We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wet Friday Night in Ancaster”
Review of Ancaster B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ancaster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ancaster B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Ancaster B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 November 2013

A pleasant experience. Room good( no 1) with a generous sized shower. Traffic noise from the long straight Ermine St immediately outside. The pub next door has closed so getting dinner is not so easy. Pub by railway station (half k away) not exactly salubious. Parking is no problem as there is ample parking on the extremely wide pavement opposite.No discount for single occupaion.

Room Tip: Get Room 3 as it shoud be much quieter.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gsmiley475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for Ancaster B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

A very lovely stay. Clean warm and cozy being a Village B&B it has a beautiful english stone built setting. Superb evening food nearby at "The Plough, Wilsford". Vicky the proprietor does a lovely English breakfast. I'm Booking to stay again. Richmond, Kent

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richmond R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

In choosing a B&B in the UK, where possible I look for a place that is recommended by the TripAdvisor community, is relatively easy to find, and has parking nearby. On all 3 counts, the Ancaster B&B ticks the right boxes.

I was greeted warmly, and shown to a large room (No. 2) at the front of the building. The room was clean, there was lots of light coming in the window, and the shower in the en-suite was really good. The room was also very well appointed, with a desk and comfortable chair, an ironing board and iron (items I don't see all that often), and even the provision of both a heavy and light weight bed quilt. Given the two nights I stayed were mild to warm, the latter was much appreciated. The ability to dry bath towels quickly via a set of warm pipes in the en-suite is very welcome.

So, why was I less impressed than nearly all the other contributers to TripAdvisor? For the most part, it was small things that I believe could be fixed relatively easily, though the issue of traffic noise is not something that the owners can do much about.
* As noted, the summer nights were mild, but leaving the window open really wasn't an option. This small town, on what seems from the map to be a relatively minor road, sees a lot of traffic, some of it heavy vehicles. Closing the double-glazed window certainly greatly reduced the noise level.
* The door lock for Room 2 was unnecessarily awkward and difficult to use, and would benefit from a visit by a lock-smith.
* There was a lack of information on walks, and drives in the area, and on National Triust and other heritage properties. Most B&Bs I have stayed in have books and pamphlets available for perusal or for borrowing. To compensate, the proprietor kindly copied information for me on nearby Burghley House.
* The breakfast was no more than 'average'. Perhaps because I had only recently stayed in 2 B&Bs where the breakfast is absolutely superb (Birds Nest Cottage in Glossop, and North Hill Farm in the Shropshire village of Cardington) explains why I rated the breakfast at Ancaster B&B as only fair. There was no muesli on offer, with cereals coming in small packets, the very limited choice of jams came in those wretched small plastic containers, and white bread only was offered for toast. The eggs and tomato, on the other hand, were fine. B&Bs often make a point of offering home-made jam, and locally sourced free-range eggs, sausages and breads. Go to the above-mentioned B&Bs to see what I mean!
• the tariff is in the mid range, perhaps reflecting a lack of competition in the area.

So, generally a good B&B, which, with some attention to detail, could be very good without a lot of expense on the part of the management.

Room Tip: Ask if a room away from the traffic noise is available
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TONY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

After a long journey we arrived at the Ancaster and were warmly welcomed by Vicky. A superb room and we lacked nothing - every detail has been considered. An excellent breakfast too! We had a room at the front but there was very little noise from the road.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard21_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Wow, if only all bed and breakfasts were like this. Great value, clean and well presented. Only downside was the smell of cigarettes in the foyer on arrival, considering all non smoking it gave the wrong impression of what turned out to be an excellent well run B&B. will return, the food at the pub next door also good, not silver service but okay. Good value all round.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I loved this B&B - Vicky is so kind!
The room and bathroom were so clean and cozy - I felt more comfortable than at home!
Vicky purchase vegan breakfast items for me - I did not request this, but she provided soy yogurt, delicious bread, soy milk, and even soy "butter."
Vicky was helpful and friendly about the surrounds. She is so delightful!
I really recommend this place and it is a wonderful area of Britain to visit! Shalom!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gloria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Good rooms at very reasonable prices if there are two of you. No discount for single occupancy but I still thought it good value. Pleasant small residents lounge and good breakfast. Good food in the pub next door. Only down side is no offroad parking.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ancaster
4.8 mi away
Belton Woods Hotel
Belton Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Belton
1,771 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel
8.9 mi away
Travelodge Sleaford Hotel
Travelodge Sleaford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holdingham
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Grantham
0.7 mi away
Woodland Waters
Woodland Waters
#1 of 1 in Ancaster
142 reviews
3.4 mi away
Byards Leap Lodge
Byards Leap Lodge
#2 of 13 in Sleaford
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ancaster B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ancaster B&B

Address: 63 Ermine Street, Ancaster, Sleaford NG32 3QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Sleaford > Ancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ancaster
Price Range: £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 very comfortable en-suite rooms in a 250 year old stone built house, that was recently refurbished to a high standard, in the village of Ancaster between Grantham and Sleaford. All rooms have large LCD TVs with Freeview, DVD player and WiFi Internet access. There is a guest lounge and separate tables in the guest dining room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing