We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Camping Trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peninsula State Park

Peninsula State Park
Ranked #1 of 26 things to do in Fish Creek
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This park's 3,775 acres have miles of hiking and biking trails, and clean, uncrowded beaches.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Camping Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

This state park is a true resort park. Even without the tourist towns close by, it has everything to do outside, camp, hike, bike, kayak, paddleboard, canoe, swim, watch the bats at dusk, watch beautiful sunsets, live original plays, church services, a lighthouse, and a great nature center and programs. Do this for yourself and take family and friends.
My only negative was bicycles on the narrow roads. There are plenty of well groomed bike paths that get you everywhere, so I don't understand wanting risky bike travel with cars, trucks and big campers that need the road space.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    916
    208
    45
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to bike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

If you enjoy biking or hiking, you will love this park. Bike trails are well laid out and maintained. If you don't have your own bike, don't despair. You can rent great bikes at the entrance to the park, which I highly recommend you consider doing. It is a wonderful way to see the park. Even if you are not normally a biker, you should have no problem. The terrain is reasonably flat with only moderate rolling hills and the bikes have gears. Take a breather at the lighthouse. It is about half way and the view is incredible. We did the entire park in a little under 2 hours, and that was really taking our time. Even if you don't want to bike, the park is a definite must see.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank pilot123Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Beautiful views, miles of trails and roads to travel, lots of camping. I went for the beach and it was packed but there was a lot of space to spread out. Snack bar and store right there. Clean bathrooms :D

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JLK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great get away spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Great area to walk, bike, moped or Segway. This park is open year round and is Open to the public for a nominal fee filled with wildlife and fantastic northern woods.
As always while In the woods come prepared with warm clothes, bug spray, and water.
We did a 1.5 hour trail and found one rest area. The trails were busy with people of all ages enjoying the great weather. We are told the trails we took today are open during the winter months for snowmobiles and cross country skiers.

If you like history, tours are available from outside vendors. I did not see any vendors that catered to a handicap or wheelchair community. Too bad, I always have my eyes peeled for this.
It is a large park that offers different environments for enjoyment.

Helpful?
Thank 365dpificould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We went to Eagle Tower for the view & sunset! It was so amazing & beautiful........& windy at the top! We took pix of the sunset along the way to the tower & also at the lighthouse. What a pleasant ending to a wonderful day in Door County! Loved it!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peninsula State Park also viewed

Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 
Washington Island, Door County
 

Been to Peninsula State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing