We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Holiday Getaway Adventure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thorp House Inn and Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thorp House Inn and Cottages
Ranked #1 of 5 Fish Creek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Holiday Getaway Adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Our getaway was PERFECT in every way. The Throp House is charming and delightful. Melanie and her staff could not have been more welcoming - we felt like we had become friends in just a few hours. We stayed in a cottage because we had planned a couples getaway. The couples thing fell apart because my husband required immediate hip replacement and the wife of the other couple came down with pneumonia. My daughter agreed to accompany me because I really needed to get away and recuperate from caring for my husband as he had actually broken his hip in July. It was a PERFECT getaway. Mom and daughter had the time to bond, shop, and enjoy the experience that the Throp House afforded us. The wine and cheese reception allowed us to meet other guests of the Throp House and to enjoy their company on the following evening when we attended the Progressive Dinner hosted by Throp House and While Gull Inn. The food was amazing! The evening was PERFECT! The snow we experienced while in Fish Creek was even delightful. Door County's landscapes are even move beautiful in the peaceful white blanket of winter. We stayed an extra day because we were snow bound and it was the most delightful day - no hurry, no television by choice, a roaring fire in the fireplace and meaningful time with my daughter. What a wonderful way to celebrate Christmas. Thanks to the Thorp House and the staff for making our adventure one we will remember for years to come. The Thorp House will definitely be on my list of places I want to return to in the future.

Room Tip: Cottage #5 was charming. A perfect place to call your own. Comfortable and cozy in every way. Nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    38
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
27
194
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

My wife and I wanted to get out of town for a couple nights, and decided to head to Door for a winter's weekend. We wanted to stay in Fish Creek, since it's walkable, and wanted a cottage, since we have a young child who is a bit noisy these days. We also wanted a fireplace. We found everything we wanted at the Thorp House cottages. We chose the smallest cottage, Wren, which had two bedrooms, a living area with fireplace, small equipped kitchen, and small sitting area.

Everything was just about perfect. The cottage really is charming, decorated in country-style 1930s - 1940s. Bedrooms are tiny, barely enough room for a bed and dresser, but it wasn't a problem. The natural fireplace was great, and perfect for cold nights with a glass of wine, etc. Yes, you have to buy logs, but at $4 for 5 logs, we got a night's fire from just one bundle for under $5.

The location is great; we very quickly walked to the Blue Horse coffee house for breakfast, and the Bayside for dinner. The street the cottage is on is just parallel to 42, but set back, so it's a relatively private location that you'd never see if you weren't looking for it. Yet it's maybe a 3 min walk to the shops, restaurants and bars in downtown Fish Creek.

No complaints, and we really enjoyed the stay. We planning on coming back next winter.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MilTosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menasha, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

We arrived at the Thorp inn and were charmed from the first moment. warm and inviting! The room was beautiful and the attention to detail added to the whole experience. The food was fabulous! I especially enjoyed the wine and cheese reception and getting to meet the other guests. We so enjoyed our time that we already booked for next year and are bringing my parents.

Room Tip: The Jesse room was the largest and the view from front windows was charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RMB2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Prior to our stay, we did not know the Thorp's founded Fish Creek so many years ago. That fact added an another level of intimacy to our short two night stay, walking the streets of Fish Creek wondering what life must have been like that long ago. If you enjoy small cottage vacations, seek out The Thorp House Inn, Fish Creek. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

I booked Thorp House Inn after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor and reviewing the location on the map. Since my wife and I were celebrating our 15th anniversary (most of them good years...heh heh) I wanted everything to be perfect. Melanie and her team were attentive and informative when we needed them and completely respectful of the guests. The breakfasts were well planned and the perfect amount of food to get going each day for hiking, sight seeing and other Door County activities. We enjoyed very much the nicely decorated and historic home with the cozy fireplace going in the morning and evenings. It is a perfect location in Fish Creek with access to everything but just off the beaten path so as to have some quiet. After staying here for a few days, I would recommend this location to anyone liking bed and breakfasts. I have to say I can't think of a better one we've stayed at over the years and there have been many. We will return for sure as we'd love to stay in a couple of the other rooms and still enjoy the top notch treatment. Book with confidence....I don't give top ratings easily.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Emma" room and very much enjoyed the skylights and antique furniture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GR8SHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

The THORP HOUSE has been a great find for us. The location is just off Main Street to allow more privacy and you can walk to almost anything in town. The rooms and suites are beautifully appointed ....loved the fireplace and jacuzzi. Breakfast in the blue and white kitchen w/ restored period stove included scrumptious muffins, main dish, and skillfully presented fruit in a style that is graceful and welcoming. It was the perfect home base for exploring Door County. Not every accommodation has this grace and comfort.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CD243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Dove Cottage for our 3 day mini moon after our wedding. We couldn't be happier with the choice of stay. The cottage, the location and the hospitality is superb. Our return visit to Door County will definitely be at the Thorp Inn again, no question. I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CRoddy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Creek
4.2 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.5 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
7.1 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Settlement Courtyard Inn & Lavender Spa
5.7 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorp House Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorp House Inn and Cottages

Property: Thorp House Inn and Cottages
Address: 4135 Bluff Ln, Fish Creek, WI 54212-9337
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Fish Creek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thorp House Inn and Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 100 years, Thorp House Inn & Cottages has welcomed visitors to the charming village of Fish Creek. The five unique guest rooms in the Inn offer the authentic ambiance of a bygone era amidst the spectacular natural beauty of the Door County peninsula. Whirlpools and fireplaces are available. The Cottages at Thorp House Inn have a charm and following all of their own. They are just what you had in mind... cozy and private... nestled in the pines... close to the beach... in the heart of the village. Walk to shops, restaurants, Peninsula State Park and much more. Each cottage is decorated in country antiques and has its own unique character. Most have fireplaces and some have whirlpools. Both the Inn and Cottages are open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Thorp House Inn and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorp House Inn And Cottages Hotel Fish Creek
Thorp House Inn And Cottages Fish Creek, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing