We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute Hotel”
Review of Parkwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Parkwood Lodge
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Fish Creek
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We were camping at Peninsula State park this past July and were caught in a huge rain storm. We were able to deal with it for one night. We aren't hard core campers and didn't want to deal with the rain in a tent the other night so we stayed in this hotel. The person at the front desk was soooo nice. She asked if I wanted to see the room before reserving it. She even said we could check in a bit early if we needed to. The hotel has laundry facilities if you need. They also have a nice indoor pool. The grounds are beautiful. It is a very modest hotel. This will be our hotel if we get rained out again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aphrodite T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foremostmgt, Owner at Parkwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

We are glad that you found us and enjoyed your stay at Parkwood Lodge. Sorry to hear that your camping trip was cut short but I am glad that our laundry and pool made for a fun vacation. thanks for taking the time to write a positive review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

This motel could use a face lift, but if you are looking for a clean, quiet place to put your head at night without breaking the bank, this is it. We had a first floor room and could hear the couple in the room upstairs when they walked around (squeaky floor) but it wasn't too bad. Our building seemed full, but other than the occasional squeak from above, it was very quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful. Not within walking distance of the main part of town, but a quick drive got you there. Only complaint (and probably wasn't their fault) was that we could not connect to their wi-fi at all while we were there (two nights). Oh, and they don't have hair dryers, so you might want to pack your own if you need it. We managed without.

Room Tip: If you are bothered by upstairs neighbors when they walk around, ask for a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronnie513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foremostmgt, Owner at Parkwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thanks for your review of Parkwood Lodge - I am glad you found your room clean and affordable! We are in the process of updating some of our rooms, but with 60 to do it is a slow process. We know that some of them are outdated and hope that our rates and cleanliness will encourage visitors to stay with us as we continue to make improvements. I am sorry to hear that you struggled with our Wi-Fi connection. That is a popular, free, amenity that we are proud of and most guests are able to access without difficulty We hope you will stay with us the next time you are in Door County and notice our continual improvements!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This is our 2nd stay - it was just me and my husband this time, so we stayed in a single room. The room was on the first floor of a 2 story- that was the only negative; the person above us was a pacer and the floor squeezed as they walked from one end to the other. Other than that, I did not hear any noises from the adjacent rooms. The location is just north of the shops in Fish Creek. Close enough to ride bikes or drive in - but far enough for a true woodsy retreat. The front desk was welcoming - the grounds were very nice, clean, quiet, well-kept. The room had 2 queen beds, newer carpeting and was very clean. This is an older resort but it is well maintained and a perfect place to stay that is reasonably priced. Thank you again, Parkwood Lodge - we again had a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: I would recommend the kitchenette if you have children and/or an extended stay. I would recommend t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nekko95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Check-in front desk people very friendly, but no one there to help us up to our room with our luggage which was located on the 2nd floor up a long, long staircase. First disappointment was to find there wasn't an outer hallway; doors opened directly to the outside. Second disappointment was the old-fashioned room from the early 1950s although it was clean. Hangers wouldn't come off the rack which made it difficult to hang up clothing in the open closet. Sink was in the bedroom - one unit room. Tiny bathroom with tiny bar of soap in the bathtub and liquid soap in the bedroom sink. View from the window was nice - trees & flowers. But we'd never go back here again or recommend the Lodge because when our alarm clock broke, we called downstairs on a Friday to ask to be awakened at 7 a.m. the next morning. We were told "We sleep late and can't wake you." Since we were in the area on business and had to get up promptly, neither of us could sleep well knowing we might oversleep. Same thing happened the next day when we asked to be awakened at 6:30 a.m. so we could make our plane. We were told, ' Can't do. We don't wake up that early." Can't understand this because hotel people are supposed to give service and this wasn't any service at all. In order to get ice we would have to go back down the long staircase and ask for it at the office. Also, the in-room air conditioner made a lot of noise and kept going on and off with loud clicks that disturbed our sleep. Later we found out there are many hotels, motels, B&Bs in the area and our friends all praised their accommodations - elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arline Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Thanks for a wonderful stay. Clean place, family friendly and beautiful pool and fire pit. Comfortable beds and microwaves and fridges in each room. Staff was super kind and helpful. We will be back soon. Rates very, very, reasonable... affordable and excellent location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rene2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We had a great time with family at Parkwood Lodge. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We took advantage of the pool, game room, large fire ring, sporting equipment and board games. The location was perfect for treks to local attractions and to return to the property to refuel for the next activity. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerPWL, Owner at Parkwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Thanks for your positive review. We are glad that you had a good time at Parkwood Lodge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This was the 3rd time we have stayed here and each year it gets better and better. The hotel staff is most friendly and helpful. It would be a great place to spend a weekend or a week! Just across the street is Peninsula State Park, one of the most beautiful and diverse in the state. Come for the park, enjoy the amenities of the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a suite with a patio facing the wooded trails, complete with kitchen and fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Creek
2.9 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
840 reviews
1.8 mi away
Settlement Courtyard Inn & Lavender Spa
5.7 mi away
Sister Bay Inn
Sister Bay Inn
#7 of 17 in Sister Bay
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
229 reviews
0.8 mi away
AppleCreek Resort- Hotel & Suites
5.8 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkwood Lodge

Address: 3775 State Highway 42, Fish Creek, WI 54212-9630 (Formerly Beowulf Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Fish Creek
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Fish Creek
Price Range: £73 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Parkwood Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parkwood Lodge - Door County has all of the amenities and comforts that you expect at a price you will appreciate. Parkwood Lodge is conveniently located on the north end of Fish Creek, Wisconsin near the popular Peninsula State Park property. Parkwood Lodge is situated on 10 acres and offers a variety of room types for travelers to Door County. Featuring affordable rooms, kitchenettes and suites with wood burning fireplaces. The hotel has a heated indoor pool, whirlpool, game room, tennis court, playground, grills, picnic tables and a bonfire pit. Free Wi-Fi. Located near Peninsula State Park on the north end of popular Fish Creek. We have 59 rooms and welcome tours, groups and family reunions. Parkwood Lodge is open early May thru late October. NO PETS ALLOWED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Parkwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkwood Hotel Fish Creek
Parkwood Lodge Fish Creek, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing