We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food With a Water View”

The Cookery Restaurant & Wine Bar
Ranked #3 of 32 Restaurants in Fish Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Cookery is a family run restaurant and wine bar in Fish Creek since 1977. Serving "fresh food, expertly prepared" (Midwest Living, Best of the Midwest). Our menu features American fare with a creative twist, all menu items are made from start to finish in our kitchen. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner are served daily. Also offering a nice selection of vegetarian entrees and gluten free items.
Seoul
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Food With a Water View”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

As a first meal in Fish Creek, I would say this restaurant was great way to start. There was great service and delicious bread rolls. The waiters were friendly and eager to make us happy. The food came out in a reasonable timeframe and everything looked delicious. We ate to live music.

I shared the vegetarian linguini with my fiancé and we were both pleased. The rest of our group had different meals that were exceptionally good.

For desert we all shared a large piece of carrot cake with vanilla ice cream.

I would give this restaurant a big two thumbs up.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    246
    65
    20
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unexpected brunch :)”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stopped at The Cookery for breakfast but realized it was past the breakfast serving time. My waitress was very accommodating and asked what I was hungry for and then made it happen! Served along with my meal was a delicious portion of cherry preserves. A beautiful view of the bay while eating this great food made for a perfect brunch to break up my day of shopping. Wonderful.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had lunch here. The food selections are healthful and very flavorful. I had a tasty chickpea vegetarian sandwich which and a thick, hearty white fish chowder. I also enjoyed a house made cherry ginger ale made with fresh ginger that had a nice spice to it. The service was attentive and fast. Prices are competitive and the atmosphere is very nice. I would recommend this restaurant.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A pleasant breakfast”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The food, service, and atmosphere were all very nice. The breakfast menu is not particularly large, however it covers the staples of expectation (pancakes/waffles/eggs/omelettes). I loved the pumpkin bread that came with my breakfast, and there were some other delicious looking baked goods. It was pretty quiet in the restaurant which made for enjoyable conversation. I found nothing objectionable about it, but I also didn't find it to be outstanding in comparison to some of the other breakfast restaurants I have been to in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindzmichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
142 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great food, atmosphere, and service”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I ate lunch here. The food is fresh and creative. I had the wild caught salmon sandwich. The pesto and the tartar sauce were fantastic. The potato salad was homemade! My husband got a burger and it was cooked to order. You can't go wrong here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cdrlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cookery Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Fish Creek, Door County
Fish Creek, Door County
 
Fish Creek, Door County
Fish Creek, Door County
 

Been to The Cookery Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing