We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place and people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Peninsula Park-View
GreenLeadersSilver level
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place and people”
Reviewed 1 October 2010

My son and I stayed at Peninsula Park-View for two nights. We were looking for a place near the airport; it was only a 15-20 minute walk. The owners are wonderful, laid-back, and friendly. The pool was spotless, and the family game room was very nice. Many of the reviews on this site complain that the decor is dated - so what. It's clean, not musty at all, the beds were just right, the air conditioner quiet, and the bicycles were great. You can borrow bikes all day if you'd like; no extra charge. We rode into Ephraim frequently. If you haven't been riding in years, then stick to Peninsula Park, because it's a good hill climb returning from town. If you're looking for glitz, the latest decor, someone to clean up after you and wait on your every need, then maybe go to Chicago. If you want to hang out with regular folks, this is the place.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quartinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    15
    6
    9
    9
See reviews for
25
35
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We stayed at the hotel for a weekend. The hotel is in a nice location, very close to the state park. The owners are very friendly and the hotel is cute from the outside. The room we stayed in needed a lot of work. The carpet was very old, the A/C unit was also very old and loud at night. We tried to turn it off but after a while the smell of humidity in the room was too much to handle so we had to deal with the noise. The beds, blankets & towels looked old as well.
Shampoo is not provided so remember to bring your own (did not expect that from a "resort").
The bathroom fixtures were also very old, the shower head was 98% clogged so I had to play plumber to get it to work.
The "heated pool" was not working...the water was freezing cold. Even my 10 year old didn't want to play in it due to the temperature. (when you make a reservation ask for the water temperature if you are interested in the pool).
They do have cottages but they were not available.
Hard to tell if we had bad luck with the room or if all the rooms are in the same condition.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtraveler250879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveltoexplore, Owner at Peninsula Park-View, responded to this review, 18 August 2010
There was no invoice this summer in the rooms that totaled $300 per night, even with extra people and taxes. Since our rooms are rated for two people. If there are extra people in the room who use towels, soap, bicycles, the pool, net access and our other amenities, we only charge $10 extra per person per night. Taxes in Door County are 11%.
We work hard to provide a very nice place at a reasonable rate in one of the choice locations in Door County. On arrival, we ask every person to let us know if they need anything or have any concerns so we can help them right away. We did not hear any of these complaints all summer and our evaluations have been very high. We are sorry that these people did not tell us about their concerns so we could do something about them to help them have a more enjoyable stay.
Our daily pool records show that the pool has been between 75 and 80 degrees every day this summer. This is considerably warmer than the lake. Even when it is 80 degrees, some people say it is freezing cold. Most people say it is refreshing. The previous owners heated it to 72 degrees.
The towels are new this year and everything else (bedding, pillows some of the furniture, TV's) has been purchased in the past few years including all of the carpeting or laminate floors. When we bought this motel in 1998, the carpets were 30 years old so we gradually have replaced them all. Carpets are professionally cleaned on a regular basis. Shampoo is free by request. We do not leave it in the room since we have thrown so much away. Most people have their own special brand.
Some of the air conditioners are older, but work very well. The ones in the upgraded rooms, suites and cottages have been replaced. We had not received a complaint this summer. During this unusually hot, humid summer, we kept the air conditioners on most of the time to prevent any dampness. They act like a dehumidifier. However, some people have the A/C on and the windows or vents open. In that case they do no good.
Each room, suite, and cottage is different and we are constantly remodeling and upgrading. We have spent a lot since the purchase of this lodging to upgrade and remodel it, yet try to keep the rates very reasonable for this location in Door County.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

The Peninsula Park View is a typical 1950's style motel and really hasn't been updated too much. It was clean and that is top on our list, but our room with 2 queen beds was very small. You could not turn around in the shower and the toilet seat "moved" every time it was used. Also, there is no phone in the room we were in and I doubt there are phones in any of the rooms. That's very old fashioned. The beds were a little to hard for my taste. The owners were very nice and seem to work hard to keep the place going. It's directly across the highway from Peninsula Park so a lot of bicyclists stay here for the convenience. I guess we are just used to more modern conveniences in the places we stay. Even for the price, we won't be going back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoIllinoisKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveltoexplore, Manager at Peninsula Park-View, responded to this review, 11 August 2010
Thank you for your review. I am not sure if you were aware that each unit here is different. The motel rooms were constructed in the 50's and we added suites and cottages in the last 10 years. Our many repeat guests like the old fashioned feel of the rooms, the location and many amenities for a reasonable price. Thanks for saying the rooms are clean--we do work hard to keep it exceptionally clean. We keep the A/C on when needed during hot, muggy days to keep the rooms fresh smelling. Otherwise we open the very large windows to keep fresh air flowing through.
Although there have been many upgrades in the past 10 years, we cannot change the size of the room or the showers. We have added new carpeting or laminate floors, a refer and micro or full kitchen in each unit, and free internet access. For people who like a larger shower, we recommend one of the suites or cottages. Sorry, there have never been phones in the rooms, but there is a free phone available 24 hours a day for local and emergency calls. Since so many people have cell phones, this is not usually an issue. When people ask for a less firm bed, we can usually help them. Some mattresses are firmer than others and some people like them firm. Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Booked 3 night stay, had to pay 50% in advance. When we arrived, there was no one to be found. It took us at least 20 minutes to find an employee. We then checked in, and paid for the remainder of the stay. Our room was small, musty and humid even with the air conditioner running. The refrigerator was off and moldy. My wife had to clean it out. The bed was ROCK hard, and something from the Forties. We will be making a trip or two to the Chiropractor. The shower heads are installed for the vertically challenged. If you are over five feet tall, good luck taking a shower. The noise was a major factor. Not only did we have highway noise, the noise of the other guests just leaving or entering their rooms was enough to wake you up. Carole, the owner, boasts about her amenities at the hotel. I guess she considers two hotel size soaps and a 19" tv an amenity. Coffee is not available until 8:00 a.m. So, if you are an early riser, you will need to find coffee elsewhere. On our last night of our stay, we were relaxing, and making the most of our room, when my Wife noticed a BAT crawling on the floor. We called Carole and her Husband, the resident Bat catcher to the rescue. In the process of getting a hold of the owners, my Wife had already trapped the Bat with a garbage can. We asked for a refund for one night so we could leave, and were very rudely refused. They moved us to a different room, but would not give any money back. In fact, Carole said that it would COST her MORE money as now she had Two rooms to clean. We should of been happy, as they gave us a Free upgrade. It is all about the MONEY and never SERVICE. We will NEVER go back!! There are many nice places to stay in Door County, keep looking! Not worth the location for what you pay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3leggeddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveltoexplore, Manager at Peninsula Park-View, responded to this review, 11 August 2010
These guests had enjoyed several of our amenities when they stayed with us: the free use of the bicycles, the large heated pool, refrigerator and microwave and more. We ask every guest on arrival to tell us if they need anything. We tell them if they have concerns to let us know immediately so we can take care of them right away. We try to help every guest have a good stay. They expressed no concerns until after they left, angry that we would not refund their money for a problem they had that we had no way to prevent. Bats are not a problem in the motel rooms here.
In twelve years of owning this lodging, we have kept it very clean and we have had no insect problems and never have had a pest problem. Their bat was the only one we have ever seen in a room in the motel units. Once we saw one on the outside of the motel and there was one on a tree by the cottages once this summer. (I remember when I was a child there was a bat in my classroom and I remember when there was one in our Church once). Because of the way the motel was constructed, bats cannot get in through cracks.
When I called people who deal with issues like this, they said it probably came in when those guests came in. They said that the guests may have held the door open while moving in and it may have flown in. They said there could be a bat in any lodging unit in Door County. They said we are fortunate to have bats in Door County, since they eat so many mosquitoes and are dying off in so many places. They told us that since there is no way for us to control this, we should not have refunded their money and did the right thing by offering them another room.
They stayed in another room, but left a nasty note with several allegations that we could not verify about must and mold and noise and not finding us on arrival. They had opted for our least expensive room, a room that is very reasonably priced for this area of Door County, but might have been happier in the Garden King Suite, I apologize if they felt we were rude. We would never intentionally have been rude. By the way, we did not charge them for their extra guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

This is a gem of a find. Friendly hosts, great amenities, and a convenient location for Peninsula Park access. The Garden King is very nice with cooking facilities and a wonderful bed. Free bike rentals are a real plus and made our stay quite reasonable. We would love to go back and do it all over again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zackinspok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

We reserved a two bedroom cottage, but got upgraded to the three bedroom because of a water heater failure. It was recently redone, and had nice new kitchen appliances. Kitchenware was supplied. The bedrooms were spacious, and there was lots of closet space. The rooms had individual heaters; the living room had a nice fireplace. The bathroom was good-sized, and there was lots of hot water. It was a generally quiet time in the area; we were one of the few guests. The manager was helpful and pleasant. The pool was fine, perfectly warm even early in the season, given a few sunny days to warm it up.
They had about 20 bikes available for use (free), they were of decent quality and in good repair. They were all upright style (no recumbents), and a couple were tandem. The state park could not have been more convenient--literally across the street.
There's not a lot immediately surrounding the hotel. It's pretty quiet, aside from an occasional sightseeing flight from a small airstrip nearby. It's located about 3 miles from Fish Creek, on Route 42 and County A.
The Peninsula Park View is fine for what it is: a nicely maintained collection of rooms and cottages in a quiet spot in Door County. It's a good base for exploring the area by car or bike. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t3chiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2010

We live in Milwaukee, but decided to visit Door County for a winter weekend getaway. We stayed in the Anniversary Suite of the Peninsula Park View Resort. It was wonderful- very cabin-y. The fireplace was great. It was close to Fish Creek, Sister Bay, the state park, and all the best wineries. The suite was quaint and romantic. We took advantage of the winter rates. Overall, we had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovingWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Creek
2.2 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.7 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
AppleCreek Resort- Hotel & Suites
4.6 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
3.1 mi away
Settlement Courtyard Inn & Lavender Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Park-View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Park-View

Property: Peninsula Park-View
Address: 3397 State Highway 42, Fish Creek, WI 54212-9453
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Fish Creek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Fish Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Peninsula Park-View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selected by the local business council in 2015 as best Fish Creek lodging.Exceptionally clean remodeled rooms,suites and cottages. A comfortable and homey atmosphere. Travel green certified with concerned staff,complimentary bicycles and WiFi. Arts and Parks Van tours, first reserved basis. Water exercise by certified lifeguard. A central location across from Peninsula State Park's middle entrance and near the championship golf course. This and more make Peninsula Park-View a one-of-a-kind place for groups or people who want many amenities in an choice location without village night noises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Peninsula Park-View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Fish Creek
Fish Creek Peninsula
Peninsula Park-View Fish Creek, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing