We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay.”
Review of McConnell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
McConnell Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Green Lake B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2013

MANY years ago we discovered Green Lake and McConnell Inn. We hadn't visited for sometime and decided to make a visit this year. We had such a wonderful stay we went back again in September. Scott and Mary Jo couldn't be better hosts. Breakfast is perfect! Walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Royandpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 65 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

This is our second stay at this lovingly restored bed and breakfast. It is still just as nice. Each room is thoughtfully decorated and furnished and each one has a nice private bath. The hosts, MaryJo and Scott are delightful. MaryJo cooks the most amazing breakfast, and surprises us each morning with something even better than the day before. They are both willing to answer any questions, offer suggestions, and do whatever will make your stay comfortable. I should also mention, that there's always some sort of homebaked cookies available when your return from your days outing.
The town of Green Lake is wonderful itself; a quiet sleepy town, that just begs you to stay here for a while.
If back this direction, we'll definitely stay here again. We would even go out of our way to stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lggg70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This was my first B & B stay and I really enjoyed it. The room was nice and comfortable, we were in the Suite. Breakfast was good with fresh fruit and variety. Other guests enjoyed the Gluten Free options.

Room Tip: The Suite is several flights upstairs so be prepared for a hike if you are booked there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

My husband and I stayed here over the Valentine's Day weekend, 2013. Upon early arrival, we were greeted by a blackboard with the directions to our room inside. (The owner was out, and her son was busy in the back of the house.) This gave us the chance to peek in every guest room that was unoccupied. Every room was just as nice as the next. My husband commented on the cleanliness of the entire house, and I enjoyed looking at the original architectural features that had been lovingly restored by the homeowners. The floor plan has remained unchanged, and the entry hall/foyer has a beautiful coal-burning fireplace that has it's original tiles intact. The turret room on the main floor had a plate of delicious oatmeal cookies waiting for us, and a small library of books to enjoy during your stay. We enjoyed the fact that the homeowner left us to relax and did not bother us, except to let us know that parking was parallel to the curb, not angled, as we had thought. The inn has a nice website where you may view all of the guest rooms. We stayed in the Dartford room, which had a gas fireplace and a claw foot tub. We really enjoyed our stay, and would recommend the inn to anyone looking for a little peace and relaxation. Just a note to television lovers, the guest rooms do not have televisions, but there is one on the first floor of the house in the living room (with a small library of movies).
Breakfast was served between 8:30 and 9:30, which was very nice for my husband, who does not like to socialize with strangers (he does this all week). We just waited until the other two couples were done eating, and then went down for breakfast. Mary Jo served very tasty gingerbread pancakes, sausages, fresh fruit, and kolaches (which are European pastries). Everything was very good. Mary Jo answered my questions about the house and general area, and was a nice hostess.

Room Tip: Some rooms have views of the lake, and some have fireplaces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bohemianbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We have been going to the McConnell in for more than 20 years and it has spoiled us for other BBs. Mary Jo is a great hostest and is constantly updating the rooms, making sure the blinds are in working order, towels are fresh and beds are comfy. Her breakfasts are great - always a fresh baked pastry and i LOVE the apple cheese pancakes. The location across from the lake could not be better and as a runner, I can easily lace up my shoes and get in a 9 miles with great scenery. We go to Green Lake at least 5 times a year including winter.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetRalph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2006

Our stay at the McConnell Inn was great! We had the luxury of the 3rd floor suite. The "sitting room" space was great, though the chairs proved somewhat less than comfortable. The king size bed was comfy and the linens were of good quality. The bathroom was spacious the the whirlpool tub a nice relaxation, but it could have used some minor updating. Towels were worn, and the wallpaper a tad bold, but everything was spotlessly clean.

Mary Jo was a fabulous host - welcoming and warm, without becoming the "overbearing innkeeper- type". She was available when needed but left the guests to enjoy their stay.

Breakfasts were great! From the egg scramble to the blueberry scones and fresh fruit, it was all wonderful. Those with an incredibly hearty appetite may feel a bit shy at the table, but most will walk away with a full and pleased tummy.

If we return to Green Lake, we would definitely return to the McConnell Inn.

Stayed: July 2006
1  Thank ladydocinchitown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Green Lake
4.8 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites Ripon, WI
5.0 mi away
Comfort Suites at Royal Ridges
19.2 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Waupun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Super 8 Wautoma
Super 8 Wautoma
#2 of 2 in Wautoma
235 reviews
6.3 mi away
Welcome Inn
Welcome Inn
#3 of 3 in Ripon
31 reviews
22.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Oshkosh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McConnell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McConnell Inn

Address: 497 S Lawson Dr, Green Lake, WI 54941-8700
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Green Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Green Lake
Price Range: £83 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — McConnell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leave your cares and your car at the curb. All that Green Lake has to offer is just a short walk from the McConnell Inn, celebrating 31 years hosting guests in Green Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your McConnell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing