We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You can't go wrong here”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Paddy Coughlin's

Paddy Coughlin's
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
South Central Wisconsin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“You can't go wrong here”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Locally owned, terrific, friendly staff and a fun menu that is well executed. Nothing high brow, but that's not why you seek out an Irish Pub, is it??? Well done, just, well done. Hope nobody reads this so my barstool is available...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    17
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitewater, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Fish Fry”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This was our first time eating at Paddy Coughlin. The bar was packed but we got the last table for two. It was crowded because it was a Friday night. We both had the fish fry which came in a basket with two pieces of fish, fries, coleslaw, and rye bread. The cod fish was hot and flaky and the coleslaw was excellent. Our waitress was very good. The only thing I would change is the noise level. Our table was right by the bar and the waiting customers. We will try this pub again but try to get a table away from the bar.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeport, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great place, food and service.”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had a large group and they were very accommodating, the food was very good had the Alligator bites (yes actual alligator) and these were great and spicy, my wife had a fish fry cod which was also great with large pieces. There is a large beer selection which was enjoyed. The staff was great with great friendly service. Everyone enjoyed themselves along with their food, would definitely go again. One thing to note on Friday nights there is a much smaller menu, still good but the rest of the days there is a full menu with a lot of great looking food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Djanvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
119 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff, good food in pleasant setting”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

As part of a road trip to Fort Atkinson we took the advice of other reviewers and they were right on. Paddy Coughlin's is a nice storefront Irish Pub. Along with typical fare, you might be so lucky as to encouter a special. I had an Irish taco, which was a great blend of textures and tastes. We found the server very attentive, but not intrusive. Anotehr person stopped by to ask if everything was OK. Perhaps it was one of the owners. She didn't say. I highly recommend this restaurant for a non-chain, pleasant meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wivoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice little pub, typical fare”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is a cosy bar, well appointed, has typical bar food choices but better than typical bar food taste. A good choice for a sandwich and a beer. Only average service at best.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank percurrimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paddy Coughlin's also viewed

 

Been to Paddy Coughlin's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing