We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Immaculate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thorp House Inn and Cottages
Ranked #1 of 5 Fish Creek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Muskego, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
120 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Immaculate”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

This inn is very well kept and clean. The staff are friendly and helpful. We liked our room except for one major thing. We were in the Everil and it had a large skylight above the bed. It had no shade so at about 4:30am you get light coming in right above you. I would not take this room again. It did have a nice balcony and great whirlpool. The breakfast is decent but the same every day. They vary the ingredients in the strata and the kind of muffins, but it is so similar. Good location, quiet. i recommend the inn.

Room Tip: Unless you are a very early riser do not take Everil
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    39
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
28
196
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, IL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

This was our second annual visit to the Thorp House Inn and Cottages and we've already booked our return trip for next year! We rented the Lark Cottage (their largest) and find the rustic charm to be just what we need for a weekend getaway. The place is very comfortable and relaxing and CLEAN. We have an 18 month old and she sleeps well in the 2nd bedroom in a pack and play between the beds. The kitchenette is perfect and just what we needed to keep some basics on hand for the little one.

We enjoyed the patio and spent some time out there relaxing and reading. The Inn is on a quiet road just a block up from the main road through Fish Creek. We can easily walk to everything and love that this trip requires no car to truly get around. We walked to restaurants, Peninsula State Park, etc.

The women at the Inn are all wonderful and so friendly. They do everything they can to make the trip as enjoyable as possible. (Including allowing us to use their dryer when my daughter's "lovie" needed a quick hand washing in the sink.) Can't wait for our next trip!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shannylyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The location(walking to all of Fish Creek as well as Peninsula State Park), setting, ambiance, and the host, Melanie, made for a relaxing, wonderful weekend. Will definitely return to this fine property, we stayed in the main house which was lovely.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnS3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed at the Thorp House from Wednesday evening through Saturday morning of a holiday week-end. The room was wonderful and we meet some nice people. The breakfasts were good and served when we were ready. The Inn is located within walking distance of many of the shops and eateries in Fish Creek which was great if you wanted to have a beer or glass of wine and not worry about driving. Overall, we had fun and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarmite G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
301 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed at the Thorp House for a weekend get away just before Thanksgiving. We have stayed in Door County numerous times but decided to try a different Bed and Breakfast. From the moment we pulled up we were impressed. Gorgeous Christmas decorations, beautiful rooms with lovely antiques and fireplace, great breakfast and fabulous hospitality from the Inn Keeper. The Inn is walking distance from everything in Fish Creek, which made it incredibly convenient. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Our room was in the front of the house and looked over the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
98 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

My wife and I had a getaway weekend to Door County and stayed in one of their cottages. It was wonderful. The cottage was comfortable and well-furnished. A big plus is the location. it is very easy to walk to the Fish Creek shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We loved staying in such a quaint place for the full bed and breakfast experience! The Thorp House has a ton of character, and you can feel the history everywhere. The Inn is located just far enough off the main drag that you don't have to deal with traffic or crowds, but it is only a short walk to all the shops and restaurants in downtown Fish Creek. Waking up to a delicious and hardy breakfast after sleeping in such a comfortable bed was wonderful and energizing. The Emma had a great feel to it with it's spacious and sun lit bathroom with it's beautiful french doors that let sunlight spill into the bedroom... and the towels were insanely soft!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Creek
0.5 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
4.2 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
7.1 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Settlement Courtyard Inn & Lavender Spa
5.7 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorp House Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorp House Inn and Cottages

Property: Thorp House Inn and Cottages
Address: 4135 Bluff Ln, Fish Creek, WI 54212-9337
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Fish Creek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thorp House Inn and Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 100 years, Thorp House Inn & Cottages has welcomed visitors to the charming village of Fish Creek. The five unique guest rooms in the Inn offer the authentic ambiance of a bygone era amidst the spectacular natural beauty of the Door County peninsula. Whirlpools and fireplaces are available. The Cottages at Thorp House Inn have a charm and following all of their own. They are just what you had in mind... cozy and private... nestled in the pines... close to the beach... in the heart of the village. Walk to shops, restaurants, Peninsula State Park and much more. Each cottage is decorated in country antiques and has its own unique character. Most have fireplaces and some have whirlpools. Both the Inn and Cottages are open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Thorp House Inn and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorp House Inn And Cottages Hotel Fish Creek
Thorp House Inn And Cottages Fish Creek, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing