We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Resort in a Beautiful Setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heidel House Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Heidel House Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Green Lake
Plainfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Resort in a Beautiful Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We spent two nights at the Heidel House to attend a family wedding. The Resort is well maintained and has been updated. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Our room was spotless! The Resort is located on Green Lake and if you are in to fishing or water sports, or thinking about hosting a wedding this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    139
    111
    55
    25
See reviews for
136
232
9
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Wanted to say had a great stay Bill the gentleman who was on night duty in pool area was very helpful professional and went out of his way to make our stay exceptional.we enjoyed that all other staff were also very kind to make our stay very pleasant.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hancock, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

I have stayed here three times now. Once in September when the beauty was at its best and the lake was still a pleasure to be on, once in the winter for a romantic getaway, and this time. The getaway package my mother and I had was wonderful. We utilized the hot tub, both restaurants that were open, and the evensong spa across the street. Everyone was very friendly and hotel was clean. The bed and room was especially comfortable in the lac verde building. The only issue was the May flies that kept us from walking the lake this time of year. Heidel house is nicely tucked away in a rural and relaxing area. Overall I will return again and again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

First time at the Heidel House for a workshop being hosted at the facility for my work. I was impressed with its excellent staff, clean facility, and the perfect balance of relaxation and fun. I can only imagine what great opportunities the Heidel House has to offer for summer and I would certainly return anytime of year.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelWI2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I went wtih a group of friends to Heidel House for a girl's weekend. It was FANTASTIC. It was not too crowded, the drinks and service at the Grey Rock were wonderful. We spent about 7 hours at Evensong Spa utilizing various services, the cafe, and the relaxation room. It was the best spa experience I've had and the massage was certainly the best I've had. If you go and eat at the spa cafe, be sure to try the Evensong salad. The Resort, Restaurant and Spa made for a completely relaxing and memorable weekend.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the lake! It is very picturesque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ekkohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

I spent the weekend at the Heidle House Resort with my girlfriend the first weekend of April,2014. We had read all the great reviews and thought it would be a great place to spend the weekend. We got a great deal through Groupon and knew the place would not be packed during the off season. We arrived late afternoon on Friday, and was greeted by a very accommodating staff. The front desk recommended that we dine at the Grey Rock Mansion right next door. Again this restaurant had great reviews so we gave it a try. Unfortunately we found the following conditions present:
1. The dirty white table cloth was covered with white butcher paper.
2. The food arrived and was not only expensive but thoroughly disappointing. The perch special resembled sardines out of a tin can, only those would have tasted better. We each had 2 drinks with dinner, the bill was $88.00.

The hotel room was in need of refurbishing, the décor was 1992. Saturday night we dined at the Sunroom Restaurant inside the Heidle House. We were hoping for a better experience then the night before. We ordered the prime rib buffet. It may have been the worst prime rib dinner I have ever experienced in my 55 years. Completely inedible. The menu stated that the prime rib would be chef carved at your table. Not so. We were told by wait staff that the prime rib was pre-cooked and reheated. Another $88.00 thrown out the window.

Late afternoon we decided to try the in-room whirlpool, and were unpleasantly surprised to find no hot water available. Need I say more?

.I forgot my IPhone charger so we went into the business center that the hotel provided. Needless to say it was grossly inadequate and not one piece of equipment in there worked. .

Save your money and save your marriage and visit elsewhere.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mbinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

I decided to check out the Heidel House for the first time to celebrate life....a birthday getaway. My mother and I was very pleased with our Deluxe Lakeview accommodations. Jason, Andrew and Ian were great at the Heidel House. Dawn and the staff at Evensong Spa were also great! Cant wait to go back when its warmer, Im sure its beautiful.
Thanks!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Green Lake
4.4 mi away
Comfort Suites at Royal Ridges
4.3 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites Ripon, WI
23.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Cobblestone Inn and Suites Oshkosh
22.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Oshkosh
La Quinta Inn Oshkosh
#3 of 11 in Oshkosh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
21.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Oshkosh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidel House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidel House Resort & Spa

Property: Heidel House Resort & Spa
Address: 643 Illinois Ave, Green Lake, WI 54941-9750
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Green Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Green Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Heidel House Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the shores of beautiful Green Lake, Heidel House Resort & Spa is a year-round Wisconsin resort destination. Unwind, slow down and recharge at our full service resort, where fresh air and miles of shoreline are just the beginning of your Midwest lakefront getaway. For over 60 years, guests have returned to enjoy exquisite dining, championship golf, tranquil spa retreats and more. Together, these create an unparalleled Green Lake experience that you'll, too, want to enjoy again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Heidel House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidel House Resort And Spa
Heidel House Hotel Green Lake
Heidel Resort Green Lake
Heidel Hotel Green Lake
Heidel House Green Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing