We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Retlaw”
Review of Hotel Retlaw

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Retlaw
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Fond du Lac
Rolling Meadows, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great stay at the Retlaw”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I have to admit that I went to the Retlaw Hotel in April for the paranormal experience in room 717. The people were great there. There restaurant was fabulous. The food was great! The lady seating me and the waiter were very nice and also great at discussing paranormal phenomena at the hotel. I even got permission to investigate the banquet room. I did get a bright orb in there. The hotel room was very clean and felt very comfortable there. There was only one unexplained occurrence in that room. I couldn't find my key card on checkout time. Nothing on the desk, but when I looked around and then back on the desk, there was the key card! I couldn't have missed it the first time, as it was a blue color against the wood of the desk. Strange, indeed.
Stephen M.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank izzatyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    34
    25
    13
    8
See reviews for
24
15
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed here for the Taylor Park Pool Benefit. We got the discount price of $69.00. A real deal. The place was clean and the desk was helpful. The food is great. I have nothing but good to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PalicanMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menomonie, WI
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Free WIFI and Parking. Easy access to downtown. Rooms are basic. I did ask for a refrigerator in my room as I was here several days. Room very clean and neat. Staff pleasant. Check in easy. Restaurant has reasonable prices and excellent steak! Nice simple breakfast as well. Would stay here again. Did not use the pool etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank litetravel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The hotel was a choice because it was only a block away from the venue where we were going to see some friends and their group perform. The hotel is located directly downtown and it is an okay area, but has some college aged kids hitting the bars in the area, so is a little noisy on the weekends. But much to walk to in the area. The room was nice, though it did not have a wide screen tv, we did not care because we were not there to watch tv anyway. We were only there overnight and soo did not get to go to the pool and whirlpool area, but it looked pretty nice when I looked in from outside. The restaurant had a good dining room, and fare. The coffee is the GREATEST! The staff throughout, including the restaurant and the second "pub" were all very friendly, helpful, and gave great service. We only had two problems which were minor and could happen most anywhere. The key cards did not work when we went back to the room in the evening, and even after they re- swiped them, they did not work. The front desk came up to try them even and she informed us that either the batteries were going dead or it was just malfunctioning and that they could only get someone out on Monday. We left Sun. morn so it was no big deal. The heater/ac unit started making an odd noise in the middle of the night when my lady went to adjust it. A bit annoying but we fell asleep anyway. The hotel is a older hotel, and they have taken care of it. There are a few interesting features to the building itself. The room was clean, well supplied, and the beds were very cozy. They use only quality supplies and linens it seems. The same for the restaurant. Classy but not at the cost you would think. We would stay there again, and maybe next time enjoy the indoor pool and whirlpool! Oh, and the parking garage right next door has ample parking and sort of connects right to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blumaninwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Being right downtown we were close to several restaurants and bars. The hotel is pretty basic but clean and nice. Free parking in the ramp next door. Desk attendants friendly. Rooms are smallish but adequate.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danmel65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I had a positive experience at the Ramada Plaza. I was there for four days and the days went by fast, partly because I was busy with the work I came to do in Fond du Lac and and the hotel staff going out of their way to make my stay there pleasant. Finding a decent place to eat was a bit of a challenge. The hotel cafeteria was undergoing renovation while I was there and so did not get to use it. But about 12 blocks south of the hotel, there is a resturant called Sebastian. I got my dinner there and thought the food was fine.

Room Tip: Whatever you do, please stay away from the 7th floor. Some of the people I stayed with at the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uche E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Retlaw, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Thank you for staying with us. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our staff. I apologize that our restaurant was going through renovations during your stay. I am glad you were able to find another option. I hope that we will see you again and that you have the opportunity to experience our restaurant's great food. Thank you for your review.

Sincerely,
Carla Riutta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I had a very unpleasant stay in this hotel. First of all I was very uneasy once I found out about the haunted rumours. I must say however that nothing unusual happened. The hotel definitely has a creepy feel to it. When we walked into the lobby we were overwhelmed with a foul smell that smelled like sewage to me. It was very strong and watching other people enter the hotel, I could tell by their facial expressions that it wasn't just me. We stayed on the 5th floor and when we walked into our very spacious room we were once again overwhelmed by the very strong unpleasant odour of smoke combined with a heavy musty smell. When I mentioned it to the girl at the front desk she said that the 5th floor used to be the smoking floor and she gave me a bottle of Febreze to use. I sprayed the curtains, furniture and carpet. While it masked the smell a little bit, it really didn't make too much difference. When spraying the curtains, I couldn't help but notice the thick layer of dust on them. The beds were comfortable and the bedding, towels and bathroom were clean. The mustiness and smoke caused my son's asthma to flair up even though he hadn't needed to use a puffer in over 2 years. This hotel needs to be completely renovated and then I could see it being a nice place to stay. I was never so relieved to check out of a hotel in my life. Definitely won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Retlaw, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. Our goal is to make every guests stay the best it can be. I do wish that we could have accomodated you more during your stay, maybe even moved you into a different room that would have been better for your son. Also, we were having an issue that was causing an odor and I do apologize for this as well, but this issue has been addressed. We appreciate your comments, they help us keep improving. We hope that you try us again.

Sincerely,
Carla Riutta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fond du Lac hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fond du Lac hotels
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fond du Lac
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Fond du Lac
Days Inn Fond du Lac
#6 of 14 in Fond du Lac
271 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Fond du Lac
Hampton Inn Fond du Lac
#1 of 14 in Fond du Lac
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Fond Du Lac
Holiday Inn Fond Du Lac
#5 of 14 in Fond du Lac
148 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fond du Lac
1.3 mi away
Executive Lodge Fond du Lac
Executive Lodge Fond du Lac
#10 of 14 in Fond du Lac
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Retlaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Retlaw

Property: Hotel Retlaw
Address: 1 N Main St, Fond du Lac, WI 54935-3419 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Hotel)
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Fond du Lac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Fond du Lac
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Retlaw 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL RETLAW poised for luxury! Opening Fall 2017 Hotel Retlaw opened in 1923 during an era of incredible social, artistic, and cultural excitement. This remarkable hotel embraced the Roaring Twenties and all that happened during this unique time in history—the Neoclassical revival period peaked, and flappers redefined feminine style. Jazz music was all the rage and there was a sense of excitement in the air. Hotel Retlaw, a “Grande Dame” in its own right, embodied an unmistakable style of timeless elegance combined with modern edginess. Today, Hotel Retlaw is poised to retake its rightful place as one of Wisconsin’s elite hotels and a preferred destination for dignitaries, and celebrities. Original hallmarks still characterize this iconic treasure in central Wisconsin, and the hotel will undergo an unprecedented renovation beginning in the winter of 2017 that will preserve the historic significance and aesthetics of the iconic property, while infusing it with contemporary luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Retlaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing