We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fontana
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My brother had his wedding there recently. The resort is gorgeous. The restaurants are awesome, and the spa is amazing. I will definitely return for a longer stay.
The resort has tons of amenities, such as outdoor/indoor pool, a harbor, and even a Starbucks. It's also close enough to the town of Lake Geneva, WI to make it quick to get to, but not too close to all the crowds and traffic on 50.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auntmarylynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Auntmarylnee,

Thank you for your review of The Abbey Resort and Avani Spa. I am delighted to hear that you had such an amazing stay and are looking forward to a future stay. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    336
    149
    60
    49
See reviews for
297
396
17
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

I just recently stayed with my wife on a romantic get-away and were hungry when we arrived. The front desk told us about the new 240 west restaurant that had just opened that weekend, so we decided to go there. It was remodeled very nice and looked appealing. The hostess( I believe her name started with an A) was extremely nice and very polite. Our server Julia was awesome as well. The food was delicious, but the older gentleman with glasses-(I believe he is the manager) kept staring at my wife and I and made us feel very uncomfortable and he did not seem to know what on earth he was doing. It seemed like it was his first day on the job. Unfortunately, for that reason we probably will not be dining there again. Other than that we had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rich s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Rich S,

Thank you for your review and your kind comments about the resort and your server, Julia. I do apologize for that your wife was made to fee uncomfortable during diner. In speaking with the restaurant team, I believe that they were being over attentive at the food delivery and presentation as we had just opened the new restaurant and they wanted to ensure everything was coming out the kitchen with the best presentation and that guest’s were enjoying the food. Again, we apologize if this over-attentiveness came across the wrong way. We do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you again. If you wish to discuss your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Thank you and kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthews, North Carolina
Level Contributor
250 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Abbey is a hop, skip, and almost a jump to Lake Geneva and it's a lovely resort, spread out with MANY amenities. We were there for Mothers Day weekend and it was a great time to go - the temps this winter and late snows made things a little behind normal, but still a lovely property.

Things that might help to know:
1. We got in early and they allowed us to check in - very friendly at the desk
2. The parking lot is a bit small, so if it's busy you might have to walk a little distance with your luggage depending on where your room is located.
3. You actually CAN walk the distance inside the buildings, but this weekend we did not need to,.
4. Short drive to the shops in L.G., but this is still a great location to get away.
5. Beds were comfy (Mattresses in good shape) and rooms were spacious.
6. Walls thick enough - quiet - very quiet in fact.
7.Patio area very nice - ask for a room facing he pools unless you can get one on the water - lovely!!!
8. The Mothers Day brunch was amazing!!! Even the (included) Mimosas!
9. Short distance to a SUPER yummy and nice restaurant called Pier 290 (AWESOME)!
10. Plan to explore the property - there is a lot to see - and enjoy
11. They have an indoor pool AND two outdoor pools and I guess during swim season they have lots of activities for the kids.
12. Very reasonable prices for the quality of the rooms

Our only issue was a broken toilet that someone came to fix, but it continued to be a problem the whole time - but, in their defense - we never called them again, but I did report it upon check out.

PLEASE let me know if this has been helpful! (thank you!)

Room Tip: Some rooms have private balconies, some are shared, but the shared ones are really not bad (I was su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlanFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear FlanFlan,

Thank you for your five-star review of The Abbey Resort and Avani Spa. It sounds like you had the perfect Mother’s Day weekend and we appreciate you sharing tips for future guests. Thank you also for your kind comments about our amenities, staff and rooms. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontana, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

On the west side of Lake Geneva, the Abbey is in a perfect location. Right on the harbor, nearby golf, and restaurants. The newly done spa is just wonderful. The massage therapists are top notch, and the facilities are the best in the area.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with your room selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Bob B.,

Thank you for your five-star review of The Abbey Resort and Avani Spa. I am delighted to hear that you had such a fantastic time and appreciate you noticing our recent updates to the spa. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookfield, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I met my college room-mate at the Abbey for a three day stay. When I told her I was going to book a spa treatment, she said she wasn't a 'spa'person. Well, after our massages the first night, she wanted to go to Avani the next two days, too. It was so relaxing and the staff was excellent. It rained the whole three days, which limited hiking a bit, but our guest room and Abbey were so comfortable that we were perfectly content. The beds were incredibly comfortable. Also, the cleaning staff found a pair of glasses under the bed after I checked out, and called me immediately to let me know.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AccordionGirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
AccordionGirl2014,

Thank you for your five-star review of The Abbey Resort. We appreciate your kind comments about the resort, spa and our staff. I am delighted to read that even with bad weather you still had a great weekend enjoy the resort and amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My husband and I escaped to do some planning for our business. Our room was very nice - newly renovated bathroom, view of the harbor, pretty clean..... Our first night we ordered room service which was excellent. Food was good and arrived pretty quickly.
We had seen many ads for the Prime Rib Buffet within the resort. We made a reservation and arrived 15 minutes early. The hostess checked us in and said she would seat us momentarily. We happily waited and chatted with the couple who arrived before us. She came back and went to seat us and a man who had come to the hostess stand stopped her. He told her she had to wait ten more minutes to seat us. The restaurant was more than half empty and it was a buffet. He made her feel stupid and made us feel like we had done something wrong arriving a few minutes prior to our reservation time. Put an awkward spin on what could have been a really nice weekend. Were we to just stand there and stare at him for 10 minutes?! We decided we should probably leave.
We decided to try someplace else to eat. The concierge suggested Gordy's a short walk away. It was a nice family restaurant and the food was good, but we had really looked forward to a nice evening on site.
Unfortunately, if people with frontline communication with customers make a point of making clients at the resort feel stupid, and are okay treating them so strangely, I don't think that their restaurants are going to do very well long term. My husband actually felt like leaving early and heading home. I talked him into staying, although our mood and feeling about the weekend had been diminished.
In short, if you go to The Abbey, order from room service or go off site for meals!

Room Tip: Harbor view was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newtmena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Newtmena,

Thank you for your review. I would like to extend my apologies for your experience in the restaurant. We strive to provide outstanding guest service throughout the property and by no means do we ever want a guest to feel awkward. Please know that our management team has reviewed your comments and we have addressed this matter with the restaurant team. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed many parts of your stay and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again and exceed your expectations throughout your entire stay.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenfield,
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The king waterfront view room was all that was advertised.
My massage treatments at the spa were fit for a queen.
The new facilities and treatment rooms are outstanding.
Try the hot stone and silk treatments.
What an experience!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Mary H,

Thank you for your five-star review of The Abbey Resort. We delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontana
4.2 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
275 reviews
7.1 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#2 of 15 in Lake Geneva
524 reviews
5.5 mi away
Lake Lawn Resort
Lake Lawn Resort
#1 of 7 in Delavan
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
372 reviews
7.9 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#9 of 15 in Lake Geneva
604 reviews
8.0 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#5 of 15 in Lake Geneva
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa

Property: The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa
Address: 269 Fontana Blvd, Fontana, WI 53125-9604
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Fontana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fontana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the lake at one of the Midwest's most iconic destinations. Whether you are vacationing on a girlfriends' getaway, business retreat, romantic escape or fun filled family vacation, The Abbey Resort brings you the best of the Lake Geneva experience. The Abbey Resort, on the shores of beautiful Lake Geneva, features 90 acres of manicured grounds. This Lake Geneva resort features lodge inspired accommodations with contemporary conveniences and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Resort And Spa
Abbey Hotel Fontana
Abbey Hotel And Fontana
Abbey Resort And Fontana
Abbey Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing