We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Gull Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fish Creek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
White Gull Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Fish Creek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
White Mountains NH
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

There are quite a few places that do traditional fish boils in Door County, but I can't imagine one that does it more elegantly than the White Gull. I am not a big fan of fish, but my husband is of Norwegian ancestry and we went mostly for him. I enjoyed the entire evening just as much as he did! I ate only a little fish, but the accompanying potatoes, breads, cole slaw and homemade cherry pie were so delicious I was very satisfied. The patio was a beautiful place to sit and watch the master boiler as he explained each step of the fish boil. The entire event was incredibly well handled by the wait staff and the dining room was comfortable and cheery. Our waitress even boned our fish for us! So glad we found the White Gull.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    25
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
35
92
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed one night in Room 3 located in the main house on the second floor towards the back. The room was just as beautiful as shown on the B&B website, with a generous sized seating area, a large modern bathroom and a huge fully enclosed porch that overlooks the fish boil area. We ate dinner that evening at their quaint restaurant and were very happy with our meals and the service. The next morning we received a tray with coffee and newspaper of choice (selected at checkin the evening before)...how much fun to get ready at a relaxed pace, with newspaper and coffee in hand, seated comfortably next to the gas fire place! We had our inclusive breakfast in the same restaurant on the ground level, with a huge number of very generous choices. The staff was very nice and professional. The location is quiet and secluded, just a half block from a small park with beautiful lake view in one direction, and a block from the main shopping district in the opposite direction...easily walkable. There is street and off street parking available. We would have liked to have stayed one more night, but they were fully booked as we made our reservations quite late in the season. We are sure to stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReeReeRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

As we've been to the White Gull so many times and experienced a perfect stay each time, it's hard to know how to compliment this Inn in a new and different way. Let's just stay we have a booking there already for this coming September and also for next July.

As breakfasts are complimentary when you stay at the White Gull, I am looking forward to another piece of cherry cinnamon coffee cake (each slice is the size of a Kleenex box) on my next visit. Everything on the menu is delicious, but the coffee cake is a stand-out. Oh, but the hash browns are extraordinary too. Sadly the dinners aren't nearly as good as the breakfasts, which are served until 2pm. And the fish boils are great fun to watch, but eating bony fish is not something I'll do again.

While you are in Door County, be sure to go to the SkyWay Drive-in, which is the sweetest movie-going experience I've ever encountered. And Pirates' Cove Mini Golf should be on your list too. Julie's is a nice place eat, as are mainstays Al Johnsons and Wilson's, both a few towns to the north. And Wild Tomato Pizza is yummy if you don't mind a 90-minute wait for take-out and a scary-busy parking lot.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maureenliebenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenosha, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
197 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

I have been eating breakfast at the White Gull Inn for over twenty years. You will not lose with any choice on the menu. My favorites include the award winning stuffed French toast, golden brown and butter hashbrowns, the hearty breakfast, homemade coffee cake, and the bacon. The only thing you need to be aware of is that you at need to wait for a table - however, that is driven by the fact that it a great atmosphere and the food is phenomenal. Therefore, you should expect to wait up to an hour to get in.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, Minnesota
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

although we did not stay at the White Gull Inn, we were guests for their fish boil last wednesday night! The hotel was grand and beautiful. the staff was very accomodating and we had an excellent time. The fish boil was lead by a gentleman who had the perfect personality for the job. Funny and informative. While my wife and I dont particularily care for fish, we were told this is an experience not to be missed. They were right. The fish and side dishes were very good and the pie was so good we returned the next day and bought 2 pies to take back home!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joeBuffalo_Minnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monticello, WI
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Our second visit and more to come no doubt. Friendly and helpful staff, beautiful landscaping, delicious food, and spotlessly clean, cozy, and well appointed rooms. This is truly an Inn and the innkeepers are true hospitality folks.

Great location as well, sort of nestled in the forest near the Bay, but convenient to the rest of the village.

Also had our first Door County fish boil here. Delicious and very interesting to watch!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJDMonticello_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

I did not stay at this inn. My husband and I went for our first fish boil. I was quite excited as I've seen pictures and heard stories. Anticlimactic would be the word I would use for this boil. After sitting outside and watching the boil without any narration or fanfare we were all hustled inside to stand in line for our fish and potatoes. The meal was fine; I am a fish lover and was nonplussed by the whole thing. The cherry pie was the best part. What was irksome (beyond the price tag: FYI coffee is not included in with your meal despite the cups already being on the tables) was that we were the second of three fish boils that night with only an hour and 15 minutes between meals. No lingering over dinner here. Get your food and get out because the next group is coming to take your table. For such a well reputed place I expected more.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arr1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Creek
4.4 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
0.8 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.1 mi away
Settlement Courtyard Inn & Lavender Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
5.3 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Gull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Gull Inn

Property: White Gull Inn
Address: 4225 Main St, Fish Creek, WI 54212-9697
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Fish Creek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1896, the historic White Gull Inn has been providing lodging and dining to generations of Door County visitors. Located in the bayside village of Fish Creek, the 17 rooms, suites and cottages of the White Gull have been meticulously renovated and decorated with antiques. Most rooms have working fireplaces and many have double whirlpool baths. Full breakfast, voted America's favorite in 2010 by viewers of Good Morning America, is included with every stay. Lunch, dinner and traditional Door County fish boils are served. Restaurant open to the public year round. Member of the prestigious Select Registry of North American Inns. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Gull Hotel Fish Creek
White Gull Inn Fish Creek, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing