We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average Mexican food.”
Review of Arroyo Bay Grill - CLOSED

Arroyo Bay Grill
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Pizza
Description: Door County's Most Authentic Mexican Restaurant! Breakfast Lunch Dinner Happy Hour Outside Patio Margaritas Pizza American/Gluten Free Options.
Restaurant details
Description: Door County's Most Authentic Mexican Restaurant! Breakfast Lunch Dinner Happy Hour Outside Patio Margaritas Pizza American/Gluten Free Options.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Just average Mexican food.”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

After a few days of fish & burgers, we stopped here for a change. The food and atmosphere were okay. We had the fajitas, and I've had better. The server was accommodating. Overall it was nice to have a variety, but I probably wouldn't go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusiWitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    27
    18
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great food and service”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Very friendly staff and great food at great prices.Easy to get to and plenty of parking.Serve food from 7AM TO 10PM

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank RANCAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Probably should have had the Mexican”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We couldn't wait out the line at the Wild Tomato so we came to Arroyo Bay Grill instead. We had pizza on the brain since that's what we were planning to have originally, so we ordered it at Arroyo Bay. It was okay, but we probably should have had the Mexican food since that's their specialty. I will say the service was exceptional.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dlhoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
143 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“It was- o.k.”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was our second visit. I didn't think the food was as good, and it seemed like the prices had skyrocketed. We did not get chips and salsa like the first visit. Seems no one did.
Waitress was good, food was average, bland tasting. More than 1/2 the tables were empty on a Saturday night in a tourist town, so thats not good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“4.5 star lunch, we had no intention of going to until until we biked past”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

First off, let me say I'm incredibly critical of margaritas and mexican food because I happen to make both amazing mexican food AND margaritas at home. Neverless, we were biking to the gas station in dire need of bug spray and we passed Arroyo, the smell was what attracted us..we weren't even planning on getting lunch. Neverless, we walked in and the man was incredibly kind and so very nice to talk with. We ordered the bean dip which was flavorful and so yummy, better than most that are just bland with cheese sprinkled on top. We both ordered margaritas and they were absolutely fantastic, had we not needed to bike home, I would have drank many more. I ordered the chimichanga lunch and added white cheddar cheese sauce, my husband ordered 2 soft shell tacos. BOth were very flavorful and juicy. The rice and beans actually were well seasoned and very good. The white cheddar cheese sauce was a great addition to my chimchanga also. My only recommendations are thinning out the cheese sauce slightly and seasoning the chips. Otherwise a great lunch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arroyo Bay Grill also viewed

Fish Creek, Door County
Fish Creek, Door County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing