We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surpassed our expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thorp House Inn and Cottages
Ranked #1 of 5 Fish Creek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Surpassed our expectations”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I had never stayed at a B+B before, nor had we been to Door County. After listening to recommendations of a friend and his wife suggesting that we spend some time in Door County, I scoured the web for lodging options. A little weary of staying in a B+B, we booked our stay anyway and hoped for the best. We were completely impressed. Our expectations were surpassed in every way.

We stayed in the "Emma" room, which was perfect. It could not have been cleaner, more beautifully decorated, or more appropriately equipped for our stay. The whole house is beautifully renovated, and done SO very well. I imagine it could have really looked this way when it was new.

The property is also beautifully maintained. It is located centrally within Fish Creek, and is within walking distance of anything in the town.

Melanie, the owner, prepared a wonderful breakfast each morning. She or her assistant were available either on site during the day or by phone in the evening f we needed anything, but never once did we feel like there was anyone even in the house when we were. As another reviewer said, it was like we had the place to ourselves (even though out of the 6 rooms, I bet 4 were rented while we were there, plus the cottages outside).

Available to us at no cost at any time was coffee, tea, cocoa, soda, even cookies.

We simply cannot say enough good about our stay. When we return to Door County (which we will most certainly do), we will never stay anywhere else as long as the Thorp House Inn has room for us. The home and the property are EXCELLENT and I cannot envision a better host than Melanie. We were VERY impressed.

Room Tip: Emma was a very private room. A large skylight in the bathroom let in LOTS of natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TM00105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    39
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
28
196
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grafton, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We wanted to try a cottage that did not look like a renovated fishing shack - and Dove cottage was perfect. Small and cozy - perfect for two people. We lit the fireplace each night, and the cottage had heating also. I noticed the furniture was somewhat different from the photos on this site - which indicates Melanie and her staff replace furniture as needed (much appreciated), but always in keeping with the cottage's theme. The location was perfect for walking to retaurants and shops when we wanted to.

My only complaint is that we didn't stay longer!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jocelyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randolph, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed in the "Jessie" room. My husband was very skeptical about staying at a B&B, as this was our first experience. He thought it would feel weird staying at someone else's house...like we were imposing. He loved it! We hardly saw anyone, and it really felt like we had the whole house to ourselves! The breakfast in the morning was amazing! Fresh fruit, egg bake, granola, hard boil eggs and Amazing muffins! I read a book on the front porch while my husband hiked through the state park. We both loved that main street was literally one street down from the house. We parked the car and walked the entire time. The innkeepers were wonderful! They even packed us some muffins to go for the ride home!!! If you are searching for that perfect, relaxing, romantic getaway....stop searching and book your stay here! You will never forget nor regret it!

Room Tip: Our room was fantastic. We had 'Jessie' room. It had a great view of the lake and an amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amber R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My husband and I spent a peaceful weekend in the Dove Cottage and it was just what we needed! The winter setting was quiet and relaxing, and the cottage was warm and cozy. The Dove Cottage was well appointed and very clean. Melanie and the staff were so friendly and inviting. We plan on asking our friends to join us during the summer- the cottages would be perfect for us to be near each other but still have privacy. We are so happy to have found such a gem in Fish Creek!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We recently stayed at the Thorpe House in the Dove Cottage for a Progressive Dinner weekend. Our cottage was charming, clean, and cozy. We went away for the weekend for R&R and really enjoyed snuggling up in front of the fireplace, watching old holiday movies on cable, and reading books. WiFi worked well too when needed. We shopped all afternoon in Fish Creek and found lots of treasures to take home. We had a great dinner at Christopher's in Ephraim on Friday night, and the Progressive Dinner on Saturday started at the Thorpe House with wonderful appetizers and champagne. Then a snowstorm blew in and we were concerned about driving home. Not a problem - the friendly proprietors were concerned about us driving on the roads too and allowed us to stay over Sunday night at a discounted rate! We've stayed here several times in the past and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IslandGrrrrrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Pines, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We had such a good time at the Thorp House Inn during one of their Progressive Dinner Weekends in 2012 that we went back again this year. These dinners are only done around the Christmas holidays. If you really want to get in the Holiday spirit I highly recommend trying this. We stayed in the Lark Cottage last year but tried the Dove Cottage this year. The owner, Melanie Camp, is in the process of updating the cottages and all we could say was "WOW". She has done a great job with the Dove Cottage. Very cozy and comfortable - perfect place for our stay there. Biggest plus is we get to bring our little dog with us to stay in the cottage. I am pretty sure this will be an annual trip for us.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Our getaway was PERFECT in every way. The Throp House is charming and delightful. Melanie and her staff could not have been more welcoming - we felt like we had become friends in just a few hours. We stayed in a cottage because we had planned a couples getaway. The couples thing fell apart because my husband required immediate hip replacement and the wife of the other couple came down with pneumonia. My daughter agreed to accompany me because I really needed to get away and recuperate from caring for my husband as he had actually broken his hip in July. It was a PERFECT getaway. Mom and daughter had the time to bond, shop, and enjoy the experience that the Throp House afforded us. The wine and cheese reception allowed us to meet other guests of the Throp House and to enjoy their company on the following evening when we attended the Progressive Dinner hosted by Throp House and While Gull Inn. The food was amazing! The evening was PERFECT! The snow we experienced while in Fish Creek was even delightful. Door County's landscapes are even move beautiful in the peaceful white blanket of winter. We stayed an extra day because we were snow bound and it was the most delightful day - no hurry, no television by choice, a roaring fire in the fireplace and meaningful time with my daughter. What a wonderful way to celebrate Christmas. Thanks to the Thorp House and the staff for making our adventure one we will remember for years to come. The Thorp House will definitely be on my list of places I want to return to in the future.

Room Tip: Cottage #5 was charming. A perfect place to call your own. Comfortable and cozy in every way. Nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Creek
0.5 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
4.2 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
7.1 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Settlement Courtyard Inn & Lavender Spa
5.7 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorp House Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorp House Inn and Cottages

Property: Thorp House Inn and Cottages
Address: 4135 Bluff Ln, Fish Creek, WI 54212-9337
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Fish Creek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thorp House Inn and Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 100 years, Thorp House Inn & Cottages has welcomed visitors to the charming village of Fish Creek. The five unique guest rooms in the Inn offer the authentic ambiance of a bygone era amidst the spectacular natural beauty of the Door County peninsula. Whirlpools and fireplaces are available. The Cottages at Thorp House Inn have a charm and following all of their own. They are just what you had in mind... cozy and private... nestled in the pines... close to the beach... in the heart of the village. Walk to shops, restaurants, Peninsula State Park and much more. Each cottage is decorated in country antiques and has its own unique character. Most have fireplaces and some have whirlpools. Both the Inn and Cottages are open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Thorp House Inn and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorp House Inn And Cottages Hotel Fish Creek
Thorp House Inn And Cottages Fish Creek, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing