We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect accommodations!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Main Street Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fish Creek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Main Street Motel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Fish Creek
Certificate of Excellence
New Brighton, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect accommodations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Nice location, grounds are nicely kept and rooms are chaming and clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Discodmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    37
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
43
123
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
madison
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

it is always great to come and visit our favorite motel in door county.It is always clean and fresh in the rooms.We always like to go there every year.The owner is very friendly and nice.We like the decorations of the rooms and the location as well.Price are normal for door county .We will be back again.Recommended for everybody.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slinger, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

Main Street Motel is a true gem! It is ground zero for all of Door County fun. Steps from cute shops and great restaurants, yet remaining quiet and private. The rooms are immaculate! The rooms are good size, have a mini fridge (which actually works), and are carefully cared for. The grounds are also beautiful! The innkeepers were warm and caring, and actually knew who each of their guests were! The rates they charge for all this in the height of the season is a steal for Door County! If you can live without a pool/hot tub and free breakfast (although there is even a coffee maker in the room with coffee) you have found a true Door Co. gem. Thanks Main Street Motel for a wonderful Door County get away, I will not hesitate to recommend this establishment to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kensethfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cincinnati, ohio
Level Contributor
218 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

I learned about the MSM while reading a Tripadvisor review about another area motel. The reviewer was highly upset that MSM was full and they had to use this place as an alternative. Says myself to myself, "...gotta check out this MSM!" What I found was reminiscent of traveling before interstate highways and chain hotels. This is a hands-on, mom and pop operation run by Nedra and Bill Reinhard, so old school that Nedra doesn't have a computer (and is continually badgered by her regulars because of it) keeping her reservations on paper. Other than the MSM website, her only concession to electronics is the credit card machine and the motel's WiFi, which I found to be the easiest to get into of any motel wifi I've ever used. What I also found was a sense of pride, a sense of quality service, and a sense of doing right by the customer unknown to the big chains which includes an encyclopedic knowledge of the area when you have questions on where to eat or where to go.
Location: the south end of Main Street (turn left where SR42 turns north at the main intersection), the last business on the left before the residential area. Out of the hustle and bustle of "downtown" Fish Creek, the motel is 5 minutes leisurely walk to the other end of downtown, the village beach, 3 minutes to 3 restaurants, for shopping, walk next door.
Parking: small lot in front, larger lot in back, or on street next to the sitting area.
Rooms: each room is individually decorate by Nedra and, obviously, bears a woman's touch. Although some are a bit "busy" for our taste(see "rooms" page on website), the room we had, #12 (see photo below), was quite to our liking - including the throw pillows on the beds and framed, signed prints on the walls. Beds were quite comfortable, firm and so much like a pillow top. The way they're made up I've never seen before - the edges of the top sheet and coverlet, instead of being tucked under the mattress, are folded back and layed square on top then covered by the comforter. Using this method, you don't tear the bed apart getting into bed at night!
Bathrooms: no mold, no mildew, no loose wallpaper (even the switch plates were covered with the same wallpaper to create continuous color, true attention to detail!), no loose tiles, and No waterspots on the tile - that means that the housekeeping staff ACTUALLY cleaned the walls of the shower in making up the room, something rarely found in hotels today!! Actually, the bathroom, and even the whole room, looked like it had been recently remodeled. Glances into open door gave the same impression with other rooms.
Prices: low of $54 off season to a high of $114 in season, plus Caesar's share. Now you know why the MSM is continually booked up, particularly in season, so book early as possible.
Amenities: what you see on the website page is what's in the room. Some things are missing that you normally find in motels - no hairdryers, no microwaves( cann't ever remember using one in a motel room), no flat screen TVs (just regular TVs), and no pool, but the village beach(just up the street) and the county park beaches are superb, particularly the beach on Route G in Egg Harbor.
Tripadvisor rates the MSM as #1 in Fish Creek. I wouldn't be surprized if it wasn't #1 in all of Door County - it's definately not average.

Room Tip: Smoke & noise from Pelletier's up the street during the afternoon can become irritating, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bassbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

My wife and I stayed here a week. The room was very clean and well decorated, and included a small refrigerator and wifi. The location is excellent in downtown Fish Creek, within walking distance to several restaurants, shops, the marina, and parks.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, and the motel has a second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeffandDebplus4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

If you are coming into Fish Creek for a few days, especially in the off season, this is the place to stay. Rooms are good sized, with fridge and dining table, and the king size beds are pretty comfortable, too. There's no pool, but that's okay. The best part of Main Street Motel is that you are right downtown, so you can walk to dinner, shops, a bar or two, etc. and really get a feel for this amazing little town. We've stayed at a few other places in town, all of which are good, but this is the best bang for the buck. And, I left a pair of shoes there and asked Nedra to send them to me. I sent her a check for twenty dollars and she mailed me the shoes and ten dollars with a note that said they only cost half of what she thought to send. Amazing!

Room Tip: Stay here and go across the street for dinner at the Whistling Swan Inn, one of the best restaurants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazbadicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

My family has been staying at the Main Street Motel fo YEARS !!!
I would NOTt stay ANYWHERE else !!

Nedra (owner) is a sweet and friendly person.
She is VERY knowledgable about anything Door County and is VERY willing to help you pick a restaurant, shop, gallery beacause of her years of living in Fish Creek !!
Her rates are VERY REASONABLE !!!

The location is PERFECT walking distance to all the cute shops, galleries and yummy restaurants.
The rooms are SPOTLESS, with cute decor. Each room has a theme and every thing matches perfectly, with a convient coffee pot and mini 'fridge to boot.

I can't wait to go back !!!

PS.
If you need more room, a kitchen, family room or a pool ???
Ask Nedra if her daughter has any room in her hotel 2 towns up in Ephriham

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judi_soceka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Creek
0.7 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
4.3 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
1.0 mi away
Settlement Courtyard Inn & Lavender Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
5.3 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Main Street Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Motel

Property: Main Street Motel
Address: 4209 Main St, Fish Creek, WI 54212-9697
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Fish Creek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Fish Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the quiet end of Main Street, come relax in our individually decorated rooms and our beautiful landscaped patio. Rooms have refrigerators, coffee makers and wireless Internet access. You can easily walk to many restaurants, including gourmet dining and fish boils. Also nearby is shopping, the harbor and Fish Creek's famous Sunset Beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Main Street Hotel Fish Creek
Hotel Main Street
Main Street Motel Fish Creek, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing