We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great couples get away”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Homestead Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Homestead Suites
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Fish Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A great couples get away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I just stayed at the Homestead for a long weekend, taking advantage of their "Weekend Romance Package" and it was great. First off the deal is a great value.

The Hickory Suite was a very room, it had the old door county feel, which is what you'd expect. Rooms were clean, staff was friendly and it's in a great location right on the edge of peninsula park.

Our only "complaint" were that the mattress was like sleeping on the floor. So it was a little uncomfortable, but nothing a few extra blankets couldn't help fix.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    76
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
66
111
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Homestead suites suited our need for accomodations nicely in a recent weekend stay. It was a great central location in DC. The staff was excellent and very friendly and attentive, I even lost my room key/card in the hot tub and they promptly gave me a new one no questions asked. My wife and I stayed in the Hawthorne Suite which was very nice. It was spacious, clean, and we loved the double sided fireplace, enjoyed from the bed or the couch. The only downside of the property which weighed minimally in my review was the fact that the room was quite warm, and I had the thermostat as low as it could go. It was about 0 degrees outside and we had a window open overnight to stay comfortable. Another downside is the excercise room, it only consists of two treadmills. I generally like to have a workout every other day, so this was a little disappointing. The last negative was that the pool area was very nice but fairly small, so if there are many family's staying with children, it gets full and loud fairly quickly, not ideal for a quiet couples weekend. Overall a nice place, reasonably priced (especially in the off-season), and the location was ideal.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrispS48OO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson Creek, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We roomed at the Homestead for the fourth year in a row and absolutely recommend it to anyone coming for a relaxing getaway.

The rooms are impeccably clean, service excellent and the staff couldn't be friendlier. Any questions we asked (including one about an old friend I hadn't seen in 20+ years) were answered with a smile.

We lounged in the whirlpool, pool and sauna every night (and many mornings); there were always clean towels waiting for us no matter when we went down. I'd like to see the hours extended, but anything less than open 24/7 would be too short for me.

Room Tip: select a room on the back of the building second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Rooms were clean and good condition. Had a double shower and whirlpool in room which were nice. Pool and whirlpool were nice and water temperatures were good. The pool area looked newer and kept clean. Good standard Continental breakfast (no hot food). Room Keys were handy-proximity type (not required to insert or swipe). Staff were also friendly!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shakopee, Minnesota
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

During the season you can imagine this hotel being extremely busy. In the winter, though, we came away feeling like the place was all our own. Very friendly staff, and the suite we stayed in was quite nice. Ample continental breakfast, too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetteandDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

This is a great location with outstanding service. If you are staying for a few days they also manage the awesome Evergreen Hill condominiums as well. Fish Creek is a nice central location in beautiful Door County to branch out and explore the peninsula.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Archie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delafield, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

This is a nice hotel for up north. Our room has a small kitchenette and a gas fireplace. Front desk is very helpful. There is a small party room, pool and a lounge. It is conveniently located. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Creek
3.8 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
6.7 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
AppleCreek Resort- Hotel & Suites
5.4 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.0 mi away
Settlement Courtyard Inn & Lavender Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Suites

Property: Homestead Suites
Address: PO Box 730, 4006 Main St (Hwy 42), Fish Creek, WI 54212-0730
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Fish Creek
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Fish Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Homestead Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your best vacation location in Door County. Situated at the entrance to Peninsula State Park. We are locally owned & operated in Fish Creek, WI and we are not affiliated with the national hotel chain of Homestead Studio Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Homestead Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Hotel Fish Creek
Homestead Suites Fish Creek, WI - Door County
Homestead Fish Creek
Fish Creek Homestead Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing