We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Short Heavy Sleepers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St. Brendan's Irish Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Green Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2009

Before you book, do you remember WHY you bought that King Sized bed? Hmm? Also, the "european" design bathroom means you can't turn on a light, brush your teeth or take a shower without waking your partner. And the bar is excellent - which means post-bar closing noises from the parking lot. Big argument in our lot last night.

I love the look and design of St. Brendan's in Green Bay and County Clare in Milwaukee (identical rooms). But it's lovely only if you intend to snuggle close, sleep deep, with the windows closed so the post-bar crowd fights don't wake you up.
Signed, Blurry-eyed

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ubucraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2009

We arrived for an NFL game. 10 minutes from stadium 15 minutes from airport.
The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We stayed in room 315 a suite.
The room is well appointed. Very clean and homey. The bathroom is large with a rain shower.....nice.
we ate outside on the deck. The service was okay. A goth girl with a pierced tongue named Briana was friendly but very forgetful. The food was good. And a value.
The bar is very popular with locals always a good sign. Live music on Friday and Sat nights.
The staff and every single person in Green Bay were the most friendly we have ever met. A very relaxing fun weekend. Thank you Green Bay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amrdia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We were unaware of this five year old Inn that is located on the river and within a block of a drawbridge. As long as you don't look across the river at the warehouses or listen to the occasional train that comes through, you should be content with the outside environment.

A discount coupon offer in our local paper published 180 miles from Green Bay gave us an opportunity to learn about this Irish Inn and give it a try while saving $50 if it turned out to be a bust. Overall we were quite satisfied but there were some deficiencies that prevented us from giving it a five star review here.

Starting with the minor bad news we will list them as: a lack of a coffee packet and one cup for the coffee maker; damage to a wall where past guests had somehow slammed a chair against the wallboard thereby gouging it out; a full size bed for two instead of the usual queen or king (there's room for a queen that might be a bit tight with the two end tables but not a king size); a bathroom shower without a lip on the floor or curtain so some of the water will go onto the floor; shades that leave about an inch gap from the wall so that light from the parking lot will come into the room after lights off; and sporadic good service.

Now the good news that allows it to be 4* instead of 3*. Again without extensive elaboration we highlight the following: a very tastefully decorated room in Irish emerald green that appears quite dark and depressing at first but good room lighting and large windows offset the dark colors; ample parking in front; an Irish pub across from reception that serves good spirits and very good food; a breakfast buffet with made to order omelets available from 6:30AM to 9AM; three minute walk to a coffee shop with reasonably priced coffee, smoothie and tea drinks; a full sized suite was our choice with all the amenities we needed including comfortable recliners and reading lights; a wooden chest with extra pillows and a blanket; reliable radio alarm clock; a full sized whirlpool that we filled as I pre-showered without a loss of water pressure; the new riverwalk with positioned art work sculpture along the pathway; and good service by the wait staff in the pub.

I can't give a firm up or down thumb for all service rendered. It seemed hit and miss at times. The first encounter with the reception clerk was on the negative side. We were about an hour early and wanted to check in to get the paperwork done but she said no to that request which was our first experience with that response. Most hotels don't mind doing that so that the guest can go straight to the room when the word is given that it is ready. We think from her personal conversations that she had a miserable shift dealing with the Saturday night crowd that was exiting. That same receptionist on the next day's shift as we checked out (there is express check out available too) could not have been more pleasant.

Our encounter with the evening shift receptionist who checked us in started out very helpful and polite but maybe my staring threw her off a bit. It's a generational gap I know, but it's difficult to be in a nice place and see the young person who is there to help you in all black with white makeup and black fingernail polish plus some type of symbolic necklace looking back at you. She did her job then but about two hours later when I had to go back to the desk for something I had forgotten she was nowhere to be found. Due to a surprise crowd on a Sunday night she had been pulled from the desk to help in the pub but no note was left to know how to locate her. It took a ten minute wait in the pub's entryway to catch the eye of a waitress and get my inquiry answered. My little Goth Girl was sent back to the front desk but acted like I was interrupting and bothering her. Again an unexpected turnabout from the same individual who was great a couple of hours earlier.

So, there were some minor difficulties and deficiencies that were attributable to the end of a weekend, less than full-service oriented personnel, being understaffed on a shift and oversight in room maintenance. If the owners or managers attend to the details this place should always be doing well. Currently, during our brief stay, there was no sign of business being lost or that it was in a downturn despite the sour economy that is hurting many restaurants and lodging places. The value of what you get for the money, the promotions it has, the community support that it gives (judging by its poster in the entryway) and the atmosphere throughout the building are contributing to what appears to be a very successful venture.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rallyguy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

My husband & I had a business meeting in Green Bay early Monday AM. I found an excellent value on their website for Sunday night stays. Our room was very pretty with a water view, but the best part was the bed....it was amazing. And the bathroom was interesting, it was large & extremely attractive but not completely private so if you need privacy the standard rooms are not for you. The suites have a private bathroom. Still, the shower was amazing. The room was extremely clean and the standard room was a good size, not huge but certainly large enough for my husband and I. The rooms look exactly like they do on their web-site, no surprises, which in this case is a good thing.

They have a lovely bar/resturant with stain glass. We opted to sit on the outside patio overlooking the water. They have a parking lot between the patio and the water but you have a decent view. We had the best fish n' chips we ever had, perfectly prepared. Service was good, it was a wonderful evening. Also they have an excellent beer selection. A lot of locals were there so it was very busy, much more so than the hotel. We were told by the hotel clerk the next morning they are known for the Bloody Mary's which is my favorite drink and I was tempted to order one with the complimentary breakfast. They had delicious, hot, right out of the oven cherry scones. Which reminds me with dinner they give you irish bread. It felt a little strange to be the only people in a rather large resturant but it was very pretty with the morning sun coming through the stained glass.

The morning hotel clerk was very nice and worked with me on late check-out, which was almost 2 hours over the offical time. All in all a great experience and we would stay there again, especially if we could get the same rate again for a Sunday night stay. The location is nice as well, as you can go for a walk along the river. They have a sister hotel in Milwaukee which we wil definately check out during our next overnight Milwaukee visit.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louisebrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2009

From the moment we stepped in we were greeted by one freindly staff memeber after another. Everyone bends over backwards to make sure you stay is pleasent. The rooms were beautiful and comfortable. When we did leave our rooms we found that there was plenty to do in the surounding area. Everything was outstanding. We will be staying again, hopefully very soon.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajchatterbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2009

Comfortable room, super friendly staff, excellent food and cheery pub.
The only thing we missed was live music. Lovely path by the river but a bit too chilly for a night walk.
What a hidden treasure!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrusinCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2008

On a recent trip to the Oshkosh Air Show i needed to find a hotel on very short notice. I searched everything within a 70 mile radius and accidentally found this Inn. WOW what luck. I wanted something a little differer t (even searched bed and breakfast's )and came across this property.
It is a perfect experience for anyone wanting the feeling of a bed and breakfast but provides lot's of privacy and all of the comforts of a upscale hotel. There is a very comfortable bar/lounge and dining room placed (hidden) inside of a Irish Inn.
What does that mean ? It means everyone is very courteous , and friendly yet willing to help and provide whatever you may want with nothing more expected then a " Thank you". (There are not many of these places left in America. )
The food served here is anywhere from sandwiches to full meals. And every item is great. Lot's of food and great service at a very reasonable price.
And the ROOMS. All are detailed to the very last detail. I had a suite (which added 10.00 for 2 nights) I had 2 rooms with twin leather recliners, 2 TV's , a queen bed and a huge bath with a large walk in shower and a WHIRLPOOL for 2. Tile floors and QUITE. i HAVE BEEN IN LOT'S OF PLACES AND THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST. Oh ya the cost of this room on a weekend was 104.00. And they include a full breakfast and 2 meals of my choice off the menu at no cost. Just print the provided coupon that appears when you check it out on line.
Lastly; this property boarders a river in the back yard that has a river walk way to all of the other bars and restaurants in the area. Beautifully lit at night and very safe. Very peaceful in the early morning .
Don't be misled by the lack of detail if you view this property on line. Outside it appears pretty basic inside awaits a property filled with all the detail and comforts equal to 500.00 per night rooms available only in upscale hotels.
If your close to this area (Green Bay Wisc) it is well worth the trip to experience this INN. Pass up the Quality Inn and the Holiday Inn located close to this property you will be happy you did.

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank IowaHighwayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Green Bay
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Green Bay
Hyatt Regency Green Bay
#5 of 42 in Green Bay
919 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lodge Kohler
Lodge Kohler
#8 of 42 in Green Bay
62 reviews
4.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Green Bay East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Kress Inn, An Ascend Hotel Collection
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Green Bay
2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Green Bay
SpringHill Suites Green Bay
#16 of 42 in Green Bay
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Brendan's Irish Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Brendan's Irish Inn

Address: 234 S Washington St, Green Bay, WI 54301-4213
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Green Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Green Bay
Price Range: £97 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Brendan's Irish Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to St. Brendan's Inn, Green Bay's Premier Hotel for Irish Hospitality. St. Brendan's Inn, located in Green Bay, Wisconsin, offers sophisticated lodging accommodations, authentic Irish food, Irish drink and Irish music - all in an elegant, yet comfortable, setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. Brendan's Irish Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Brendan`s Irish Hotel Green Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing