We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We definitely enjoyed it. We will return on a weekend when it is less congrested.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fontana
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We definitely enjoyed it. We will return on a weekend when it is less congrested.”
Reviewed 23 June 2011

The arcade and pool areas for the kids were great. I had the resort view this time. The harbor view is better. Outside pool service was good.

Room Tip: The harbor view rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pbr52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnatTheAbbey, Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2011
Dear Guest,

It is our pleasure to have had the opportunity to host you here at the Abbey Resort and Spa. We appreciate the feedback that you have provided.

We receive many compliments on the wide variety of activities that are available to families when they stay here. Creating a memorable experience for children is something that we really focus on. We hope that you will be able to visit us again in the near future.

Sincerely yours,
John Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    339
    152
    61
    51
See reviews for
305
402
17
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Stayed for the first time and was very impressed . They had a major make over a few years ago and it is up to par with any resort around . Great location the rooms and staff were great on site restaurant was very nice as well. We rented a boat on site and had a great time. Much better than the Grand Geneva. Highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Idontstayhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnatTheAbbey, Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this review, 22 June 2011
Dear Guest,

I want to express my appreciation to you for providing important feedback on your recent stay at The Abbey Resort and Spa. We are deeply humbled by your kind words of praise.

I will make sure to pass on your compliments to our wonderful associates who are responsible for providing the outstanding service that you received. I hope that you are able to visit us again very soon.

Sincerely yours,
John Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We love this place! Great for families,girlfriend trip,or couples getaway. Lots of things to do. Good food, great views and just a fun place to relax!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mkbrcks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnatTheAbbey, Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this review, 22 June 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on you recent vacation at The Abbey Resort and Spa. It is our pleasure to have been your host.

On behalf of our talented team of associates we would like to cordially invite you back. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your trip so much. We have a wide variety of guests ranging from families to the seasoned business traveller to a couple looking for a romantic getaway. We delight in serving each and every one of them.

Sincerely yours,
John Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2011

this was our second stay at the abbey in the last six months and we are planning to return this fall. slightly off season when we went and we enjoyed that aspect . staff was very friendly and very accomodating, grounds were well kept , room was clean and serviced promptly ,a safe, an iron, a small refrigerator and microwave, a hair dryer are all provided in the room. towels were large and plentiful. if you want to rest and relax the abbey is a nice place to do it. we had a harbor view room and spent quite a bit of time sitting outside our room just enjoying the view.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rwf713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnatTheAbbey, Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this review, 12 June 2011
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at The Abbey Resort and Spa. We are delighted that you experienced such a wonderful vacation.

It is deeply humbling when we read such complimentary reviews from guests who return time and time again to visit with us. We take the trust that you place in us very seriously and we are constantly looking for ways to improve upon the guest experience.

We hope that you will be able to return again in the near future.

Sincerely yours,
John Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Plaines, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Overall, we enojoyed our 2 nights of golf package. The room was very comfortable and clean. Front desk staff, Molly was very friendly. Golf course was good and staff was generous. First night we went downstairs to Water Front Grill restaurant. The place was empty but our food was delicious. Second night, we went to Fontana Grill located on main floor. As we entered the restaurant, we were greeted and seated right away. Then our server (Amy) came over to take our order. We first ordered a bottle of Cabernet Sauvignon Errazuriz '09. Amy came back with bottle dated '10. When we questioned the year, she said menu states '10. We told her it was '09. She went to go check and came back saying that's all they have and asked if wanted to choose a different wine. If that was the case, then they should not put that on the menu, right? Then we ordered the appetizer Filet mignon and chicken skew. It was very salty. Then our ceasar salad came. Amy didn't even ask whether we wanted the dressing on the side. They didn't even have one of the main course we wanted to order. So we ordered chicken breast and new york strip steak. They were all too salty for our taste. But here's the biggest point of this review. During our meal we had multiple fruit flies flying over our table! At first, we thought they would fly away. But they kept flying over our food and wine. Finally, we called Amy over and she started waving her hands over our table to get rid of the flies. She even snapped one on our wine glass. Then she said she doesn't know what else she can do and asked if we wanted a different table. By then we lost our appetite and asked for our check. No one came to apologize for unkempt condition. As we were leaving, the hostess was too busy talking on the phone to thank us. We would go back to the resort again, but definately will dine elsewhere.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank golflover7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnatTheAbbey, Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of The Abbey Resort and Spa on Trip Advisor. We thoroughly read every review and we meet internally to discuss ways of improvement in our daily operations based on the candid feedback we receive from our valued guests.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the ambiance of our beautiful resort. We receive many compliments on how immaculately clean our rooms are and the friendliness of our staff. Now that we are in season our guests rave about the golfing options that are available.

I am sorry that you did not have a pleasant experience at the Fontana Grill. The wine list has been corrected to assure that it matches precisely with the vintage being presented. Our Chef has made adjustments to his use of sea salt which we believe will be well received. While we have not had any reocurrance of fruit flies we will remain vigilant in both our observations and preventative methods. Please contact me directly at Morris@theabbeyresort.com as I would like to discuss with you a future stay here.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely yours,
John Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeport, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

I had a great time. It was beautiful; the food was amazing; the bed were heavenly.
The only drawback was that my husband was in a wheelchair and the resort is not handicap friendly. It has elevators; however, you cannot reach the conference rooms from the elevators without going through a restaurant. The restaurant hostess stops you from going through the restaurant even though the front desk says its ok.
It was just extremely difficult to get around if you had any mobility issues.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeredithBarthel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnatTheAbbey, Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this review, 28 May 2011
Dear Guest,

I want to express my appreciation to you for posting a review of your recent stay at the Abbey Resort and Spa. It gives us great pleasure to hear how much fun you experienced and that you were impressed by our wonderful culinary offerings.

It is very important for us to receive candid feedback from our guests. I apologize that you found it difficult to maneuver around our property and I thank you for bringing this to our attention. We have had an internal meeting and we have corrected the the traffic pattern issue you brought to our attention. I hope that you will be able to visit us again in the very near future.

Sincerely yours,
John Morris
Abbey Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itasca, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We went there on a groupon and had such a great time we decided to stay another night. The front desk manager made that possible and gave us a great room at a great price. Location is awesome.

Room Tip: Harbor view or poolside are both great rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golf85beak90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnatTheAbbey, Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this review, 28 May 2011
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at The Abbey Resort and Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your vacation with us so much.

I agree with you that it is our talented team of associates that makes us shine. I will pass on your praise and we hope that you will be able to visit us in the near future.

Sincerely yours,
John Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontana
4.2 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#2 of 15 in Lake Geneva
326 reviews
7.1 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
548 reviews
7.8 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Lake Lawn Resort
Lake Lawn Resort
#1 of 7 in Delavan
982 reviews
7.9 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#8 of 15 in Lake Geneva
697 reviews
9.5 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa

Property: The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa
Address: 269 Fontana Blvd, Fontana, WI 53125-9604
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Fontana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fontana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the lake at one of the Midwest's most iconic destinations. Whether you are vacationing on a girlfriends' getaway, business retreat, romantic escape or fun filled family vacation, The Abbey Resort brings you the best of the Lake Geneva experience. The Abbey Resort, on the shores of beautiful Lake Geneva, features 90 acres of manicured grounds. This Lake Geneva resort features lodge inspired accommodations with contemporary conveniences and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Resort And Spa
Abbey Hotel Fontana
Abbey Hotel And Fontana
Abbey Resort And Fontana
Abbey Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing