We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Mackinaw's Grill & Spirits
Ranked #8 of 474 Restaurants in Green Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 24 July 2014

They had a special going, a "menu du jour" which was great. Entree, plat, et désert for $20. Coming from France, we were impressed! Plat was choice of steak, salmon and something else, yeah! Steak was delicious!
Desert was yummy. There was enough food to take home some for lunch next day, typical in US.
Service perfect. Brandy old-fashioned sublime. And I love that there are a variety of places to sit:nooks and crannies. Sports bar loud and peopled or booth for a little intimacy and conversation. Nice layout of place. Thank you!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ellen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin q, Owner at Mackinaw's Grill & Spirits, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Ooooh international travelers, we feel very special! You must have visited us during "Restaurant Week" when we had our $10 lunch options and $20 dinner choices. Yes, our portion sizes tend to be a little on the heavy side but that way people don't have to cook the next day haha! Very happy to hear you enjoyed your steak, dessert and classic midwest drink, Brandy Old Fashioned. Hope you enjoyed your visit with us and really appreciate you taking time to write us a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
There are newer reviews for Mackinaw's Grill & Spirits
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 173 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I met her brother, wife, and 6 of her family for a Friday night dinner. Despite being very busy they had no problem accommodating a large group. We were seated in their first floor back banquet room with some other large groups. Here lies the only rub, to keep with the atmosphere the banquet room has a high vaulted tung & groove wood ceiling. Due to this it tended to get quite loud. Not much you can do about, so this more of an observation then complaint.

That said, the sever, bartender, and food more than made up for it. Despite handling the entire room by herself our sever was sincerely friendly and efficient. The bartender made a special trip to restock the beer I was drinking, and together they handled the entire room quite well.

Everyone found the food to be excellent, from Perch to a Porterhouse Steak. My wife found her side dishes lukewarm and asked they be reheated. Instead, she was brought a complete new meal. This is what stood out most to me me, the service and friendliness of the staff. We're all human and things happen, but it's how you handle those things that make difference. In this case you couldn't ask for more. I definitely recommend Mackinaw's.

Thank TC-WILCOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin q, Owner at Mackinaw's Grill & Spirits, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! We try to be as accommodating to large groups as we can and thank you for understanding that although vaulted ceilings look great, they can create a little excess noise. Also really appreciate you noticing the hard work your server was putting in. It's all about doing the little extras and giving 110% that keeps people coming back. And of course, thank you for complimenting the entrees. The Perch and Porterhouse are both very big sellers and glad your table enjoyed them! Sorry about the temperature on your wife's side dishes but very happy to hear the staff addressed and corrected the problem appropriately! Next time you are in please ask to speak with Kevin, would love to introduce myself! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Had a nice evening meal here. I went for a buffalo burger with bacon, cheese and pulled pork. It was awesome! I made a school boy error with the thick cut chips - you'd have to be British to understand! Great special on margaritas and a good selection of draft beers (as in "on tap"). Recommended.

Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin q, Owner at Mackinaw's Grill & Spirits, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Oooh, sounds like you had our Lumber jack. That is definitely one of my personal favorites! Sorry about the "chips" misunderstanding but hopefully they were still to your liking. We try to keep some local, microbrews on tap as well as crowd favorites. Glad you enjoyed the draft beers. Next time you're in, ask for Kevin, would love to hear about your experience in person! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

we have never had a bad meal here until today. buffalo burger- bottom bun so soggy i could not pick it up.my wifes burger was served with a yellow, rock hard tomato. why put that on a plate. the prices have gone up and quality down. everybody has a bad day so they will get one more chance, hope next time is better because we really like the place

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KewauneeBillybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin q, Owner at Mackinaw's Grill & Spirits, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for giving us the benefit of the doubt. We definitely strive for 100% customer satisfaction but as you said, everyone can have a bad day. I apologize for the less than satisfactory meal and would like to discuss this matter with you more personally. Happy holiday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stopped for lunch while shopping in Green Bay. Loved the different menus choices. The food was great. The atmosphere inside feels like you are in the north woods.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin q, Owner at Mackinaw's Grill & Spirits, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Christine, thanks for fitting us into your day shopping in Green Bay! We just put out a new menu and it is always reassuring to receive such positive reviews. Also happy to hear you enjoy our north woods atmosphere, nothing beats getting out of town, or at least feeling like you are! Next time you are in, ask for Kevin, would love to thank you in person, cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mackinaw's Grill & Spirits also viewed

 

Been to Mackinaw's Grill & Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing