We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing - Will go back!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbey Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abbey Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fontana
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Relaxing - Will go back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Used a Groupon deal to spend an overnight here with my best friend. At check-in we were greeted by MULTIPLE men in suits! We felt underdressed but they were very friendly and helpful. The resort is extremely large - easy to get turned around. Rooms were small but comfortable. Ours had a refrigerator (which I couldn't find on the website) which was very convenient. Rooms and bathroom were clean though the bathroom door squeaked badly! My only real complain was the walls were super thin. I don't think the people next to us were being that loud but I could clearly hear their conversation. Hope to go back in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LTS220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
LTS220,

Thank you for your review of The Abbey Resort and Avani Spa. I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again. As you will be returning in the future, I might encourage you to follow us on Facebook to stay appraised of the our upcoming events and promotions.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    322
    145
    59
    47
See reviews for
291
391
17
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We travelled to the area for a 50th Wedding Anniversary celebration in nearby Lake Geneva. Thought I thought the room rate was expensive, but the room, property and amenities somewhat made up for the expense. The weather cooperated - a beautiful weekend! We had a King, Harborview room. The view was great, the room very clean and comfortable. We had everything we needed for a short stay. There was a small refrigerator and a microwave as well as a 2 cup coffee maker, the Kcup kind. I have heard the resort is under new management. The staff was incredible. Everyone we met asked us if we needed anything, if they could direct us anywhere, and how our stay was and if they could anything for us. At one point, we were looking for a specific lounge, apparently the name of the lounge had changed, and we bumped in to 3 staff memebers who actually escorted us to the lounge. There were 3 weddings booked there on Saturday and even though there were 3 big receptions on property, I thought the property remained fairly quiet. We even had a room of 2 young couples next door and didn't hear them at all. I would definitely stay at this property again. Thanks for the hospitality!

Room Tip: We chose a Harborview room. The balconies are shared - not private. It didn't bother us as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Susan B,

Thank you for your five star review of The Abbey Resort and Avani Spa. I am delighted to hear that our property was the perfect place while in town for your family celebration. I also appreciation your kind comments about our staff. We hope that when you return to the area that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Kind regards
Sara Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

First time at this resort and the property is beautiful. Only one issue initially with our room. When we entered the room we immediately noticed plaster from the ceiling on the bed and floor. There was water damage on the ceiling. We were told to come back to the front desk and were given the key to a new room. Minor inconvenience and the view was not as good but overall not a huge deal.

The resort itself/water location is really beautiful. There was a great band that night at the restaurant on site. Very romantic weekend spot.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Sarah A,

Thank you for your review of The Abbey Resort and Avani Spa. I am delighted to hear that you found our resort and property to be beautiful. I do apologize for the issue you experience with your first room, but I was happy to hear that our staff resoled the matter to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

They have much to do hear for a weekend or week night get away, 3 dining options a great lounge with a awesome piano/horn player and singer samores on a fire outside pool fitness area and staff was very helpful Nice place

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagocondos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Chicagocondos,

Thank you for your review. I loved reading that you found our resort to offer so many options and activities. Thank you also for your kind comments about our staff. We look forward to your future return and invite you to follow us on Facebook to stay apprised of our latest promotions and events.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Checking in was a breeze, the front desk was efficient and friendly. The room was clean and modern. The spa was great and the pool at the spa was wonderful, no kids or partiers. There was another pool for families and it was hopping all weekend. They seemed to offer the perfect mix of relaxation and fun for all.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Becky A,

Thank you for your five-star review of The Abbey Resort and Avani Spa. I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time, and appreciate your comments about the friendliness and efficiency of our front desk team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

The resort was recently remodeled. The changes have given the resort a fresh update. Check-in was speedy. The front desk clerk explained the resort layout and the dining options. The resort is spread out. I suggest you take the resort map. The room was comfortable. The room had a microwave, mini-refrigerator, and 2-cup coffee/tea maker and a safe (fits a large laptop computer.) There were two robes in the closet.

If you are considering visiting this resort, you may want to visit the resorts website and sign-up for the e-mail specials. I was able to book my room at a discount with the e-mail savings.

The resort has an adult’s only spa that has a fitness center. There is also an indoor and an outdoor pool for families with children. I enjoyed my stay and would stay at this resort again if I was in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms in building 7 are near the spa. Request a view of the spa for a quiet room. Some of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TraveltheGlobe09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear TraveltheGlobe09,

Thank you for your review of The Abbey Resort. We appreciate you noticing our recent renovations. Your suggestion to visit our website and sign-up for email specials is a great traveler tip, thank you for sharing. We are delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Came here a few years ago and had an amazing experience. How things have changed, much for the worse.

First, the hotel room provided at checkin had a pungent smoke smell. After requesting a room change- the only thing they could accommodate us with was a room facing other rooms/parking lot- even though a pool side room was booked.

Later on that evening, lots of kids running in the hallway screaming, yelling, and knocking on random doors. After repeated disturbances, i had to go to their parents room to ask them to keep them out is the hallways. I guess this is not the hotels fault, but still an inconvenience.

Next morning, we go for breakfast and it takes them 15 min to seat us even though there were dozens of tables open.

Finally, we decide to book a coupes massage and the earliest they can do is 11. So we expected, we could politely ask for an hour later checkout. No dice. Spending over $500 for one night/spa stay- you think they would have made a minor exception.

Overall - great property, beautiful scenery, but such poor customer service means there won't be another visit here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank darrick12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Darrick12,

Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to hear that you stay was not everything you had hoped. I apologize that there was an issue with your first room. As the front desk explained we were sold for the weekend and unfortunately, we were not able to accommodate your late checkout request as it would have delayed the check-in for the next guest. Whenever possible we do try to accommodate our guest’s requests, as we do want you to have time to enjoy all the resort has to offer. Again our apologies, we do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again so that we may exceed your expectations.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontana
4.2 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#5 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
7.1 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
8.0 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#4 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Lake Lawn Resort
Lake Lawn Resort
#1 of 7 in Delavan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
4.8 mi away
Inns Of Geneva National
Inns Of Geneva National
#12 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
7.9 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#10 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Resort & Spa

Property: Abbey Resort & Spa
Address: 269 Fontana Blvd., Fontana, WI 53125
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Fontana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fontana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abbey Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the lake at one of the Midwest's most iconic destinations. Whether you are vacationing on a girlfriends' getaway, business retreat, romantic escape or fun filled family vacation, The Abbey Resort brings you the best of the Lake Geneva experience. The Abbey Resort, on the shores of beautiful Lake Geneva, features 90 acres of manicured grounds. This Lake Geneva resort features lodge inspired accommodations with contemporary conveniences and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Kognitiv US Corp and Ebookers so you can book your Abbey Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Resort And Spa
Abbey Hotel Fontana
Abbey Hotel And Fontana
Abbey Resort And Fontana
Abbey Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing