We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel”
Review of Parkwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parkwood Lodge
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Fish Creek
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Old hotel”
Reviewed 17 August 2011

It was a very old hotel and really needs some updating. The carpet was really dirty but other than that it seemed clean, just old.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jl w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    40
    35
    11
    9
See reviews for
50
47
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We arrived check in was fine, we dropped off our clothes and noticed the room smelled, we figured it was just closed up so we opened up the windows figuring it would sir out , no suck luck. We notified the front desk who finally brought a dehumidifier, which we listened to all night and day. Ever sleep next to one not a good nights sleep. We still had the smell and once again told the front desk, we finally had our room ionized for a full hour then the smell was gone. After a full day of waiting. I would not recommend this place to anyone, they don't seem to care. Carpets are all stained. After being ionized we came back to the room and the smell was already comming back. What a waist of money.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMelectric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GStillman, Owner at Parkwood Lodge, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We care about our guests. We make every effort to satisfy every guest, but we did not meet your expectations and apologize for that. We made several attempts to correct the situation in your room to your satisfaction but we were unable to do that. Unfortunately, because we were completely full on Saturday evening, when you discussed this with the desk clerk the second time, we were unable to move you to another room. We offered you an early check-out and assistance in finding you other accommodations that were better suited to what you were looking for, but you chose to continue to stay with us. We make every effort to offer a quality product at a value price and wish you the best in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fish Creek hotels

Moline, IL
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I highly recommend Parkwood Lodge. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the rooms are large, clean, and comfortable, and the location is very convenient - I will definately stay at Parkwood again!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheriMoline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitowoc
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2011

it was just awful we ended up getting the last room in door county this night and ended up here :( just awfull are room was dirty the staff were rude , there was a storm and we were with out power for over 10hr and all they took off our bill was 5%, just an awfull place we will never go back i would rather stay in my car .

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atadych84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GStillman, Owner at Parkwood Lodge, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. The unexpected power outage was very trying, but with the quick response and hard work from the WPS crews and the Gibraltar Fire Department they were able to restore power in just over six hours following the tree knocking out the power lines. The majority of our guests were very understanding and made the best out of a less than ideal situation. We pride ourselves on providing a quality experience for a value price and we apologize for not meeting your expectations. Door County is a busy destination on a Saturday night in late July. Advanced planning can assure you of obtaining accommodations that better suit your needs. We wish you well in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

This is the second time I have stayed at Parkwood. I have also stayed here some years ago when it was the Beowolf. As the Parkwood it is an EXCELLENT value in Door County. Most all of the places in north Fish Creek on up to Northport are older lodges and motels froom the 50', 60's and 70's many of them charge twice the nightly rate and deliver less and charge extra for children. The Parkwood is a great family place, there is a large firepit, the game room as some older video games and a nice pool table (50cents a game where else can you find that). The pool is very good as is the whirlpool ( indoors unlike many other places). It's in a nice wooded setting. The entrance comes up quick on Hwy 42 so keep your eyes open. The folks are friendly and helpful. If you are coming up after the office closes they will make accomodations for you to get your room key no problem. the rooms I have had were clean and comfortable, maybe a little dated but then again you are in a northwoods lodge, it all works and fits very nicely. You won't be disappointed if you want affordable, comfortable and family friendly accomodations. If you want the latest and the greatest, buy a condo.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnS51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

we went without a plan, loved fish creek, ephraim, door county ...all of it... so decided to stay back the night. our elderly parents were with us too. the place is great...beautiful setting, friendly, helpful staff; we dealt with jennifer, gave us great ideas for the evening as we went during the 'fyr bal' (fireball) festival. didnt get to use the amenities (indoor swimming pool, pool table, board games etc.) since were there for a very short time. the stay was comfortable, the place clean. HUGE rooms (2 queen beds),.
our parents managed to lock themselves out of the bathroom as they were not aware of the self-locking mechanism. jennifer came in after we informed her and promptly transferred them to a new room, no fuss.
its a little away from fish creek city centre, but then its exactly located between fish creek and ephraim, so it depends on what you like! we loved being in the woods!
needs renovation, the rooms were great but looked and felt a little old.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aestho-nomics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Washington, WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2010

We had our wedding at the Gazebo on the beautiful front lawn of the Parkwood Lodge. We were with about 50 friends on a motorcycle weekend trip. The whole group stayed at the lodge. The staff was tremendously helpful in accommodating all of our requests. We put up tents and had the reception on the grounds too. It will always be a beautiful memory. Thank you Parkwood Lodge. We would definitely recommend this lodge for any special event.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jkwalsh007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Creek
1.0 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
229 reviews
1.8 mi away
Settlement Courtyard Inn & Lavender Spa
0.8 mi away
AppleCreek Resort- Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
202 reviews
5.5 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#3 of 17 in Sister Bay
167 reviews
5.8 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkwood Lodge

Property: Parkwood Lodge
Address: 3775 State Highway 42, Fish Creek, WI 54212-9630 (Formerly Beowulf Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Fish Creek
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Fish Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Parkwood Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parkwood Lodge - Door County has all of the amenities and comforts that you expect at a price you will appreciate. Parkwood Lodge is conveniently located on the north end of Fish Creek, Wisconsin across from the popular Peninsula State Park property. Parkwood Lodge is situated on 10 acres and offers a variety of room types for travelers to Door County. Featuring affordable rooms, kitchenettes and suites with wood burning fireplaces. Resort has indoor pool, whirlpool, game room, tennis court, playground, grills, picnic tables and a bonfire pit. Free Wi-Fi. Located near Peninsula State Park on the north end of popular Fish Creek. We have 59 rooms and welcome tours, groups and reunions. Parkwood Lodge is open early May thru late October. NO PETS ALLOWED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Parkwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkwood Hotel Fish Creek
Parkwood Lodge Fish Creek, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing