We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Center of Fish Creek” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homestead Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Homestead Suites
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Fish Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Center of Fish Creek”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed in the Cedar Room, which is a building behind the main one. It was in fact a large one bedroom cabin. It was very spacious. The king sized bed and pillows were very comfortable. The whirlpool tub in the room was large enough for two and there was enough hot water to fill it and all the controls worked great. The indoor pool and hot tub were big and well maintained. Often hot tubs have so much chlorine that you cannot enjoy being in it for long, not so in this case.
The hotel sits adjacent to Peninsula State Park so if you plan on going there you are literally a stones throw away. It is also very close to downtown and the other attractions. in Door County.
The only complaints though small are: The thermostats in our room (301) did not regulate the heat, they were either on or off. The continental breakfast is also a little lame considering the price you pay for the rooms

Room Tip: This year for sure the balconies and decks are not useable due the the overwhelming mosquito populat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    76
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
66
111
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Everything about our stay at the Homestead Suites was fantastic. We were in the Hawthorne suite and it was awesome. Very roomy and extremely clean. Our king bed was super comfortable. We thought we may miss having a balcony but we didn't at all. Mosquito's were too bad to sit out much anyway! The only minor complaint about our room was that the fireplace pilot was set really high and did put out some heat. We just opened the window.
The staff was so helpful and friendly. They provided us with everything we needed and then some. We were traveling by motorcycle and wanted to buy some things and ship a box home. They were so accommodating...gave us a box and tape, printed our shipping label and then to top it off, they volunteered to drive it up the hill to the pick up location!!
We loved everything about this hotel and Door County!

Room Tip: Hawthorne suite was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

The beds were very comfortable, but bring your own pillow if you are use to down pillows. Theirs are hard foam! Glad I brought my own. Our rooms floor needed vacuuming. It was dirty & the carpet probably should be replaced. We noticed that because never worn shoes picked up a lot of dirt & sand. The bathroom door hit the toilet when you closed it. Very small area... tub & toilet. We did have the smallest room though. The bath fan was really noisy! The indoor whirlpools jets were only about 2" or less above seating area...no way to massage your back or anything! The pool and whirlpool were clean and looked nice. I didn't use the outside whirlpool or pool, they looked dated with chipped concrete, but they were clean. Continental breakfast was one of the worst I've had. 1st. day the really miniature rolls were hard as a rock, but others were OK. No microwave to try and soften it up. Coffee was very weak. This place is in a good location. Walking distance from downtown Fish Creek (about 10 min.) and a couple restaurants across the street & down the street a couple blocks. No ice machine on the second floor. The people who worked there were very nice. Bring mosquito repellent!

Room Tip: We were on the street side, second floor. Didn't notice any street noise. No elevators though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bumStPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaukauna wi
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Checked in around 5 pm to a very clean room. the pool was nice, had a sauna and a hot tub. Also a dinky little arcade. I had very minimal interaction with staff, but they were nothing but smiles. I believe all the rooms include a patio which is nice. The hotel is a short walk from an ice cream place and peninsula state park. there is also an outdoor pool for warmer months.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, however has some issues. First and foremost, just as some other travelers indicated, the mattresses and pillows are rock hard. Actually hardest mattress I have EVER slept on. Also, the hotel really needs to update the bedding and get rid of the polyester bedspreads that likely get cleaned twice a year. On another note, the plunger sitting next to the toilet is rather disgusting. Lastly, toilet paper must be a rare commodity as maid service did not replace when the roll was clearly just about empty. This is a decent hotel, however the things that I mentioned will keep me from staying at this hotel again, particularly the horrific mattresses that make you feel like you have slept on a concrete slab!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank upnorth300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We have visited the Homeatead Suites in Fish Creek for the past three years- in early spring. The hotel is clean, quiet and the service is wonderful. In late winter- early spring - you pay for two nights and get the third for $30. Besides the lodging you receive a nice wine and cheese basket and a $50 gift card to one of the local restaurants- Alexander's. This is a nice get away and a great time to visit Door County. We love it and have never been disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suemay07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I just stayed at the Homestead for a long weekend, taking advantage of their "Weekend Romance Package" and it was great. First off the deal is a great value.

The Hickory Suite was a very room, it had the old door county feel, which is what you'd expect. Rooms were clean, staff was friendly and it's in a great location right on the edge of peninsula park.

Our only "complaint" were that the mattress was like sleeping on the floor. So it was a little uncomfortable, but nothing a few extra blankets couldn't help fix.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Creek
3.8 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
6.7 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
5.4 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.2 mi away
AppleCreek Resort- Hotel & Suites
1.0 mi away
Settlement Courtyard Inn & Lavender Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Suites

Property: Homestead Suites
Address: PO Box 730, 4006 Main St (Hwy 42), Fish Creek, WI 54212-0730
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Fish Creek
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Fish Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Homestead Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your best vacation location in Door County. Situated at the entrance to Peninsula State Park. We are locally owned & operated in Fish Creek, WI and we are not affiliated with the national hotel chain of Homestead Studio Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Homestead Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Hotel Fish Creek
Homestead Suites Fish Creek, WI - Door County
Homestead Fish Creek
Fish Creek Homestead Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing