We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
By The Bay Motel
Nearby Hotels
Homestead Suites(Fish Creek)(Great Value!)
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parkwood Lodge(Fish Creek)(Great Value!)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Julie's Park Cafe & Motel(Fish Creek)(Great Value!)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AppleCreek Resort- Hotel & Suites(Fish Creek)(Great Value!)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Breeze Resort(Ephraim)(Great Value!)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Main Street Motel(Fish Creek)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
28
17
9
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
17
9
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslocation is greatsmall public beachwithin walking distancedoor countyrestaurants and shopscomfortable roomlocated rightrefrigerator
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2012

By The Bay Motel is centrally located for everything in Fish Creek. You can walk to either end of town easily and the little beach/park across the street is a plus. We walked to Sunset Beach and Penisula Park in no time.

The owners are very friendly and nearby tending to things. My only complaint is that our first night our room went without being cleaned. We got fresh towels without an issue after we asked. Apparently the cleaning staff left early. I would have been a little more satisfied if we would have been notified the room was not going to be cleaned.

Rooms are simple and clean. A little outdated and worn, but good enough for a stay when you need the convenience.

Just to clarify from some other reviews:
Yes there is soap, shampoo and lotion
No there is no a hair dryer or phone

Room Tip: The owners will generously guide you to pick a specific room. We were given one out in front with a nice view of the bay/lake and beach.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trvlr313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Great location, clean rooms, coffee in the lobby every morning and Mary is wonderful. It is a very economical, right across from the beach and on Main Street, walking distance from all the shops! We have never noticed a musty smell as noted in one of the reviews. I have allergies as well and had no problem with any of the rooms over the past several years. Mary is also very knowledgeable about places to go and see. We did everything she recommended and were not disappointed.

Room Tip: Room at the front of the hotel is wonderful as you can sit on the balcony and watch all the visitors walking by!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bodaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

This place was a little older, but very clean and nicely decorated. Great location. Just across from the beach and within walking distance to the whole downtown. The walls were very thin,but the place was very quiet. Cleanliness is extremely important to me and this place was immaculate.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank j b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We recently stayed in the suite at By the Bay. This was our first trip to Fish Creek and wanted something in the middle of town, and unfortunately we couldn't find much available. I loved the location of this motel (downtown and across from fish Creek beach) but we had to rent the suite at $205 a night and it was extremely out-dated and smelled very musty. I don't feel like it was worth $205 a night, but i'm not sure if that's normal for the area or not.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eugene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

The rooms are very clean but there are no phones, hair dryers, shampoos, etc. Very old-fashioned in appearance. The air-conditioning struggled to work & our friends who had the room next door did not sleep all night. Their AC sounded like a 747 on take-off! It was awful. When they complained to the woman who owns this establishment she shrugged & said maybe she would look into a new AC unit. There is no one on duty at night to help with any concerns. Also, the parking is horrendous!!!!! By The Bay is on a hill & the spaces are small & squat. If you have a long-bed truck you will NEVER get in or out of your space. We had a hard time with the car. If you are not careful you back into the hotel or side-swipe another vehicle. The location is great but if you are not going to the beach across the busy street I would suggest you stay elsewhere. A value for your $? NO! Other hotels I checked into after our stay within a 2 block area had indoor pools, hot-tubs, game rooms, exercise rooms, etc. for approx. $10.00 more. I will never stay there again. Oh, as far as a continental breakfast? Coffee. That's it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank gail d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews