We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad”
Review of Dickey's Barbecue Pit - CLOSED

Dickey's Barbecue Pit
Price range: US$5 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Description: Dickey's Barbecue Pit prides itself on authenticity, innovation and barbecue sauce, one store at a time. With roots in Dallas, Travis Dickey set out to perfect Texas-style barbecue.In 1941, Travis Dickey opened the first Dickey's Barbecue Pit in Dallas, Texas. Space on the restaurant's sign was rented out to help pay the start-up costs for the restaurant and the menu was limited to beef brisket, pit hams, barbecue beans, potato chips, beer, bottled milk and sodas.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Drove by this place today and the BBQ smell dragged us in. Dickey's is okay, but not as good as KC's BBQ. The staff was very helpful and gave us suggestions on what to try. We tried the pulled pork and the brisket with a side of beans and coleslaw. Both the pulled pork and brisket sandwiches were good, the BBQ sauce was a little on the weak side and the baked beans were very similar to Campbell's only spiced up. The coleslaw was good

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1DaKa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    11
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dousman, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fast food BBQ”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The food was pretty good but more like fast food than slow cooked southern BBQ. The brisket was tastey. The green beans not-so-much.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kitty k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, WI
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good Stuff”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We gave Dickey's a try. We could smell the food from the parking lot and it dragged us in. The employees were beyond polite. Spent $25 to feed myself, wife and son. The beef and pork were excellent, though not quite hot enough for us. The turkey was kind of blah. They had 3 types of sauce. The original was very good. The sweet was just ok. We didn't try the spicy.

The sides were tasty and they had a lot to choose from. We got Onion Tanglers, BBQ Beans, Baked Potato Casserole & Coleslaw. Meals were served with bread, raw onion & pickles.

They had unlimited pickle spears available too!

Finally, we finished off our meal with free soft serve ice cream. Overall a good meal. We'd eat here again.

Place was clean (including the bathrooms!)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jaywalker17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The worst BBQ I've ever had!”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Dickey's is literally the worst tasting chain BBQ joint. It is wayyyyyy too over-priced. $30 for two hoagie pulled pork sandwiches that were dry and contained no sauce, 4 sides, and two drinks. That is ridiculous!!! It is definitely a chain restaurant and worse than Famous Dave's. If you want to pay $30 for a dinky sandwich, four tiny sides, and two drinks feel free, but this place sucked! I would never go here again.....

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dolphin776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manistique Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Bar B Q”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We went here for dinner with 2 kids, The food was pretty good, Not fantastic but good. The ribs and chicken were the best. They had a man doing balloons for the kids and you can get free Ice cream after dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blonniew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dickey's Barbecue Pit also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing