We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mom & daughter vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thorp House Inn and Cottages
Ranked #1 of 5 Fish Creek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Biggsville
1 review
“Mom & daughter vacation”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This is the second year my daughter and I have stayed at Thorp House. Last year we stayed in the main house and were very happy (the homemade granola is yummy!), but this year we opted for the Quail cottage. We fell in love with it! It is so charming...just like a storybook cottage-we almost cried when we had to leave. The owner is very sweet and helpful, she recommended the Spa Verde and we had a wonderful massage and facial. I am a health department nurse, so cleanliness and safety are always on my mind and I have nothing but good things to say about the Thorp House. I highly recommend Thorp House for a quiet, charming stay. We will be back next fall!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    39
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
28
196
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Muskego, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2012

My husband and I had an amazing time staying at Thorp House. This was our first visit and and we couldn't have have asked for anything more. Great location, wonderful staff and charming place. We look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My husband and I spent our post-elopement honeymoon weekend at the Thorp House in mid-September and had a wonderful stay. We booked the Jessie room and though it was pricey for us, we were very happy with the room's size, period details, and room amenities (especially the jacuzzi and fireplace). We had the opportunity to meet a few other guests and the innkeeper over breakfast (which was simple but very tasty), but mostly we prized the sense of privacy and quiet we had at this small but lovely inn. The location on a quiet side street but still directly in downtown Fish Creek can't be beat. We were able to walk to dinner each evening and even to Peninsula State Park for day hikes. Overall a perfect weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lahollen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We've stayed at the Thorpe House on about ten occasions over the years and have enjoyed it every time. That's why we keep coming back. An ownership change prior to the last two stays has been pretty seamless. The recently re-built front porch is a joy. The Inn is on a quiet street and just a block from the quaint, downtown area.

Room Tip: We have stayed in all of the rooms, but keep going back to Eliza. It doesn't have the fancy hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at Thorp House Inn few days ago for Labor day weekend. We booked Emma room and were pleasantly surprised by large bathroom with separate soaking tub and great skylight window. Thorp House Inn has one of the best locations in Fish Creek- it’s on a quiet street, however you are only within few minute walk to Main Street which offers number of restaurants and shops. Entrance to Peninsula State Park is also within walking distance.
Melanie, owner of Thorp House Inn, is doing amazing job by keeping this historic place in great condition and making her guests feel at home. Breakfast was served daily from 8:30 to 10 am and was definitely a perfect start of our day.
We certainly recommend this place and are looking forward to stay there when we visit Fish Creek next time.
Kyle & Victoria K.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed in Wren cottage over Labor Day weekend, and I'm missing it already! While the cottages were surprisingly close to each other, they were actually VERY private. The view out our bedroom window was of the forest floor, and the noise was very minimal. We slept with the windows open every night, and nothing disturbed us. Beds were super comfortable! The cottage was decorated like grandma shabby-chic, which was very cute. Bathroom was very small, shower was not the greatest (low flow shower head), but we weren't going for luxe accommodations, we were going for affordable, hip, cute, great location digs. Plus, this place was SUPER close to my favorite store in Fish Creek - Fred & Co. I walked 3 minutes, bought an adorable dress and earrings, and was back to the cabin in time to wear my new duds out to dinner! P.S. for dinner, you gotta try Wickman House in Ellison Bay. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2012

GREAT bed and breakfast made the base of our Door County long weekend a huge success. Thorp House Inn is just beautiful, gracious and wonderfully quiet! The room was beyond expectation in terms of decor, quiet and luxury. It was easy to WALK anywhere in Fish Creek from Thorp House. This is definitely a venue to which we would return. This place embodies what a romantic weekend should be about.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HBR101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Creek
0.5 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
4.2 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
7.1 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Settlement Courtyard Inn & Lavender Spa
5.7 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorp House Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorp House Inn and Cottages

Property: Thorp House Inn and Cottages
Address: 4135 Bluff Ln, Fish Creek, WI 54212-9337
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Fish Creek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thorp House Inn and Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 100 years, Thorp House Inn & Cottages has welcomed visitors to the charming village of Fish Creek. The five unique guest rooms in the Inn offer the authentic ambiance of a bygone era amidst the spectacular natural beauty of the Door County peninsula. Whirlpools and fireplaces are available. The Cottages at Thorp House Inn have a charm and following all of their own. They are just what you had in mind... cozy and private... nestled in the pines... close to the beach... in the heart of the village. Walk to shops, restaurants, Peninsula State Park and much more. Each cottage is decorated in country antiques and has its own unique character. Most have fireplaces and some have whirlpools. Both the Inn and Cottages are open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Thorp House Inn and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorp House Inn And Cottages Hotel Fish Creek
Thorp House Inn And Cottages Fish Creek, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing