We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Biker Friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Parkwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Parkwood Lodge
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Fish Creek
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
214 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Biker Friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed this past weekend at this property again for our annual motorcycle trip to Door County. The staff was ready for us and seemed glad to have us back again. This is an older lodge type hotel, but we noticed that a number of rooms had been remodeled since our visit last year. Our room was clean and equipped with a small refrigerator and microwave. The pool area and adjoining deck was also nice and clean. We hope to be back again next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise S, Owner at Parkwood Lodge, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thanks for your great review, we are always happy to have your group return and I am glad that some of you were able to see our remodeled rooms. It was fun to see the Harley bikes mixed in with the triathlon bicycles on the property on the same weekend. We are biker friendly in both ways! Hope to see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    38
    33
    11
    9
See reviews for
46
46
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is a lovely property in a great location that would very much benefit from renovation and updating of rooms. Management needs to be aware of some serious housekeeping issues. Having the sink with paper towels in the room next to the bed instead of in the bathroom was really awkward.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise S, Owner at Parkwood Lodge, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thanks for your review! We are glad that you were happy with our hotels location and enjoyed your time in Door County. We are sorry to hear that you had some housekeeping concerns and hope you passed them along to someone on-site. We are in the process of updating the rooms. This past winter 10 rooms were completely re-done, and the plan is for another 10 this winter. We have 60 rooms altogether so this will take some time but also gives us the ability to offer rooms at different price points. We hope the next time you are in the area you will choose us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fish Creek hotels

Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

A wonderfully located basic roadside lodge that affords you close access to Fish Creek, Ephraim and Sister Bay. The beds were very comfortable with a lovely kitchenette for quick meals and snacks. The bathroom is small, but the bath/shower is very nice. The console holding the TV and Microwave had a big opening where the refrigerator used to be...showing wires, so that will need to be changed or updated. Overall, very adequate, though dated. It provides a comfortable stay nonetheless.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise S, Owner at Parkwood Lodge, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thanks for your review, we are glad that you shared your positive experience at Parkwood Lodge so others can know what to expect. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our location and the entire Door County Peninsula. When we do more remodeling this fall, we will be replacing the large console with the space for a refrigerator with a smaller unit. Our kitchenettes units have a refrigerator, so the open space designed for a frig is wasted space. We hope the next time you are in the area you choose Parkwood Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pecatonica, Illinois
Level Contributor
102 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

This place is definitely dated. Our room was clean and suited us for our visit. We didn't spend much time at the lodge. It is a drive to everything, but that didn't bother us. If you just want a bed to sleep in at Door County at a reasonable price, then this is the place for you.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dolly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Comfortable, quiet, clean, friendly and affordable. Will stay here again for sure!!! It's out in the country so you have to drive to get anywhere but worth it for the price. A little dated but comfortable beds and quiet made for a good nights rest. We don't go to Door County to sit in our room anyways so was perfect for us.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foremostmgt, Owner at Parkwood Lodge, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thanks for your review of Parkwood Lodge! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our location. We are always working to update our facility and are remodeling and redecorating 10 rooms a year. During your next visit be sure to check out our updated "deluxe" rooms with fresh new décor and new flooring. Thanks for choosing Parkwood Lodge we look forward to having your return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrillville, Indiana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I reserved a kitchenette room at the parkwood. The important stuff: seemed clean, beds were o.k.,good shower, good location. The set up of the room was just not good for us. The bathroom sink is located in the main room. This really hampered our privacy. Next to the kitchen sink was an old all-in-one type unit that contained a frige, sink, and two burner cook top. It was about 2 feet away from one of the beds. We had to sit on the bed to access the frige. I cannot imagine anyone being able to prepare even a simple meal with this set up. There was just not enough room for that. I have no other complaints, the staff couldn't have been nicer and more helpful, and the price was very good. I just think it's misleading to call this room a kitchenette. Had I known ahead of time, I just would have booked a cheaper regular room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank umfoofoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foremostmgt, Owner at Parkwood Lodge, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thanks for your review of Parkwood Lodge, guest comments really help others know what to expect. We are sorry to hear you did not like the layout of the room especially the vanity. We find many people prefer this layout because one person can get ready separately while another uses the toilet or shower with the door closed. Most of our room have this configuration. However during your next visit you may request a handicap room - those have the sink inside the same room as the shower and toilet. I am glad to hear you found our staff friendly an the location good for your visit. I agree that our kitchenettes are small and I don't think many of our guests use them to prepare a full meal but for just a small price increase from the lodge room folks find the sink, burners and the stocked cabinet to be useful. The least expensive room has a microwave and a fridge - maybe that is all you need upon your next visit. Thanks again for choosing Parkwood Lodge ~ We hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
142 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

This was our first stay at this motel, and even though it is old, it is neat the way it's in a wooded area, and you look out your back window at the woods. Everything in the room was old, but it was clean, and that is more important than being new. The mattresses on the bed are extremely hard, and I like firm mattresses, but this gives it new meaning. Could have put up with that too, but the heater in the room made SO much noise that it was hard to get any sleep at all. On and off it went, all night long, so two nights with almost no sleep has confirmed our decision that this will be our first and last time to stay at this particular motel. The people at the front desk are as nice and friendly as they can possibly be, and there is coffee available, in different flavors, which is nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marilinda69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foremostmgt, Owner at Parkwood Lodge, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thanks you for your review of Parkwood Lodge. We are so happy with our location, the staff and our coffee! I am very sorry to hear you had an uncomfortable sleep. The heater disturbing you is unacceptable and we need to replace it - if you did not alert someone on the property to your specific room number please do so we can resolve the issue. We are glad to hear that your room was clean - that is very important to us. We are completely gutting, remodeling and redecorating 10 rooms per year over the next 6 years, we hope you might consider giving us another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Creek
1.0 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.8 mi away
AppleCreek Resort- Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Settlement Courtyard Inn & Lavender Spa
2.9 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
5.8 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkwood Lodge

Property: Parkwood Lodge
Address: 3775 State Highway 42, Fish Creek, WI 54212-9630 (Formerly Beowulf Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Fish Creek
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Fish Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Parkwood Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parkwood Lodge - Door County has all of the amenities and comforts that you expect at a price you will appreciate. Parkwood Lodge is conveniently located on the north end of Fish Creek, Wisconsin across from the popular Peninsula State Park property. Parkwood Lodge is situated on 10 acres and offers a variety of room types for travelers to Door County. Featuring affordable rooms, kitchenettes and suites with wood burning fireplaces. Resort has indoor pool, whirlpool, game room, tennis court, playground, grills, picnic tables and a bonfire pit. Free Wi-Fi. Located near Peninsula State Park on the north end of popular Fish Creek. We have 59 rooms and welcome tours, groups and reunions. Parkwood Lodge is open early May thru late October. NO PETS ALLOWED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS and Odigeo so you can book your Parkwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkwood Hotel Fish Creek
Parkwood Lodge Fish Creek, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing