We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison Southwest
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fitchburg
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
Reviewed 5 December 2008

We live a ways out of town and hubby had some computer troubles to see to. This hotel is close to his company so we decided to walk in and see if they had any rooms available. It was pretty late at night and thankfully they did. Hubby got his work done and came back to the hotel for a couple hours of sleep.
We knew this to be only a couple years old, so figured it would be pretty nice. They didn't let us down. Everything was wonderful including the free breakfast the next morning.
Incidently, we got a jucuzzi room and loved it. I'd stay there again and we live locally.

  • Liked — Quiet rooms, quiet setting, comfy beds and bedding, CLEAN and modern.
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything I didn't like.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ripleyroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maddisson71, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison Southwest, responded to this review, 16 December 2008
The Country Inn & Suites Madison SW would like to thank you all for your positive reviews. We hope to see you the next time your travels bring you to the Madison area.

Happy Holidays!


The Country Inn & Suites Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    74
    36
    25
    23
See reviews for
104
34
10
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2008

We stayed at Country Inn & Suites one night over Labor Day weekend. This hotel is nicely decorated, very clean, comfortable, and the staff is helpful and friendly. The breakfast in the morning is more than adequate. Be sure to dine at Quivey's Grove, a restaurant which is a short walk from the hotel. The food and atmosphere is fantastic. We visit Madison from time to time, so now that we've stayed here, we will be returning on future visits.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, comfort, decor close proximity to dining and Madison
  • Disliked — Liked everything
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WINNIPEG
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2008

We loved this hotel. The rooms are very clean and very nice. It is a quick drive into downtown Madison and we liked the country feel that the location has. The pool area was amazing. There is a very nice pool area for younger kids, with a waterslide and a larger pool area for the older kids and adults. We stayed in quite a few hotels on our vacation and this one was our favourite. The staff were friendly and efficient and the breakfast was great. No complaints -- highly recommended.

  • Liked — Pool area, breakfast, beds
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tableau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2008

Stayed 3 nights at the Country Inn in Fitchburg and overall the Country Inn met my expectations. The room was comfortable, all things worked well including air conditioning, refrigerator, TV, wireless network, water pressure, etc.

Breakfasts were good but kind of boring. The waffle maker worked, the breakfast wrap and sausage were ok and the coffee was ok. Nothing to write home about but fully adequate.

There is a small, quaint restaurant next door called Quincy's Grove or something like that not associated with the hotel. The reuben I had there was crummy and I only went back again the next night because a co-worker had recommended the restaurant and I was too tired to go anywhere else. This time I ordered the nightly special which was beer-battered fish and was excellent. The accompanying cole slaw was average. There was a nice assortment of local beers and wines.

There are more places less than a mile away and a super-Target about a mile away. It is also convenient to get to the U of WI arboretum. I was there on business and it was easy to get into Madison and Verona.

The staff was helpful. Though I did not use it, the pool and exercise room seemed clean and accessible.

Since I am returning for more work in the Madison area, I will be staying there again. In other words, I recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Good value and close to business meeting
  • Disliked — Breakfasts were a bit boring.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PassOut76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2008

Beautiful, Clean, Well Appointed Hotel. We arrived in Madison at this hotel for two nights for my sister's wedding right next door at Quivey's Grove. Check in was prompt and friendly, the rooms were ready early and the staff was helpful. We stayed in a family suite. Our room had a spacious King bed with dining area and then the kids had their own separate room. We really liked having a door to separate our beds. I only wish as large as the dining/living area was that a pull out sofa sleeper was included. One of our kids had to sleep in the King with us because the second room had only two twin beds. There's a lot of space, but it really only accommodates four people (we had five).

Our children enjoyed the pool a great deal. Hot tub was large and comfortable. Free hot breakfast provided every morning was better than adequate. They offer a terrific selection with our three picky children.

Overall it was a pleasant stay and we are considering a return visit just to enjoy the hotel and pools.

  • Liked — Breakfast and the elegant (glass) six panel door separating our bed from the kids' room
  • Disliked — Large comfortable suite; however it only accommodates four people. Second room shoud have two queens or a pull out sofa in living area.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank spadesqueen74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2007

Had a great stay at this hotel. Our room was large and the beds were very comfortable. Me, hubby, and 4 kids got a great night sleep. The kids loved the pool. There was a slide and a play area as well.

Service was great. Staff was friendly and accomodating. Breakfast room was not crowded at all (weekday in September) and good.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank merbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, CA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2007

We stayed at the Country Inn & Suites in Fitchburg while attending a wedding nearby. The hotel sent a free shuttle to the airport to pick us up. Originally we were supposed to get picked up from the hotel by a friend to go to a pre-wedding party that evening, but our flight got in late, so our friend was already at the party and couldn't come back to pick us up. Amazingly, after dropping us off at the hotel, the hotel's shuttle driver agreed to wait 10 minutes while we changed out of our travel clothes, and then drove us to the party!

The hotel itself was nice too; they had a book exchange program which I took advantage of, and there was a fireplace in the lobby area which was comfy when hanging around waiting for friends. I'm not sure it was the cheapest place we could have stayed in Madison, but it was definitely clean, comfortable, and the staff couldn't have been nicer.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank elchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fitchburg
2.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Madison Fitchburg
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Madison-Verona
4.1 mi away
Super 8 Madison South
Super 8 Madison South
#13 of 63 in Madison
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West
8.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison
3.3 mi away
Best Western West Towne Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison Southwest

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison Southwest
Address: 6275 Nesbitt Rd, Fitchburg, WI 53719-1818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Fitchburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fitchburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison Southwest 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Madison Sw Hotel Fitchburg
Country Inn And Suites Madison Sw
Country Inn Fitchburg
Fitchburg Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing