We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful inn in a great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thorp House Inn and Cottages
Ranked #1 of 5 Fish Creek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2010

We truly enjoyed our stay in this beautiful inn, perfectly located within walking distance to several restaurants and a wine bar. Welcoming and helpful staff helped us to plan our day and night if needed. Breakfast was wonderful! We are definitely looking forward to staying here again next year.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank BostonNy1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2010

We have visited the Thorp House twice in August during the past two years and found it to be most wonderful. We stayed in one of the smaller cottages both times and found it to be extremely clean, cozy, and very comfortable. The sheets on the beds were pressed on arrival and extremely soft; the small kitchen had everything you need to stay for a week-- including dish detergent, paper towels, condiments and many other items. The furniture was a mix of antiques, all very quaint and in excellent condition. The beds were wonderful-- you actually looked forward to sleeping in them every night! The inn keeper, Leila, is a tremendous asset to this property. She is extremely helpful, hospitable, and really knows how to make guests feel at home. While guests in the cottages don't receive the breakfast provided by the inn, Leila gave us some of her delicous scones and muffins when we checked out so that we would have something to munch on during the trip back home. It's that kind of attention to details that makes this inn a must stay for any Door County visitor. All in all, we were both very impressed by the Thorp House Inn. If you appreciate historical properties that are well maintained, beautifully decorated and updated with all the modern conveniences, this place is for you. Please give Thorp House a try, because we're positive you'll never regret it!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovetoleisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

My wife and I have stayed at the Thorp House Inn & Cottages numerous times.
Whether we stay in the inn or the cottages, we are made to feel more like good
friends rather than merely guests. The inn is beautiful and yet very comfortable.
We really enjoy the quietness even though we are almost right in the middle
of Fish Creek. I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScooperDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

My two sisters, mother, and I just returned from celebrating my 50th birthday in Door County, WI.

We stayed at Thorp House Inn & Cottages and I just had to write to compliment this establishment on their hospitality and their properties.

We stayed in two of the cottages which were just as they had been represented on the website. Cozy, clean, comfortable. We loved the privacy and convenience of having a "home away from home." We were there in February, so used the fireplace each night.

The owners and managers were so friendly; the owner even "gifted" one of the books we found in our cabin to my mother - it is out of print and she had been trying to find one for years. We were also taken on a tour of the inn by said owner.

We all enjoyed our time at Thorp House Inn very much and would certainly recommend either the Inn or a cottage to anyone staying in the area.

Fish Creek is a great, centrally located town for the pennisula.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amsdms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2009

I cannot say enough about the Thorp House Inn and Cottages. First, I've stayed in the bed and breakfast rooms before with my husband and they are beautiful. But my favorite are the lovely cottages - each with a different, authentic theme. They are lovely, cozy, and quaint and I leave each time wishing I owned a place just like it. They are also very reasonable - paricularly off-season and particularly compared to a lof of other placed in Door County. I just love the location as well. Right off the main street in Fish Creek, with plenty of parking, but still very quiet. Perfect!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudyWild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

We recently stayed in the eastview beach house owned by the proprietors of Thorp House Inn and Cottages. The location cannot be beat. It is on the main street in Fish Creek with lovely views of the bay which is across the street. There is a patio out front with a table and 4 chairs to enjoy. The drawback; however, was that the place is not well maintained. The queen bed in the master bedroom squeeked with simply lifting your head off the pillow. The hot tubs are OLD, and my husband suggested, judging from the maintanance of the exterior and interior, that they do not run bleach through the hot tub periodically to clean it well. So we showered only. The other bathroom had been updated more recently. There were areas of loose wallpaper in the bathroom. The kitchen had the basics, but if you have room bring your own knives. They were VERY dull. The microwave is quite old but worked. We also would recommend bringing some of your own towels (they only give one towel and washcloth per person). There is laundry in the basement if you wanted to wash the ones they provide. I think it is incorrect, according to the website, to call the place luxurious. I would not stay in the eastview again because of the squeeky, poor mattress in one of the bedrooms unless this is replaced. Family said the king bed was okay in the other bedroom.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMSWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

Never been to a better B & B - I was made to feel like royalty. The cottage was rustic and exquisite, the breakfast and hospitality was superb and Fish Creek, WI is absolutely picturesque.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muscoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Creek
0.5 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
245 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
410 reviews
4.2 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Settlement Courtyard Inn & Lavender Spa
7.1 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
414 reviews
5.3 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorp House Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorp House Inn and Cottages

Address: 4135 Bluff Ln, Fish Creek, WI 54212-9337
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Fish Creek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Creek
Price Range: £141 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thorp House Inn and Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 100 years, Thorp House Inn & Cottages has welcomed visitors to the charming village of Fish Creek. The five unique guest rooms in the Inn offer the authentic ambiance of a bygone era amidst the spectacular natural beauty of the Door County peninsula. Whirlpools and fireplaces are available. The Cottages at Thorp House Inn have a charm and following all of their own. They are just what you had in mind... cozy and private... nestled in the pines... close to the beach... in the heart of the village. Walk to shops, restaurants, Peninsula State Park and much more. Each cottage is decorated in country antiques and has its own unique character. Most have fireplaces and some have whirlpools. Both the Inn and Cottages are open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Thorp House Inn and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorp House Inn And Cottages Hotel Fish Creek
Thorp House Inn And Cottages Fish Creek, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing