We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed Our Dinner At Cooper's”
Review of Cooper's Corner - CLOSED

Cooper's Corner
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Prairie du Chien, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Our Dinner At Cooper's”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Just the other night we chose to eat at Cooper's Corner after looking at any number of area menus. Because it was early in the season, we had to look for a staff person to seat us. We chose to eat in their outdoor area. Our server was prompt, was able to answer questions about items listed on the menu and was very pleasant. The salad was one of the best I've been served. The entree each of us ordered were very good -- the portion size was such that we should have shared just one entree. But, we did leave with a take-out boxes. We would return again on another trip to Door County.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn53821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    67
    49
    29
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just plain bad”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I don't want to spend more time than necessary reviewing Cooper's. It was just bad. As other reviewers have commented, we walked up to the host 'stand' where the menus were, and a couple servers looked at us and just walked by. We almost turned around to leave when one of the staff who walked past us 2-3 times came back. We were seated upstairs on an open air balcony (with a roof), which could be nice, except there was a large fabric sheet that hangs down to block the wind. Count it as a sail on a ship, though, that nearly knocked our table over, so we moved. Without being overly negative for the sake of complaining, the service was very slow, server somewhat disinterested. Food quality was subpar. I believe my burger was cooked from a frozen patty. Fries tasted like a freezer.

I don't want to dwell on the manager's pants that kept falling down, shirt coming out, bottom buttons undone, and his bare, hairy belly sticking out of his shirt as he walked about. After seeing him repeatedly attempting to tuck his shirt back in, jamming his hand down his pants and then carrying food up to the tables, I thought I was going to be sick.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TM00105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
209 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great place to have a cocktail on a beautiful day”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

While in Door County we actually stopped by twice while in Fish Creek. I cannot comment on a full meal or the inside dining area as we only sat outside in the bar area. But that we thought was the best place to be! Cute area sitting above to watch shoppers come and come while relaxing with a great cocktail in hand. Nice breezes and friendly staff. The 2nd time we stopped in we had a few appetizers... the cheese curds and the tomato and basil flatbread. Both were very good!!! I am not usually a cheese curd person but these were amazing. And the flatbread had a very nice balsamic vinegar on it to add a slight sweetness. Also we enjoyed a few Shipwreck beers which are on tap and then explored a few other cocktails... recommend the Berry Lemonade!! Great place to sit to above with breezes, enjoy cocktails, people watch and have some tasty food. Only better thing would be to have some live entertainment :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hms16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Delicious food and great atmosphere. We sat outside and enjoyed the beautiful day. Perfect door county restaurant! Close walking distance to shopping and bars as well.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Disapointed”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

First time visit, since they changed from C & C. We went into the bar area and thought we would be able to get a hamburger but that is not on the menu. The food was a little on the expensive side, had mostly all high end liquor. Won't be back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoHelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cooper's Corner also viewed

Fish Creek, Door County
Fish Creek, Door County
 
Fish Creek, Door County
Fish Creek, Door County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing