hotel. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. The bartender(owner) was very accommodating to anything we needed. We met the chef(owner) the next morning. Very nice people and I hope this place stays in business for a long time. We will definitely be back again! Good luck to the new owners!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ihwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Manager at The Silent Woman, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you so much for the feedback and kind words/wishes! We are so happy to hear you loved your food and decided to stay with us too! Be sure not to be a stranger now - we look forward to seeing you again soon! Follow us on Facebook to stay in touch (if you haven't already). Thanks so much again for your support of our small family business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    9
    7
    3
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belleville
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not Recommended”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We ate here with a small business group recently and the food was awful to mediocre. I had a "local beef" gourmet burger that tasted the way cow manure smells. It's the only way that I know to describe it. Although I told my server, I was never offered anything and it was still left on our bill. Safe to say that we won't be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank RobbieP313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilentWomanMgmt, Manager at The Silent Woman, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thanks for your recent visit to The Silent Woman Restaurant. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your burger! We do obtain all of our beef for our burgers from a local & highly regarded butcher, and our burgers are always fresh (never frozen) and hand-pattied that day. Our policy is to satisfy all customers who eat at our restaurant, and I am disappointed to hear that you were not pleased with your meal. We would have definitely been happy to replace your burger with a different entree, free of charge, since it wasn't tasting good to you! Please feel free to reach out to me or my brother Michael, the Executive Chef and owner, any time to discuss your experience with us. Your candid feedback is gold to us and we appreciate you taking the time to submit a review after your visit. Hope to see you again, sometime! Sincerely, Kelley Koenig - Business Manager * (608) 822-3782 * reservations@thesilentwoman.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Visit them please!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Excellent food, amazing old hotel. This extended family has put everything they've got into
building their American Dream. This chef knows how to cook. Wait until you see the restaurant!
Sloping into the lower level, it is worth a trip to Fennimore just to gaze upon it's old wonderment.
Grandma's breakfast baked goods are classic beauties and a bonus suprise.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank robert e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilentWomanMgmt, Manager at The Silent Woman, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for taking time to submit feedback after your visit! We truly appreciate your kind words, and I will be sure to pass along your comments to all who are involved in pulling off our customer experience every day. It is customers like you who make what we every day enjoyable! Thank you for your support of our small family business - we hope to see you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Slow...Pricey....& Bad food!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I've tried it 3 times, just in case they were having a bad night. Turns out all 3 times were bad experiences for us! Poor, slow, & really slow service. To the point everyone was leaving and we still didn't get our meal.

NICE atmosphere and decorations divided into various rooms. That's the only thing it's got.

All you can eat fish on Friday nights, right? WRONG.
We got served once and they were so slow it was time to go home while I was still WAITING for more fish. Even asked several times. I was TOLD.. "it's coming".

Well, I won't be back for it to find out.
Not worth eating, anyway!

Top it off---$$$$$ the bill eats a hole in your wallet.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 4RedEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilentWomanMgmt, Manager at The Silent Woman, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
We are sorry to hear that your visit in March to The Silent Woman Restaurant didn't meet your expectations. I would be interested to talk to you about your experience and discuss the details so that we can improve our service. We do not offer all you can eat fish on Fridays, but do offer very affordable Friday fish specials (Cod or Local Mississippi Catfish Dinners for just $11 and Bluegill Dinners for just $13). With items that start at just $6 on our menu - on up to steaks, seafood and unique chef's specials, our mission is to make sure we offer affordable and diverse menu options for all who visit us! Again, I thank you for your feedback and welcome the opportunity to discuss any details that you wish to share about your visit this past March. We definitely take all reviews to heart and value your candid feedback. Thank you for your business! Sincerely, Kelley Koenig - Business Manager @ The Silent Woman Restaurant & Fenway House Hotel * (608) 822-3782 * reservations@thesilentwoman.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dodgeville, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Relaxing dining”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Two of us enjoyed a very nice dinner last week at the lovely Silent Woman. My friend had the Cajun walleye with rice mix and spicy corn moisture and I had the oven baked chicken breast with potatoes and mushrooms. Both were yummy and more than we could eat. A small salad or small loaf of bread would have been nice to go with our entree.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilentWomanMgmt, Manager at The Silent Woman, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide candid feedback after your recent experience at the Silent Woman Restaurant. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your food and dining experience with us! I will pass along your compliments to the kitchen, as well as your thoughts for improvements. Thanks again for your support of our small & local family business. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Silent Woman also viewed

 

Been to The Silent Woman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing