We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, and above all expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Green Bay
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Green Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Took part in a Wisconsin road trip back in November, and knew we'd be stopping in Green Bay for one night. Read the reviews of Hotel Sierra on TripAdvisor.com and booked a room. I was not disappointed.

I booked the cheapest room, and we were shocked when we found how spacious and open it was. Had a couch with plenty of tables/desk area for our laptops. The room was very clean itself as was the entire building. Very simple walk in and get to one of the two elevators in the front, open area. Didn't use the indoor pool at all but it looked nice, enjoyed a bowl of Chili and a quick Miller at the hotel bar the night we stayed. Very good Chili by the way.

The complimentary breakfast is very nice. There were actual cooks there ready to freshly prepare from a variety of items - if you wanted more, I think you could pay for extra, but the free portions were more than enough. Nice open area to sit down and eat. We are from Chiago and my buddy was wearing his Chicago Bears hat. One of the cooks came by to give him some grief - all in good fun though. Overall, the staff at this place, and the people in Green Bay altogether seem to be very friendly.

The hotel is in downtown Green Bay, and even though the downtown area itself isn't all that much, it still is a nice city for a one night visit. Over by the Packer's stadium is a larger town with more mainstream stores and restaurants if that is something you want. Only about 10 minutes from the hotel.

If I ever come back up here, I won't have to search for a hotel, I already know where I'm staying.

My only negative was the free Wi-Fi. It was very slow more times than not (when using it at around 10pm/11pm.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhawrysko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSGreenBayGeneralMgr, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Green Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

It is great to read you won't have to search for a hotel the next time you are in the Green Bay area. Thank you for the nice comments regarding the hotel and your stay. I'm glad the complimentary breakfast exceeded your expectations.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

In hospitality,
Maria Skubal, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (876)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

811 - 817 of 876 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2011

For the price we paid (we got the AAA Rate), I felt that we really got a deal! Stayed two nights in mid-March. Hotel is newly renovated, rooms are large (every room is a suite). It's all set around an indoor courtyard/atrium. There are four glass elevators in the middle of the atrium, making for a pleasant trip up or down. There is a restaurant, a small bar, a small kind of gift shop, a fitness room, pool, etc. Everything is very CLEAN, the staff is very attentive, breakfast (excellent) and parking are included. If you have to go to Green Bay (and believe me there's not a lot to do in GB in the winter!), this is definitely a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viajadora59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSGreenBayGeneralMgr, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Green Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

It sounds as though you've found a new place to stay in Green Bay. I appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. Thank you for the kind comments regarding the large suites and all that is available at the hotel.

We hope to see you again soon!

In hospitality,
Maria Skubal, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

We stayed at this Hotel Sierra in Green Bay over New Year's weekend, spending $300/night for a king deluxe 1-bedroom suite. Right from the start, we realized this was NOT going to be a good experience. The desk staff was indifferent at best, & outright rude at times. We were initially impressed with the spaciousness of our room--until we realized we had one tiny closet with a total of 5 hangers (for 4 people). There was NO space for our kid's luggage in the main living area, no extra blankets or pillows for the kids (though our reservation stated '2 adults/2 children'), the heater was incredibly noisy and kept waking us up, and (though a minor complaint) the sliding doors in our most-expensive-suite-in-the-hotel overlooked a filthy rooftop. OH--and the hot tub in the pool area was out of order---something we didn't learn until we went down to use it.

The continental breakfast--included in the room price--was excellent: made-to-order omelets and a wide variety of foods to choose from. The staff, however, apparently had never been trained in 'customer service'. The seating for breakfast was in the lobby--there were people in bathing suits, etc. Very informal. Yet one 'waitress' decided my kid's bare feet were an issue---and she, literally, YELLED at them. I heard her from across the lobby. Guess it made her feel important to berate two small children for their lack of footwear.

But the worst thing in this hotel has to be the glass panels on either side of every room door. They're frosted, so no one can see in. But they don't block out light from the hallway (and the lights are not dimmed at night). It was so bright in the living room area of our suite that my kids had to come and sleep on the floor of our bedroom (on our bed's comforter, since we had no extra pillows/blankets for them, despite REPEATED requests).

I filled out a comment card detailing the issues we had with the hotel, and included our name/address/phone number---and have not received any sort of correspondence or response from the hotel. They obviously don't care--an attitude which is evident from the top down.

On a bright note: the bar/lounge is excellent, with good food & great service. Eat there--and stay somewhere else!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DropZoneMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSGreenBayGeneralMgr, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Green Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments posted in regard to your stay with Hotel Sierra Green Bay for our New Year Family Package Weekend. It is through communication from guests such as yourself that we are made aware of areas in which we fall short our our high standards and your expectations. We apologize that there was not adequate bedding in the suite, we certainly do put extra pillows and blankets in the dresser and closet area. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed our breakfast offered to all overnight guests with made to order omelets. We do encourage our guests to adhere to restaurant health and dress codes for everyone's safety. We are certainly sorry if this was not presented in the proper manor as our guest's safety is a high priority to us. In regard to your concerns of the glass panels, we are delighted to inform you that we are currently installing black out curtains.

I welcome the opportunity to speak with you in regard to your stay, as we would love the opportunity to win you over.

In hospitality,
Maria Skubal, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

The Sierra is located in downtown Green Bay. I stayed there for four nights in October. The room layout supported work needs, and I appreciated the kitchenette. When the hair dryer didn't work, a replacement was dispatched quickly. Although all rooms open to the atrium, sound was not an issue in the bedroom area as it is located at the rear of the suite. Breakfast was hot and offered a variety but was more limited when there were fewer guests. Because there is a chef, plan to tip. I also had a dinner in the bar; I would not recommend getting a meal - only drinks and snacks. The issue that prevents me from recommending the hotel without reservation in future is the lack of temperature control. During the winter, I set my thermostat at about 68 and then turn it down to 60-62 degrees at night. I don't sleep well in a warm room. The room cannot be adjusted outside of 68-74 degrees. Even opening the window didn't help; the heat automatically turned on. My sleep was fitful as a result. The front desk cannot help either. So, if you want more control over your temperature, I would use another facility.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMK-Dayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSGreenBayGeneralMgr, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Green Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your stay with us. I am encouraged that you perceived our staff to be helpful and the rooms were quiet.

I do apologize that the thermostat in the room did not meet your needs. I will check to see if the temperature range can be extended to offer lower setting. As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues.

Again, thank you for the comments because we are always looking for ways to improve.

In hospitality,
Maria Skubal, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Went on a business trip with two colleagues. All three of us had horrible rooms in neighboring hotel. Hotel Sierra saved the day! What an awesome place. Staff was great, room was large, comfortable and clean. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FB40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSGreenBayGeneralMgr, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Green Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments. I am so pleased we were able to save the day for you and your colleagues. You nice comments regarding the staff and large suites is appreciated. Thank you for recommending and we hope to see you again!

In hospitality,
Maria Skubal, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The rooms were large and roomy and very clean. The free breakfast was average but this wasn't a big deal for us.

The hotel is in a really good location and all guests receive free parking and wi fi.

With the limited number of good hotels in Green Bay, we would certainly recommend this one. A very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarehelen23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSGreenBayGeneralMgr, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Green Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted to read you had a comfortable stay at Hotel Sierra. Thank you for the nice comments regarding the size and cleanliness of the suites as well as the location of the hotel. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

In hospitality,
Maria Skubal, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2010

We had three rooms for my brothers family and mother along with us the weekend before Christmas for our family celebration as GB is midway between us. My first time at the property since it converted from the Regency Suites, where I had stayed many times and even before than when it was the Embassy Suites.

The lobby and atrium have been totally remodeled, and looks lovely. Unfortunately, the rooms, and pool area didn't get the same attention.

The Good

Very friendly, helpful service from the front desk to the security guards to the guys who made breakfast, (old-timers like Roger are still around) and the pub staff were okay but not as friendly to the person.

Liked the package we received that had the customary breakfast and a few drink coupons (or $2 off if you don't like really cheap stuff). We also had a free pizza and two liter along with some kid stuff which was all included.

Good shower, which appeared to be one of the few good renovations to the rooms.

Nice bedding.

Nice TV in the front room.

Breakfast was good and bad, nice to have cooked to order items, but the cheese used in the omelete's was just bad, and the potatoes tasted 'old'. Pancakes, French Toast, bacon and sausage were good, and they also had a variety of fruts, rolls and cereal. The juice, etc. machine had very poor quality product. The ice tea was the worst tea I have ever had.

The Not So Good

Our room. Beds were hard, no curtains for the front windows (only one of our three rooms had them), pull-out was so uncomfortable the teenager just slept on the couch. Missed having the sink in the bedroom. They used to have a wardrobe and sink in bedroom, but turned the area where the sink was into a closet (did have ONE robe in it, though). Old TV that half the remote keys didn't work anymore. Heater was TERRIBLY loud, every time it kicked on it made a huge "thumping" noise. We finally just turned the heat down so it wouldn't come on, and it got quite cold but better than the noise.

Also - room noise above and next door was bad, and didn't remember it being like that in the past.

Pool area - no changes in years, and the steam room was broken while we were there. The sauna never did get hot, and the spa was roughly the same temperature as the pool the second day we were there.

Hoped to use the shuttle on Saturday night, but wasn't staffed since they were less than 50% occupancy.

In summary - the lobby and common areas look great, but the rooms and amenities needed the same attention and just didn't get it. The place could use more attention to the details that make a high quality hotel, which is what it looks like they aspire to return to.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Green Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Green Bay Downtown
6.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Green Bay North
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Green Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Green Bay
Hampton Inn Green Bay
#4 of 42 in Green Bay
677 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Green Bay East
2.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Green Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Green Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Green Bay

Address: 333 Main St, Green Bay, WI 54301 (Formerly Hotel Sierra)
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Green Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Green Bay
#5 Business Hotel in Green Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Green Bay
#12 Family Hotel in Green Bay
Price Range: £83 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Green Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Of all hotels in the area, Hyatt Regency Green Bay, is the only one to claim the KI Convention Center as its adjoining neighbor. Experience comfortable luxury and Midwest hospitality in Wisconsin's oldest city, home of the Packers' history-rich Lambeau Field. A Suite, Restful Retreat for the Long Haul Traveler. We get the balancing act required for taxing travel and that's why we strive to inspire real life routine while treating you to unexpected touches of luxury. It's this and our unrivaled service that set us apart in a hundred little ways to allow you to live your best life while on the road. Hyatt Regency Green Bay, helps tackle the modern mix of chaos and never-ending expectations on the road via intuitive, value-add amenities, intelligent design and no-is-never-an-answer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Green Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt On Main Hotel Green Bay
Sierra Hotel Green Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing