We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heidel House Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Green Lake
West Allis, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Was disappointed”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed two nights for various meetings. The people are very nice and courteous. The guest rooms need updating and a good cleaning. One of the meeting rooms smells like car exhaust. The food was terrible (dinner was cold and over cooked). The view from the main building was amazing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cholka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    143
    118
    64
    28
See reviews for
155
240
9
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
south WI
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I have stayed at this Hotel for one night each year for the past seven years (business related). It's about this time of year (early October) and I understand that it is probably "off season" for this hotel. I know a lot of people rave about this place, but I just don't get it. I have always found it about average. Service is so-so. Last night during my stay I ordered room service at about 7 p.m. and they said I would have it in 10 minutes. About 40 minutes later I called and asked about the food. They said they must have gone to the wrong room..?...anyway, they then delivered it. This is petty I know, but just an example of average. The facilities are nice but again I do not find anything near what my expectations have always been for this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank appalachiantrailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

My daughter got married here two weeks ago and she and her husband wanted a wedding that included time with family and close friends; the HH provided the perfect venue. From gathering at the pool as everyone arrived; to the rehearsal dinner picnic; to the bonfire complete with s'mores; Friday was wonderful. Saturday, while the women were pampered at the spa, families hiked, or went bike riding. The ceremony was under two ancient beautiful trees, followed by a reception in the Carriage Tent and after party in the Boathouse Pub. Sunday we hosted a brunch in the Sandstone Room with a view of the lake.
Star Irvin, the Weddings Catering Manager is fantastic! She is extremely organized, easy to work with and was very accommodating and responsive to any special requests in the months leading up to the event. She was on hand throughout the weekend and assured that everything went smoothly, insuring that the bride and groom (and mom) could relax and just enjoy the wedding with family and friends!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mbk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeidelHouseGM, Manager at Heidel House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. It was our pleasure to host your daughter’s wedding and we are delighted that it was a perfect weekend for her and her guests. I have shared your comments with Star and the rest of our management team. Thank you again. We very much appreciate you sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

A great location for a property that could make some improvements. Located right on Green Lake, with several docks, boats, jet skis and kayaks for rent, along with a sandy beach area. The premier rooms are in the main building facing the lake--not-so-premier rooms are in the main building facing the parking lot. The rooms actually have keys, no key cards here--haven't seen that at a hotel since visiting Holiday Inns as a kid traveling with the family. Time to upgrade the locks. Room was comfortable, with a fridge, coffee maker (albeit with powdered coffee creamer, yuk!) and bar sink in addition to the sink in the bathroom. There was a table with two chairs that looked like they came from the meeting rooms--straight back and lacking in the seats. Based on the pictures on their web site, they did come from the meeting rooms! Time to upgrade to something more comfortable, especially when stuck in the room because of rain.
Ate dinner in the Boat House Pub--my burger and fries are what you'd expect at such a venue. Wife had a chicken caeser salad that wasn't even marginal--terrible comes to mind--old wilted lettuce, dry chicken and skimpy on the dressing. Although there after Labor Day, there was some kind of conference going on, so I would hope the restaurant would have fresher food on hand.
Overall a great location, an average room and a below average dining experience.

Room Tip: Pony up and get one overlooking the lake on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeidelHouseGM, Manager at Heidel House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you, Pete, for your feedback. We appreciate your comments as we continually upgrade our guest rooms and improve other areas of the resort. I am sorry to learn your dining experience was unacceptable and have shared this information with the appropriate management. Thanks again for your honesty. It helps us continue to make improvements to the guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We had a short two night stay at the Heidel house for a mid-week getaway. The plan was to relax and play some golf at nearby Lawsonia. We stayed the week following the labor day – after the summer crowds.

The staff were all very kind and helpful, from the initial call to make a reservation to a quick check in and check out. Whenever we walked through the lobby, someone would come out to check if we needed help.

We booked a deluxe lake view room and we were not disappointed. We had read that the rooms were a little dated. It was more that it was rather generic, but clean and contemporary enough. The bedding was extremely comfortable and the provided toiletries were nice. Our room was in the main building so our lake view balcony was shared. But since it was mid-week off season we had it all to ourselves.

The property itself is older but well-maintained and clean. The bar has an outdoor seating area that has a fire pit and a great view of the lake. We ate dinner there the first night and lunch the second day. It was pretty much average bar food, and was a bit inconsistent (a grilled cheese sandwich that the cheese hadn’t even started to melt on), but overall a pleasant view and nice staff.

We dined one night at the Grey Rock and really enjoyed it. We started with a martini in the bar sitting at a table looking over the lake. The bartender made some great recommendations and prepared them well. In the literature, the bar is described as ‘swanky’ and that is the 50’s term that describes the 50’s vibe of the bar (which is very fun). In hindsight we should have had a martini there our first night, it was so enjoyable.

Dinner at a table overlooking the water was delicious. I ordered skate fish – which I don’t see very often on the menu. It was very delicious. Hubby at game hen that was also quite good (the polenta was a bit salty, but otherwise the meal was good).
The grounds were well kept, and the pool and pool area was very clean. The spa looked very nice, but we didn’t have an opportunity to try it.

Overall we enjoyed our trip very much. Since it is a short drive from our home (1 ½ hours), we plan to take another mid-week break there soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WIGolfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This hotel is set on a beautiful lake with a beautifully updated lobby & main building. However the guest rooms are old, run down & dirty! Upon check in we were issued actual keys for our rooms, which made for a loud disruptive room entry & hard to share w/ family members. The windows are old & hard to open. The A/C systems are loud & cumbersome to access. We encountered several spiders & flies. The wait staff in the Pub on sight were slow & totally clueless. Our order was wrong & not worth the very long wait!!! The quality of food was just awful for what we paid!!! It was down right disgusting! Again slow sloth-like service, Ugh!!! We almost walked out! Passed several hotel staff members throughout our stay who were very unfriendly to say the least! Even staff members in suits, that appeared to be hotel execs failed to greet us or at least smile! The only staff member who was EXTREMELY FRIENDLY & had an answer to all of questions regarding the resort throughout our stay was Crystal!!! She is a gem of a gal & an asset to that resort!

Not worth the hefty price tag of $170 a night in comparison to other hotels I've stayed in. Especially when they require a 2 nt minimum stay for wedding guests! Oh & the follow-up stay e-mail providing a rate of $89/nt for your return reservation. What a joke!!! I wouldn't pay $50/nt to stay in those rooms!!!! Thanks for over charging us & leaving the majority of the family members that traveled from out of state w/ a bitter taste in our mouths when we were there to celebrate!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trisha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, WI
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The hotel staff and ameneties were wonderful. We had a $300/night lake view room. The screen door was off track and it had bugs stuck to it. The bedding was very comfy and updated and all-in-all the room was fine. Had everything but a microwave in it, which would have been nice. The pool was delicious! The view was also wonderful and the beach area was very clean. I would stay here again. HOWEVER, we had major problems with the restaurant off the pool area. The food was good and the menu was great, but the bartender was RUDE. It was very busy, but they were not equipped or lacked the experience to tactfully handle guests. The Grey Rock was nice, but I ordered a ravioli with artichoke and walnut pesto and got a heavy, brown mushroom cream sauce (hate mushrooms). Could not eat it.

Room Tip: The lake view rooms are definitely worth checking into. Our room overlooked the pool. Fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaVan19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Green Lake
4.4 mi away
Comfort Suites at Royal Ridges
4.2 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites Ripon, WI
23.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Oshkosh
22.4 mi away
Super 8 Wautoma
Super 8 Wautoma
#1 of 2 in Wautoma
227 reviews
9.0 mi away
Countryside Lodge Magnuson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidel House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidel House Resort & Spa

Property: Heidel House Resort & Spa
Address: 643 Illinois Ave, Green Lake, WI 54941-9750
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Green Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Green Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Heidel House Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the shores of beautiful Green Lake, Heidel House Resort & Spa is a year-round Wisconsin resort destination. Unwind, slow down and recharge at our full service resort, where fresh air and miles of shoreline are just the beginning of your Midwest lakefront getaway. For over 60 years, guests have returned to enjoy exquisite dining, championship golf, tranquil spa retreats and more. Together, these create an unparalleled Green Lake experience that you'll, too, want to enjoy again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Heidel House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidel House Resort And Spa
Heidel House Hotel Green Lake
Heidel Resort Green Lake
Heidel Hotel Green Lake
Heidel House Green Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing