We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Destination Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thorp House Inn and Cottages
Ranked #1 of 5 Fish Creek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2012

After visiting the Thorp House on four previous occasions, we selected this beautiful spot as the location for our wedding ceremony. Melanie and Leila were gracious hosts and helped out with much of the prep-work for the ceremony. While checking in to the Teal Cottage, Melanie walked us to the cabin and we were surprised to see a bottle of champagne on ice with glasses, compliments of the Thorp House. Melanie's knowledge of the area is a great help, and she was able to suggest the restaurant that we eventually decided on for our wedding dinner (which was great). As mentioned above, we have stayed at the Thorp House several times, but we are always thrilled with the uniqueness of each cabin and each stay leaves us wanting to come back and experience a new cabin. Each cabin that we have stayed in has surpassed our expectations for location, comfort, and cleanliness.

Thank you to the Thorp House for making our day perfect and memorable. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2012

We found the Thorp House Inn & Cottages at the recommendation of a friend. Lucky for us we were able to secure the Lark Cottage for Memorial Day Weekend. We had a wonderful time and loved everything about the cottage and property. There's a rustic charm in the 2 bedroom/1 bath unit. We had a small dog and a 7 month old baby and found the cottage to be perfect for us. We'd stroll into town each night to order take out and enjoy it on the spacious deck. Making breakfast for the baby in the morning was easy in the small kitchenette. This property is a great way to experience the charm of Fish Creek while being just off the beaten path. We loved our stay so much that we already booked it again for next year and hope that this becomes a new family tradition each Memorial Day Weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shannylyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Thanks to my wonderful mother-in-law (she stayed with our boys & payed for our stay as a 20 year anniversary gift), we were able to get away for one night. We come to Door County at least once a year, usually in October with our family. We sometimes camp at wonderful Peninsula Park, or stay at the Rushes. Those trips we hike,bike, geocache, swim, etc.... We actually first went past the Thorp House, in October on one of the Trolley tours. Since then we wanted to try it. This was a trip just for the two of us. Melanie & the cleaning staff were friendly & do a great job. We stayed in the Inn, in the "Eliza." This is the one room on the first floor, very clean, nice antiques & we liked that it was in the corner...nice & private. We were able to take a peek at the other rooms, all were very clean & beautiful. I'd like to try the "Jessie" (one of the bigger ones!) Melanie serves breakfast anytime between 8:30 -10:00am. It was nice to come in when we were ready. Great coffee, egg strata dish, muffins, OJ, granola, yogurt, fruit & tea, were all available to choose from. She also has complimentary soft drinks, tea,& cookies available all the time.
I like that it is within walking distance of Fish Creek shops, restaurants, & the waterfront.
Thanks for a relaxing stay, we will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3grtboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelanieCamp, Owner at Thorp House Inn and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We're so glad we were able to accomodate your last minute trip to Fish Creek. Looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

When you think of a Door County BEd and Breakfast, the Thorp House Inn and Cottages is it! Located just off the main strip in Fish Creek, you are away from the hustle and bustle, but walking distance to everything in town. We stayed in Cottage #3, the Dove and it was perfect for two. There was a wood burning fireplace that was a perfect way to end our evenings while playing cards (supplied by the innkeeper). The cottage had a tiny room with 2 bunk beds which we did not use, but would be perfect for 2 small kids. All of the cottages are located around the main house, but they are far enough from one another to have privacy. Firewood is $4.00, but the first Duraflame log is free. We just used the Dura flame log each night and it was great for keeping us warm. There are extra blankets so you can cozy up on the couch. There is also a TV, but we did not turn it on once (: In the bathroom there were two lavendar soaps that smelled wonderfully. A nice touch. As another reveiwer mentioned, bring your own bath towels. A bath mat and a hair dryer are provided.

I wold strongly recommend this B and B to anyone looking for a weekend (or week!) escape. Hope to come back soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cottage #3, the Dove. All ofteh cottages (from the outside, looked well kept). We did n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dorota d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelanieCamp, Owner at Thorp House Inn and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Dove Cottage. Thanks so much for taking the time to write about your experience. Thanks for staying with us! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

My wife and I just returned from a fun relaxing weekend in Door County WI. We spent 2 nights at the Thorp House Inn. The house is perhaps 100 years old and filled with fine antiques. Melanie the innkeeper is a delightful host and good conversationalist. Our room, Jessie was huge with a 4 poster bed (super comfortable if you have a bad back) and gas fireplace with a pretty good view of Green Bay. It was full of turn of the century antiques, fireplace and Jacuzzi. In the morning a wood burning fireplace greeted us. A local French chef prepares some of the breakfast entrees. Bring a book to enjoy in the library or by the fire in the connected sitting room with the wood burning fireplace. Lots of hot coffee and cookies anytime Just 1 block from Fish Creek so just enjoy. Be sure to eat at Donny's at the Glidden Lodge in Bailey's Harbor or the English Inn in Fish Creek. Old time Wisconsin Supper Clubs with real wood fireplaces, great seafood and great Old Fashions. We live in Wisconsin and love Wisconsin and being up North but then who wouldn't.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent Some have Jacuzzi, some fireplaces some both
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johndomingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelanieCamp, Owner at Thorp House Inn and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

It was so nice meeting the both of you. I know it was circumstances that made it happen. And I'm glad the opportunity arised. I'm thrilled you enjoyed your stay in the Jessie. You definitely made the most of your visit. Thanks for sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My wife and I spent a quick weekend up in Door County (just a three hour drive from Milwaukee) and decided to stay at the Thorp House Inn. Melanie and her staff aim to please in every aspect of the visit. Room "Maria" fit our needs perfectly and the breakfast was fantastic each morning... a great way to start the day! Looking forward to another stay in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelanieCamp, Owner at Thorp House Inn and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Thanks so much for staying with us and sharing your experience. We're so happy you enjoyed your time with us and looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

With the unseasonably warm temperatures this past 2011/12 Winter has provided us and the record heat during the last week of of winter ... it was just a requirement to book a place that we could get out and do some hiking & relaxing.

Thorp House Inn & Cottages fit the bill "Perfect"!

The Quail Cottage with the actual fireplace and two rooms was quaint, warm & inviting for us with the two daughters. Stay in for the day or head out to the shops, restaurants or the neighboring Peninsula State Park. Other than a number of specialty shops being closed yet for the season ... there was more than plenty of shopping for all. Most restaurants were open and all welcomed us with smiles. Other than a few others out and about ... there were no crowds to speak of.

Having lived in NE Wisconsin for a better part of 30+ years ... have never stayed actually up on the Door County Peninsula North of Sturgeon Bay. That will change now in years to come.

If you don't find a place available here ... it is still a "Must See" when you walk Fish Creek. Do take the time to check Thorp House Inn & Cottages for future escapes.

Sincerely,
Brian

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelanieCamp, Owner at Thorp House Inn and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

We are so happy that you were able to take advantage of the great weather and spend time with us. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience while staying in our cottage and visiting the charming village of Fish Creek. We consider ourselves lucky to have such a great location in town. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Creek
0.5 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
250 reviews
4.2 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
857 reviews
7.1 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Settlement Courtyard Inn & Lavender Spa
0.7 mi away
AppleCreek Resort- Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Julie's Park Cafe & Motel
Julie's Park Cafe & Motel
#1 of 10 in Fish Creek
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorp House Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorp House Inn and Cottages

Address: 4135 Bluff Ln, Fish Creek, WI 54212-9337
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Fish Creek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Creek
Price Range: £127 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thorp House Inn and Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 100 years, Thorp House Inn & Cottages has welcomed visitors to the charming village of Fish Creek. The five unique guest rooms in the Inn offer the authentic ambiance of a bygone era amidst the spectacular natural beauty of the Door County peninsula. Whirlpools and fireplaces are available. The Cottages at Thorp House Inn have a charm and following all of their own. They are just what you had in mind... cozy and private... nestled in the pines... close to the beach... in the heart of the village. Walk to shops, restaurants, Peninsula State Park and much more. Each cottage is decorated in country antiques and has its own unique character. Most have fireplaces and some have whirlpools. Both the Inn and Cottages are open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Thorp House Inn and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorp House Inn And Cottages Hotel Fish Creek
Thorp House Inn And Cottages Fish Creek, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing