We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Meal ... Great Performance”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Fireside Theatre

Fireside Theatre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Fireside Dinner Theatre is one of the Midwest's most popular entertainment destinations and the only Actor's Equity dinner theatre in Wisconsin. The Klopcic family is proud to celebrate 50 years of hospitality in charming, historic Fort Atkinson. The Fireside Dinner Theatre, a favorite destination for couples, families and tour groups alike offers a variety of things to do. Browse the unique gift shops, enjoy award-winning cuisine, and top off the evening with one of the best professional theatre experiences Wisconsin has to offer.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor Meal ... Great Performance”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We attended the Fireside Dinner Theatre on 06/07/2014 for the Fiddler on the Roof performance. I happen to find information about Fireside as I was looking for a special place to take my family while visiting the Milwaukee area. We come to the area once a year.

We arrived early as suggested to pick up our tickets which we purchased for $68.95 each. I thought it was interesting that we were charged an additional “Facility Charge” of $6.00 per ticket to watch an event at the facility that is owned by the theatre. It seemed a little strange to charge an extra fee to see something that you purchased a ticket for anyway.

The dinner was a HUGE disappointment. The atmosphere and appearance of the dining area was very outdated. The appetizer and salad were the best parts of the meal. The meal served was “Beef and Bird.” We watched as our tray with the main course was delivered to an area of the room. Three servers looked at the ticket, looked at us and moved on. After about 15 minutes our server delivered the meals to our table. The beef was so undercooked that none of us could eat it. The chicken had no absolutely no flavor; it looked and tasted as if they had just taken the onions out of the French Onion Soup and placed over it. We did not see our server very often and had to ask others to refill our drinks. It was very disappointing to know that we spent as much as we did for the poor service and sub-par meal. On top of all that, it is then explained that the meal and price of the tickets does not include a gratuity … so one is suggested for you. It’s difficult to willing give a gratuity when the food and service were so sub-par. Based on our experience with the food and service, we would never return to Fireside for a meal. We actually stopped for some fast food on our way back to the motel after the show.

As bad as our experience was with the meal … it was the exact opposite with the presentation of Fiddler on the Roof. The cast and crew were outstanding in their performance and it was very enjoyable. The performance was believable and each cast members played their part very well. They are very talented and left a favorable impression on us regarding the actual theatre portion. The room was not filled, so we moved further back to some empty seats and it was much more comfortable. Again, the theatre portion was great and was the highlight of the evening. It left us with much to talk about on our hour drive back to the motel.

On a side note, we thought it was almost humorous and a bit of a paradox that the owner of the theatre shared the story of his family and faith. He shared the future line up of performances and talked about the spiritual nature of the upcoming musical David. He then proceeded to announce that there would be no meal for those performances because of remodeling the kitchen, but that the bar would be open. We found it a bit humorous to espouse the spiritual virtues of the show, but make sure people know the bar is going to be open. None of that took away from the performance … just seemed like a paradox to us.

If we could eat somewhere else and come to the theatre, we would gladly come again. As much as we enjoyed the performance, we would never spend the amount of money we did for our family simply because of the poor quality of the meal and service. We would have gladly taken a reimbursement for the meal portion of the ticket if it had been offered.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillyGilson, Manager at Fireside Theatre, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are excited to read that you enjoyed the performance of Fiddler on the Roof! We are saddened to hear about your dining experience and apologize for disappointing you. We would love to speak with you about it. Please give us a call at your convenience and ask for a Manager. We can be reached at 800.477.9505 or information@firesidetheatre.com Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    52
    9
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Awesome ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Watch Out Broadway, Fireside can give you a run for your money. 5yrs ago we started out as only seeing 1 or 2 shows we become Premier Season Ticket holding. From the Food, Owners, Employees, Performers to the Property it's all worth the trip. And the prices are very reasonable for all you get. I treasure of a find. A must try & you will be going back, I guarantee it!

Helpful?
Thank Toni K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great show horrible food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

This was our first time at the fireside and probably our last. Although the show was EXCELLENT the food was comparable to a cafeteria. Being labeled as fine dining is a very far stretch. I make better quality food at home. The shops are very cute and they give you about 3 hours to eat so there's time to shop. I didn't realize the shows are long and also the dinner so plan on spending 6 hours start to finish. We would love to return but since we wouldn't want to eat we can't justify spending $70 per person to see the show. Hopefully they fix the food issue or allow for purchase of just show tickets.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank whiteaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillyGilson, Manager at Fireside Theatre, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback and telling us about your experience. We would love to speak with you about your dining experience and if you could, please e-mail us at information@firesidetheatre.com so that we may follow up with you and make this right. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC PREFORMANCE OF FIDDLER ON THE ROOF”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We went to see the Fireside production of FIDDLER ON THE ROOF and it's fantastic. We usually go on Thursday night as they have a delicious buffet with some very healthy selections. I've been on Weight Watchers for two years and I'm right at the point of being down one hundred pounds. I like to pick and choose the serving size and food based on my points left for the day. They had chef carved turkey and tenderloin with a honey glazed salmon on the buffet and all were great. They had quite a few other entrees on the buffet and my Wife said the deep fried fish was good as was the chicken. It's an hour drive from our home in New Berlin but well worth the trip. We'll be back for Smokey Joe's Café, Les Miserables and A Fireside Christmas this season. However It'll be hard to beat this performance of Fiddler. For the first time I'm thinking about buying season tickets for next year. Thanks for another wonderful evening.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank vonMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Friday Night Fish Fry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is the best Friday Night Fish Fry in town or around the area. The steamed cod is absolutely wonderful

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fireside Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Fireside Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing