We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Exceptional Experience!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Norton's of Green Lake

Norton's of Green Lake
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Green Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Local cuisine, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Exceptional Experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Having been brought up in the restaurant business this place hit all my nostalgia buttons. The bar is a very typical nightclub atmosphere that I would expect for Green Lake. Beautiful views, great service and prompt attention. We chose to eat indoors and requested a table for a half hour after we arrived. Like clockwork we were seated and greeted by a very professional and courteous waiter. The menu was explained, recommendations were made and we proceed to have a very romantic and special evening. Our food arrived at the appropriate intervals and it was done to perfection. I had seared scallops which were amazing and my partner had the walleye. Both meals were done perfectly and we could not have asked for a better experience. The food is a bit pricey, however the combination of the view, staff, service and food was well worth it. We really enjoyed watching other guests compete in bags and will try sitting outdoors next time just to have a different experience. We will definitely be back when we visit again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie64_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    54
    15
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ripon
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Won't be returning to Norton's”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Being that I have been going to Nortons every so often since I was a kid (36 now) and used to love the place, it takes a lot for me to say I won't be coming back. First off the menu was very limited for a dinner menu and half of the items on there were only on Fridays. Second the food was VERY overpriced....$15 for a chicken salad and the chicken had been boiled and pan seared for a half a second on one side, looked terrible. Needless to say my wife didn't eat it. I gave it two stars to be generous because they did have decent service and after complaining about the food to the staff they refunded the 15$ boiled chicken salad.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lunk78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfort, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Nortons was amazing! Great food, service and atmosphere. We had a party of 15 and they handled it so well. We had 3 servers waiting on us. It's a must see in green lake!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
154 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Almost a Five”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

You can't beat an outdoor table overlooking beautiful Green Lake on a summer day. Try the bacon wrapped scallops or the ahi tuna, both are excellent. The only thing that held me back from giving a perfect rating was the somewhat slow service.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DCA2113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice view, great service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Very cute. Sat at the window with view of lake. Food was extremely good with nice portions. A little pricey but well worth the good food and atmosphere. Wait staff were all very friendly and happy. Games and tiki bar out back for after dinner and/or break for kids. Outdoor seating too. We will be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyFamily201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Norton's of Green Lake also viewed

 

Been to Norton's of Green Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing