We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab mid-century motel w/ river view!!”

Fountain City Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fountain City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fountain City Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fountain City
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed here en route to Rochester MN from Madison. Friday night in July along the I-90 corridor was full up, so we detoured and stayed in lovely Fountain City.
Rooms were VERY nice. We stayed in the Uncorked Room which was tastefully and newly decorated with a nice wine theme. Not kitschy at all. Felt like I was in a nice guest room--no standard hotel furnishings here! Fridge, microwave, coffee maker, river across the road. You can hear the train go by once or twice a night but it was worth it. I really wish this place could be duplicated everywhere, but personality cannot be manufactured! Neal and his wife have made this worth going out of your way. A great place for a restful night. Don't miss the two famous Prairie School houses just north on the main road--have your cameras ready!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hallwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

We recently stayed at the Fountain City Motel for 3 nights on our annual Harley trip. Corey & Neil went above and beyond and accommodated us in a myriad of ways.....more than any other motel we've stayed at in the past! They sent a map and some brochures to us in the mail with some fantastic ideas and routes of places to go and see during our stay. The rooms are nice and very clean and updated! There's a wonderful fire pit that they have for the guests that we used all 3 nights. We would definitely come back! Thanks again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LocntryWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We spent two nights at the Fountain while attending Winona State graduation. It was convenient (less than 10 minutes) to the college, and very pleasant to be away from the crazy crowds and traffic around the campus. The room was quite large, and VERY clean. Every room has a different themed decor. It's fun, and just a little over the top, without being crazy. Our "Americana" room was filled with red, white, and blue decorations, including patriotic bears and even a stars and stripes shower curtain! The bed was very comfortable, and there was room for a comfortable loveseat. Each room has a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee pot. The price is very reasonable, compared to ones we checked in Winona. The owners are very friendly and helpful. It was our first visit to the area, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. When we go back, we'll definitely stay at the Fountain!

Room Tip: All rooms face the highway and railroad tracks. There's several configurations of rooms with mul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNKathy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We greatly enjoyed our stay at the Fountain Motel. Neil and Cory, the owners, are great people. They are friendly, helpful, and offer great hospitality. Neil was very accommodating when we had to make changes in our reservation. He offered good recommendations for places to eat and things to see and do in the area. The motel is an older style of motel, and is clean, comfortable, and each room has a theme. And it is very affordable. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tomc317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

If you happen to be in the area, this is a great place to stay. Or maybe it’s even worth visiting the area to stay here.

We booked a weekend getaway here because everything in Winona (6 miles away) was full, and I’m glad things worked out that way because we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The themed decoration of our room was whimsical, charming and fun (in a good way, not a kitschy way), filled with thoughtful little details that you would never find at a chain motel—like a small black bear hanging from the ceiling fan pull-chain. Room amenities were of high quality, with very nice bed linens and thick towels, and everything was immaculately clean. It’s a traditional mid-century motel that has retained its midcentury charm while being carefully updated where it counts.

The owners were wonderful—welcoming, helpful, friendly and caring. On Saturday night they built a fire in the fire pit in front of the motel and invited their guests to join them in the circle around the fire, if they so chose. It turned out there was a very nice group of people staying there that night. It was a completely unexpected, but delightful, way to spend that part of the evening—and again, something that doesn’t happen at chain motels.

The owners told us they have lots of repeat business, and I see why. I expect we’ll visit again, too.

Room Tip: There are thirteen rooms, with a few a bit larger than the others. How to choose? Pick your favorite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingj0urnalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The owners, Neil and Cory are very friendly. This is a small motel, with every room a different theme, but not the high price. The motel is located far enough away from the RR tracks, so that you do not get rattled out of bed when the trains go by, and they go by quite often along the river, & Hwy 35. They have towels available to wipe down your cycle. The best part, was they let us use their car to go downtown for breakfest, before we put on our rain gear for our ride in the rain.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012 via mobile

This motel wad a breath of fresh air after having stayed at a total dump (America's Best Value Inn) in Lacrosse the previous night! The room was decorated with a fishing cabin motif. Very charming, and the king-size bed was very comfortable. Soaps & shampoo was nice too.
Our group had spent the day boating on the Mississippi. Conveniently, the boat landing is right accross the street from the motel.
The owner was friendly. Met some other nice people at the gazebo.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilredhenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Fountain City Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain City Motel

Address: 810 S Main St, Fountain City, WI 54629-8220
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Fountain City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fountain City
Price Range: £32 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fountain City Motel is located on scenic Highway 35, internationally recognized as “The Great River Road” (voted one of the ten most scenic drives in America).We welcome you to the Fountain City area; and as our guests we hope to make your stay with us an enjoyable one. Please let us know if there are any special accommodations you may need and we will do our best to fulfill your requests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing