We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice staff, room is OK. Good enough for basic essentials.”
Review of Parkwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parkwood Lodge
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Fish Creek
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very nice staff, room is OK. Good enough for basic essentials.”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed here with the kids. I wasn't surprised by the appearance of the rooms, thanks to the pictures online. The rooms are very basic and pretty outdated. The bathroom is small, but the shower is good enough and has good water pressure. The rooms were clean and the TV worked well too. It's pretty darn basic/dated looking, but really, if you're looking for a lower cost room where you don't plan on spending too much time, it's nice enough. We didn't take advantage of the pool, game room, and other lobby area in the office, but noticed other families/kids playing games in there. The staff is really pretty darn nice too. If someone were on a budget and looking to spend some time in Door Co. in a main/popular area, I would suggest this, with the warning to not expect too much elegance with the room. That said, the beds were OK and everything else worked well.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerPWL, Owner at Parkwood Lodge, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you for your comments about your stay at Parkwood Lodge. We are glad you enjoyed your vacation in Door County and that you found our staff to be friendly. We appreciate your candid comments about our rooms. We are in a constant process of making improvements to our property, outside and inside, but it has been a slow process. Last year we were able to put new bedding and curtains in 12 of our rooms in the Birch building. We have plans to do more rooms in that same color scheme this year. New artwork was just put into most of the rooms, too. We also just replaced all of the pool deck furniture and put out new chaise lounges! We are making gradual improvements constantly while still trying to stay an affordable lodging option in Fish Creek. Thanks for letting others know what we have to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    38
    33
    11
    9
See reviews for
47
46
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Parkwood Lodge was great!The Staff was very helpful.The rooms were clean.It was in an excellent area,woods,birds.I sort of read the reviews before I booked the room,but I'm the kind of person that has to take the good with the bad on reviews.You always can't take what they say,you have to make up your own mind about it.And that's what I did!I had no problem with our room,yes the appliances are outdated but you work with what you have.Its like camping in a motel room duh?I'm not fancy in that way anyways :) .Had no problem with housekeeping.They were excellent.In a review I read that the rooms were damp?turn the heat on?? We enjoyed our stay at there.And we are thinking about the next one :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigger1158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerPWL, Owner at Parkwood Lodge, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you for your positive comments about our hotel. We are so glad that you found our location to be so perfect for enjoying Door County. Its great to hear positive comments about our housekeeping, they work so hard to provide clean rooms for our guests. We are always striving to be an affordable, family friendly option in Fish Creek.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheboygan, WI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This is a great place for a getaway at a great price. There's a pool and hot tub with pool toys for the kids, tennis courts, fire pit, and walking trails. The staff goes out of their way to be helpful to you. I don't know why anyone would give this place a negative review- it's a great place for a family and in Door County, you can't beat the price.

Room Tip: There is a building facing away from the highway that is very quiet, if you want to get away from hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aquila71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

My husband and I stayed here. This was our first time to door County. The location was perfect because it was right across the street from a County Park and it was close enough to town yet far enough away. They have a lot of activities to do such as tennis & fire pit & outdoor walking trails.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tle3384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

The staff was very friendly and had good suggestions on where to eat. The bed was very uncomfortable and the bedding did not fit. Very disappointing! All night the bottom sheet seemed to come off and was a very gross feeling. From reading the other reviews, the room wasn't musty, but yes, everything else was outdated. What made us the most nervous was there were no sprinklers in the rooms. Now I understand the emphasis put on the "no smoking" in the rooms. If there's a fire, I have to leave my room and run to the fire extinguisher outside the room. Next time we will pay a little extra and go somewhere else. After the long drive here, all I wanted to do was lay on the bed. Now I can't wait to go home and sleep in my own bed.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kraig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fish Creek hotels

Delafield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Very nice and friendly staff. The setting and location are perfect, but the rooms are very dated. The small TV and old kitchenette are surrounded by worn signs/rules, missing grout in the bathroom and shower, noisy air/heater, worn carpet and old furniture are a few of the things that need attention. Price was below average for Door County. Relatively clean, but uncomfortable (bed and bathroom). Will try elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alma, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Let me start by saying the people at the Parkword were very nice and friendly. But the room was musty. The tub was not washed clean at all . we stayed for a week. The floor was not cleaned nor was the carpet vacumed the whole time we stayed there. Toliet was dirty , no toliet paper one day, we had to go look for some at the office. The sheets never were changed. Sink was not wiped clean and nothing was dusted the whole time we were there. coffee pot was not washed or even emptied. There were spiderwebs and even a bug in our sink one morning. I was very dissapointed, yes it was cheaper, but still have some pride in your place.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GStillman, Owner at Parkwood Lodge, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
We are sorry you were disappointed in your recent stay with us and apologize for the issues you experienced. We are surprised to hear your housekeeping concerns. We have had many positive comments from guests about the housekeeping services we provide. We take pride in what we have to offer our guests. We appreciate your comments. We are here to serve and assist our guests to make their stay an enjoyable one. We wish you would have let us know your concerns while you were here so they could have been addressed and corrected at that point. We hope you will consider staying with us once again in future visits to Door County.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Creek
1.0 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.8 mi away
AppleCreek Resort- Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Settlement Courtyard Inn & Lavender Spa
2.9 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
5.8 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkwood Lodge

Property: Parkwood Lodge
Address: 3775 State Highway 42, Fish Creek, WI 54212-9630 (Formerly Beowulf Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Fish Creek
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Fish Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Parkwood Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parkwood Lodge - Door County has all of the amenities and comforts that you expect at a price you will appreciate. Parkwood Lodge is conveniently located on the north end of Fish Creek, Wisconsin across from the popular Peninsula State Park property. Parkwood Lodge is situated on 10 acres and offers a variety of room types for travelers to Door County. Featuring affordable rooms, kitchenettes and suites with wood burning fireplaces. Resort has indoor pool, whirlpool, game room, tennis court, playground, grills, picnic tables and a bonfire pit. Free Wi-Fi. Located near Peninsula State Park on the north end of popular Fish Creek. We have 59 rooms and welcome tours, groups and reunions. Parkwood Lodge is open early May thru late October. NO PETS ALLOWED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Parkwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkwood Hotel Fish Creek
Parkwood Lodge Fish Creek, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing