We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Looking for a break from the heat with pampering - give this a try...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbey Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Abbey Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fontana
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
254 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Looking for a break from the heat with pampering - give this a try...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at the resort after the 4th if July, significantly fewer people. The grounds are beautiful, staff friendly, separate activities for the children and adults - if you desire. We were on an adults only trip and found the ability to walk the lake, watch the boats, and drive to the nearby communities relaxing. For a few hours of shopping or dining must try the community of Lake Geneva, really has something for most taste. The breeze off the lake was wonderful. Watch the families swim and laying on the beach reminded us of younger days. The only downside of the trip was breakfast. The coffee was very weak, not very warm, food items would have benefitted from some seasoning - at least salt and pepper or fresh herbs. After that meal we ventured out to surrounding communities for our meals. Otherwise, peaceful/relaxing visit.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Patricia W.,
Thank you for your review of The Abbey and the Lake Geneva area. Your stay sounds like the ideal lake escape – lake walks, watching the boats and families swimming and then shopping and dining in downtown. I do apologize that your food service was not as expected. We look forward to your return stay.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    309
    144
    57
    46
See reviews for
283
381
16
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Commerce Township, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back. The staff was very friendly, the room was clean, the grounds beautiful (adult pool yay!). Would definitely recommend this place. Lake Geneva is beautiful!

Room Tip: We had pool side view. The grounds are well maintained so the view was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Barb G,

Thank you for your five-star review. I appreciate your comments about the cleanliness of the room and the beauty of our grounds. We also appreciate you recommending our property to others. We look forward to your return visit.
Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed on the harbor side. The view was wonderful! Booked a few services in the Spa and spent the day inside. The room was fresh and clean. The staff was wonderful as well. I definitely would go back!

Room Tip: The view on the harbor is terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dawn P.,

Thank you for your five-star review. I delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time with us and were able to enjoy the Avani Spa. As you will be returning, might I suggest that you sign up for our email specials to keep you informed our current promotions? You can find a link to the sign up form on our website.

We look forward to your return stay.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Beautiful room, clean and well kept pools and excellent restaurant made our very first stay at the Abbey Resort amazing. I booked through the groupon, we were 2nd floor pool view and it was amazing - room was adorable and bathroom was stunning. My girls used both the indoor and outdoor pool and loved them equally. The Waterfront had excellent food and the staff was wonderful! I vacation a great deal and this was one of the best hotels I have stayed at in a long time!

Room Tip: If you get a 1st floor pool facing room, it would be easy to get to the outdoor pool, I think I migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristinaC11075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
ChristinaC11075,

Thank you for five-star review of The Abbey Resort! I appreciate you kind comments about our staff, properties and amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Spent 2 nights at resort and the spa has no openings! What a waste of money. We drove in from Indiana based on website lies! Should be called Abbey Resort and (Maybe) Avani Spa! WE WILL NEVER RETURN!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DINOmite3466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
DINOmite3466,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you stay with us was not at you had hoped. Our Avani Spa does a large volume of business, which is why we state on our website that to ensure availability, we strongly recommend making spa appointments prior to arrival by calling reservations department. Again our apologies that you were not able to enjoy the spa during your stay.

Regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

If you don't own a Lake Geneva lakefront home, then The Abbey Resort is where you want to be! The property is located on the Lake Geneva harbor inlet. You are walking distance to the lake and boats. If you have a boat, you can dock it here. The rooms have been newly renovated the last couple of years, and are beautiful. The beds are extremely comfortable and the rooms are quiet. There is dining and bar/nightlife on site and even a cafe for Starbucks coffee/lattes. Outside, there is a fun pool for kids and a separate pool for adults only with bar/lunch service poolside. There is an indoor pool as well as a very nice spa. You need not even leave the property for anything, but you'll want to see the beautiful spring fed lake. It's a quick 3 minute walk to Gordy's & Chuck's, staples on the lake that you won't want to miss. Beautiful setting for a quick getaway from the busy Chicago lifestyle. You'll feel like you're very far away.

Room Tip: Families will love the poolside suites. Otherwise, second floor rooms have wonderful vaulted ceiling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Kim L,

Thank you for your 5-star review. Your review was the perfect summary of The Abbey experience we offer and the ultimate Lake Geneva getaway. I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay and we look forward to your future return.

Regards,
Sara Schmtiz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake in the Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I think this review is long over due. I went to the spa a couple years ago. We always take my mom here for Mother's Day. I had a bad experience here and talked to a manager , he suggested to come back and they would make it right. We came back and..,it was lovely. Just the way I always loved it. Peaceful, stress free and relaxing. We had the private suite in the spa. It's nice, their is a private hot tub and had lunch delivered to us. The food is amazing, the staff is nice and accommodating and the services are great. Our waiter is the sweetest person ever. He cared so much about giving us great customer service. It was really refreshing to see a young man be so involved and caring. He is the kind of person that makes the world great.
Over all I do recommend going here. Their spa is amazing, a must see. We will be coming back and excited as I look forward to it.

Room Tip: I would say get a room that overlooks the pool, not the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heathercats123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Heathercats123,

Thank you for your 5-Star review of The Abbey Resort and Avani Spa. I am very pleased that that we exceeded your expectations on you return stay. I appreciate you sharing your kind comments about the friendliness of our staff and our beautiful spa facilities. We look forward to your next stay.

Regards,
Sara Schmtiz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontana
4.2 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#6 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
5.4 mi away
Lake Lawn Resort
Lake Lawn Resort
#1 of 7 in Delavan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
7.1 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Inns Of Geneva National
Inns Of Geneva National
#12 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
9.5 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
7.9 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Resort & Spa

Property: Abbey Resort & Spa
Address: 269 Fontana Blvd, Fontana, WI 53125-9604
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Fontana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fontana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abbey Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the lake at one of the Midwest's most iconic destinations. Whether you are vacationing on a girlfriends' getaway, business retreat, romantic escape or fun filled family vacation, The Abbey Resort brings you the best of the Lake Geneva experience. The Abbey Resort, on the shores of beautiful Lake Geneva, features 90 acres of manicured grounds. This Lake Geneva resort features lodge inspired accommodations with contemporary conveniences and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Abbey Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Resort And Spa
Abbey Hotel Fontana
Abbey Hotel And Fontana
Abbey Resort And Fontana
Abbey Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing