We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Arriving here is the celebration of our "new year"--THE BEST”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thorp House Inn and Cottages
Ranked #1 of 5 Fish Creek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
1 review
“Arriving here is the celebration of our "new year"--THE BEST”
Reviewed 4 June 2008

We have stayed at the Thorp House Inn and Cottages for a number of summers. It is our "step back in time", to where the focus is on family and on simplicity. The property is rich is history, which the owners have taken great pains and expense to preserve, but at the same time, comfortable and pleasing amenities are provided that make life just grand. While the inn and cottages are the original structures, they have been lovingly and accurately restored--the furniture is gorgeous, bed linens sumptuous, water plentiful and hot, dishes elegant, decor calming. Care is always taken to improve and update without compromising charm. I am always grateful that someone treasures the past, and provides vacationers with a place where they can truly relax and lose themselves in a simpler time. The effect is magical and rejuvenating.

Everything you could want is within walking distance--the state park, a beach, bike rentals, groceries, interesting shopping, good eating. But you'll always be glad to come back up the street into the quiet and beauty here. My sons are grown--and still choose this as the place they want to be every summer.

If super-modern is your dish, then probably Door County in general is not for you. This is a special place, with rich history, the arts, breath-taking nature, and wonderful people. It's all about taking time, and leaving the complicated and stressful behind--the whole idea of vacation?

  • Liked — Quiet, clean, lovely
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Addy-Katte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    39
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
28
196
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2008

We've been visiting Thorp House Inn & Cottages since 1996 and have always had a fantastic time. We usually visit a couple times a year and wish it could be more often!

For our winter visits, we stayed at the inn where all the rooms are charming -- beautifully decorated and well appointed. Most have whirlpools and fireplaces. Family-style breakfasts in the cozy kitchen were always an entertaining time, and the hosts were accommodating to our every need.

During the summer we'd rent one of the cottages for a week and didn't want to leave. Although more casual than the Inn, the cottages are clean and well maintained.

Both properties are ideally situated in Fish Creek -- close to restaurants, shopping and parks.

We'd highly recommend both the Inn and the cottages.

  • Liked — Beautifully decorated & comfortable; nice amenities
  • Disliked — our vacation was too short!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DukeHHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2006

We have stayed at Thorp House cottages (and the related beach house) several times, dating back to 1992., the past several seasons in a cottage. When the time comes that we travel without children we'd like to try the main house, but with kids the cottages are a good bet.. They are a tad "rustic" - vintage stove and sink, though everything is functional. Microwave, coffee maker, cookware, plates, etc. are provided (do bring towels). The beds are up-to-date and comfortable. The outdoor furniture (table & chairs) were new this year; the old ones were showing their age. Cottages have heat and air-conditioning units, though usually in June (when we've tended to go) we don't need either. The cottages just a block off the main street in Fish Creek, but set back enough that it is quiet. Noble Square, Clark Park, Fish Creek Park, shopping and dining are all walkable. Innkeepers or staff are always available at the main house (steps away), always helpful and friendly. We've reserved for 2007 already.

  • Liked — Location, privacy, facilities
  • Tips/Secrets — Book early!
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2006

We rented a cottage at Thorp House Inn for 7 days and absolutely loved it! I was a bit hesitant at first because of some of the negative reviews posted, but honestly we had no complaints. The cottages are small and rustic, but very cozy and perfect for couples or small families. The location in Fish Creek is hard to beat. It was wonderful being able to cook some of our own meals in the small kitchen or on the outdoor grill. The jacuzzi tub was so relaxing, and we even enjoyed a fire in our fireplace on one chilly evening. The innkeepers were very nice and even brought us leftover muffins from breakfast. (Guests renting the cottages do not receive breakfast like the B&B guests do). At the end of our visit, we were given a tour of the B&B. The rooms are spacious and beautiful. We travel frequently and are fairly picky about our accommodations, and would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariagloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paw Paw, MI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2006

We stayed in Cottage #3 in July of 05. What a disappointment. Their web site stated that McCalls called it "one of the most charming inns in America", that must have been many years ago. I knew we were in trouble when we pulled up and the Thorp House Inn sign had paint peeling all over and the gardens were a mess. The cabins are tiny, so overgrown with shrubs you could hardly get to front door. Deck was very old, paint peeling wood with junky table and plastic tablecloth. There is a view of the lake over the trees, over the main street, then over more trees, very far away. Windows wouldn't stay open, we had to prop them up. Main bedroom was OK, living room furniture very uncomfortable. Bathroom was OK and was recently redone but lighting awful. Kitchen was appalling,it consisted of a tiny apartment size fridge with poor seal, freezer fit only two ice trays (no room for food there), tiny apartment size stove with electric coils on slant, 20+ year old microwave on top of fridge, sink with drain area. That is it. The only counter space to prepare food was the sink drain. The kitchen was about 6' square if that. Cooking meals (which I enjoy to do on vacation) was nearly impossible. There were very few dishes and we had to ask for mixing bowls, coffee maker that worked, fry pan and more from the main house. We voiced our concerns and they fell on deaf ears. We'll never go back to this property. Only good thing was the short distance to Peninsula State Park so we could ride our bikes there. If you're seeking cottage in Door County, we highly recommend Scandia Cottages in Sister Bay. We stayed there before and they were wonderful and they owners very accomodating. -- Landmark Resort is excellent too.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alicedaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 January 2006

This will be the 3rd year my daughter and I are guests at Thorp House Inn and Cottages. The first year we rented one of their quaint, old world cottages--very authentic and charming. A delightful step back in time. Last year we rented the Grand View Beach House. What a beautiful facility! Very clean, comfortable, lovely accommodations, very comfy beds, all the extras one would need in a kitchen (even a grill on the balcony), altho we ate out most of the time....we're on vacation, right??? Everything was within walking distance, which was very enjoyable. We were extremely pleased with the Beach House and its view of the bay and are eagerly looking forward to our stay this coming May. I highly recommend the Thorp House facilities.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 January 2006

The Thorp House Inn is a bed and breakfast that is sure to please those who are looking for a great excape from a hurried life. The Inn Keepers were very personable and took great care to meet the needs of their guests. Not only did they answer our questions, but they took extra effort to ensure that we knew our way around town and recommended various actiities that suited our desires for our visit.

The accomodations were exceptionally clean and have the characteristics associated with the romance, ambiance and history of the Inn itself. Quite the unique experience.

The outstanding experience of staying at the Thorp House Inn cannot be described in words. Not only are the rooms a comfortable and pleasant place to stay, but it also invites strangers to become friends. The common areas invite you to indulge in reading, relaxing and conversation.

We regret that our stay had to end. However, we will soon return..again and again and again.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Creek
0.5 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
4.2 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
7.1 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Settlement Courtyard Inn & Lavender Spa
5.7 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorp House Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorp House Inn and Cottages

Property: Thorp House Inn and Cottages
Address: 4135 Bluff Ln, Fish Creek, WI 54212-9337
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Fish Creek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thorp House Inn and Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 100 years, Thorp House Inn & Cottages has welcomed visitors to the charming village of Fish Creek. The five unique guest rooms in the Inn offer the authentic ambiance of a bygone era amidst the spectacular natural beauty of the Door County peninsula. Whirlpools and fireplaces are available. The Cottages at Thorp House Inn have a charm and following all of their own. They are just what you had in mind... cozy and private... nestled in the pines... close to the beach... in the heart of the village. Walk to shops, restaurants, Peninsula State Park and much more. Each cottage is decorated in country antiques and has its own unique character. Most have fireplaces and some have whirlpools. Both the Inn and Cottages are open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Thorp House Inn and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorp House Inn And Cottages Hotel Fish Creek
Thorp House Inn And Cottages Fish Creek, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing