We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trail!”
Review of Eagle Trail

Eagle Trail
Ranked #13 of 27 things to do in Fish Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Appleton, WI
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great trail!”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This trail was labeled as difficult. My boyfriend who doesn't do any type of exercising did fine. Although I wouldn't recommend for small children. There was some climbing on rocks and roots that got tricky! The trail had great views of the lake, led us to a lookout point, a stone beach and along some rock cliffs. I was very cool to see the rock and some caves up close.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    20
    4
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dover
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“You'll Love This Trail!”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Even though this trail is rated difficult, I think most people can do it. Just take your time and be sure of your footing as the trail, in several places, is rocky and rooty. I saw some people using walking sticks as an aid for stability. I enjoyed the white cedar and birch trees. The cedars grow in the most unlikely places. The trail, at times, runs by the shore line. The water views are pretty and the beach is rocky which is different. I also enjoyed the bluffs and caves. We were able to walk and climb into some of the caves. It's neat. While walking through the forests, I noticed several small piles or rocks which I initially figured were placed there by humans but later determined that these piles were created by trees that had uprooted the rocks. Of course, the trees had rotted away. See if you can spot this piles. I would do this hike again! Enjoy!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DoverJungleboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Difficult Trail well Worth the Trip”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Eagle Trail is one of many trails in Peninsula State Park. The are many miles of trails within the park offering varying levels of difficulty. Most are easy to moderate difficulty.

This was one of the more difficult trails in Peninsula State Park. It is marked as difficult. Rocky, lots of tree roots and steep at points, but well worth the hike for some magnificent views. Two trail heads does offer choices for those who don't want to do the harder part. Starting on the trailhead near Eagle Tower will be less of a strain and leads to the Eagle Terrace. Either way, you must be mindful of where you are and watch the forest floor. The rocks and tree roots can be somewhat hazardous. Loved the hike and definitely would do it again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank empress5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh, Wisconsin, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful, diverse trail, not recommended for small children, or after a hard rain!”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This trail is diverse, with open spaces, trees, wild raspberries, thimble berries, wild flowers, rock formations, caves, long expanses of beach!

The difficulty rating is not so much exertion or energy levels required so much as footing and attention to the trail which is required to navigate it safely. NEVER take this trail if there has been a recent hard rain! I have been on this trail many, many times. We have a summer home in Fish Creek. It is my favorite trail... but the lower levels of it are riddled with tree roots and rocks, both of which are seriously dangerous footing when wet, so beware, and if you can, take a hiking stick when you go just in case it rained the day before you got there and it's still wet.

So, choose your "Hard". The trail is rated difficult, but here's the deal. There are two trailheads, if you want an easier work out, take the trailhead that begins a short distance to the left of the lookout tower (if you were standing in front of it). This begins by a steady descent in an open area, when the trail enters the wooded section you will need to mind your footfalls as the path becomes riddled with tree roots and rocks. Because of this, I do not recommend this trail for children who have not reached an age and understanding of the need to walk mindfully. A child who likes to run freely ahead of you would not do well on this trail, and you would not enjoy it with a child who does so, as you would be too concerned for their safety.

The trails winds along the forest floor between the bluffs and the water, you will see small caves, fallen trees, very interesting root formations, trees bent from the wind, rocky shorelines, cairns which others have built that will beckon you to join the fun and build your own cairns to mark your visit here.

The ascent from this direction is not so difficult, and is rather funky, in places, as you climb natural steps up the face of the bluff. The ascent from this direction is far easier than from the other, (so if you want a more challenging workout BEGIN your workout, by taking the trailhead that is across from the parking lot of the tower, or walking to the right of the tower and finding the place where this trail intersects the road.)

All in all, my favorite trail in Door County and one of two favorite trails in WI. The other being St. Peter's Dome/ Morgan Falls in Ashland Co.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Patti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Labyrinth views”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We really enjoyed this trail. It may be a close second to our favorite Wisconsin State Park, with Wild Cat State Park along the Kickapoo River winning that honor. The park has this labeled as a "difficult" trail. Exertion wise, it's not hard if you do a moderate amount of hiking. However, you will have to watch your feet a lot as you're stepping over seriously-woven roots and climbing up/down some rocky areas. Of all the trails we hiked in Peninsula State Park, this was one of the most rewarding, views' wise, as you're walking between walls of bluffs and caves on one side and the water on the other side. The tree roots are really fascinating, and there are spots where you feel like you're in that crazy '80s movie the Labyrinth.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Amdanbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eagle Trail also viewed

Fish Creek, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 
Baileys Harbor, Door County
 

Been to Eagle Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing