We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right”
Review of Hotel Retlaw

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Retlaw
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Fond du Lac
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed at the Retlaw one night. Our clean, double, queen room had comfy beds, nice bathroom amenities and plenty of space. At my husband's request, the evening restaurant staff modified their meatball sandwich menu choice into a spaghetti and meatballs plate - very accommodating. Our breakfast omelet was great & was complimented with breads, cereals, fresh fruit, yogurt & beverages. The reasonable room-rate, booked through Priceline, included free parking and breakfast. The staff were friendly and helpful. We would book here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WIoutofhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed at the Retlaw for 3 nights over the weekend. The hotel was full. I was excited to get coffee in the lobby at the fabulous coffee bar that was advertised on the website. It was never open. When I inquired about that I was told that it was only staffed during the week, yet it wasn't open Monday morning either. The had a hot continental breakfast that was really nice with the exception of Saturday when the Chef got frustrated because his eggs were sticking to the pan and walked off the job. This hotel could be a gem with some improvements.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline3412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I stayed there one night for a wedding on the third floor. It was fine until I woke up around 2 am with something whispering in my ear and a heavy pressure on top of me. I was awake yet frozen and could not move or speak. The feeling must have lasted a minute but it felt like an eternity. I could not sleep for the rest of the night...spent the rest of the night listening to noises in the hall way. I checked out first thing in the early morning. Since then I will forever belief in the "paranormal".

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank apol1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights for a wedding. Here are the highs and lows of our stay:
Staff - This was the high point. Front desk staff are very helpful and friendly. Banquet staff did a great job serving quickly and efficiently. And they were friendly, too.
Ballroom - We thoroughly enjoyed the wedding reception in the ballroom. There's a nice outdoor patio so the wedding guests could spread out. We didn't see any ghosts.
Location - We enjoyed Saturday sidewalk sales and walking down to Lakeside Park (a little over a mile). There aren't a lot of shopping options downtown, which is unfortunate because you can tell this was once a thriving area. But we did like Cujak's Wine Market, Bagelmeister, Kremer Pharmacy where we bought locally produced chocolates, Trinity for cocktails and Schnikelfritz for beer (except when they ran out of Spotted Cow). However, if we hadn't been there for a wedding, I don't know if the location would've been favorable.
Room - The good part was getting a corner room. We never heard other guests. The bad part was that the room was worn. I didn't sit in the chair because the fabric on the arms looked grimy. I wanted to wear my shoes the whole time so my feet wouldn't touch the carpet. The bathroom was clean but outdated. You get 4 amenities: 1 bar of soap, 1 shampoo, 1 conditioner, 1 lotion. Another bar of soap would be helpful. At least towels were plentiful. Here was the odd part: The bed was made wrong! Bottom sheet, blanket, top sheet and bedspread. Ew! Why would the top sheet go over the blanket?? Maybe the ghost was acting up, visiting the 5th floor and rearranging the bedclothes. If the ghost was there, we never heard it because the air conditioner was loud. Very effective but loud.
It just wasn't a comfortable room. We did our best to be out the room as much as possible.


I'm sorry to say I

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedNailz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We booked through Priceline and were nervous after reading others haunted reviews. We somehow ended up in room 717. I was ok with that because I don't believe in that stuff... Or didn't. Felt my hair get pulled around 2:30am and heard strange noises all night so I didn't get much sleep. My husband drank enough beer at the wedding we attended to sleep soundly. Guess he had the right idea! I would have loved to explore other areas.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jbone7880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This is an old hotel that they have tried to renovate but it is a not worth considering for a stay. It is in a dying part of the downtown area. Parts of the hotel smell musty and we had to meander through the hallways like a maze just to get to our room. The room (especially the bathroom) was small and the management is poor. We parked in a ramp nearby where we had to park on the 4th level, then walk down to the street level to walk into the hotel, and then proceed to the elevators where we stayed on the 6th floor. You could hear plenty of voices and noise from the adjacent rooms. We stayed here as part of a wedding block but we would not consider staying here for ANY future stay in Fond du Lac, WI.

Room Tip: Stay on the edges of town where the newer hotels are located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

The hotel was fine - it is an older establishment with a slight musty odor, however, the staff spooked my kids regaling stories of the haunted hotel and how there were different rooms on the 7th floor that were the rooms of ghosts like a ballerina and a ghost names Walter. Thankfully, we were in the 6th floor, but it didn't give my kiddos exactly a great night sleep as they kept waking up wondering if they'd heard a ghost.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dkproductions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fond du Lac hotels
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fond du Lac
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Fond du Lac
Hampton Inn Fond du Lac
#1 of 14 in Fond du Lac
147 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Fond Du Lac
Holiday Inn Fond Du Lac
#5 of 14 in Fond du Lac
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Fond Du Lac
Comfort Inn Fond Du Lac
#7 of 14 in Fond du Lac
97 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fond du Lac
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Fond du Lac
Days Inn Fond du Lac
#6 of 14 in Fond du Lac
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Retlaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Retlaw

Address: 1 N Main St, Fond du Lac, WI 54935-3419 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Hotel)
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Fond du Lac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Fond du Lac
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Retlaw 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL RETLAW poised for luxury! Opening Fall 2017 Hotel Retlaw opened in 1923 during an era of incredible social, artistic, and cultural excitement. This remarkable hotel embraced the Roaring Twenties and all that happened during this unique time in history—the Neoclassical revival period peaked, and flappers redefined feminine style. Jazz music was all the rage and there was a sense of excitement in the air. Hotel Retlaw, a “Grande Dame” in its own right, embodied an unmistakable style of timeless elegance combined with modern edginess. Today, Hotel Retlaw is poised to retake its rightful place as one of Wisconsin’s elite hotels and a preferred destination for dignitaries, and celebrities. Original hallmarks still characterize this iconic treasure in central Wisconsin, and the hotel will undergo an unprecedented renovation beginning in the winter of 2017 that will preserve the historic significance and aesthetics of the iconic property, while infusing it with contemporary luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Retlaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing