We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buffet trays empty!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Confucius House Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 40 Restaurants in Hales Corners
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Oak Creek, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Buffet trays empty!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

If you are serving a buffet and you open at 11am, the food should be in the trays, ready for serving when you open the doors and people are coming in. Only fruit was in trays. At 11:08 am they brought out some rice. Little by little other food appeared so by 11:25 all food was set out. You had to go back 3 or 4 times just to get a plateful. No explanation or apologies. Had we not gotten our drinks, we would have walked out. We have been here in the past with no issues, but we will NOT be returning.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ljp47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    2
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Home
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Love their food!”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I have eaten in the restaurant, had the buffet, and ordered off the menu. I have had delivery from there as well. All delicious! My husband especially likes the fried rice called Yang Chow fried rice, which is full of meats and veggies, and little sauce, and better than even the house fried rice. I love the Mongolian Trio or even the Mongolian Beef. Eggrolls, too. Wonderful!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rlsmith11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“what a gem”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We visit Confucius at least once a month for their great lunch buffet. It is consistently tasty and plentiful. The owners and staff make this casual place a welcome return

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2amigas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Chinese food”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We eat here regularly because it is convenient to where we live. I love that you can see right into the kitchen, so you know that it is very clean and neat. We've never been disappointed with the food or the service. Just an all-around good Chinese meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ac12560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hales Corners, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The Best Chinese Buffet”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

This is one of the best Chinese restaurants we've been to! They have a wonderful lunch buffet - which happens to be my favorite chinese buffet! The food is set up in front of windows where you can see the food being prepared. One day we were there and they were making fresh noodles - it was quite interesting to watch! They also have a drive up window which we've used on numerous occasions. I suggest the Mongolian Beef, Vegetable fried rice, green beans, and the Honey chicken! The downside - I always eat too much when we go to the buffet!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank annieross60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Confucius House Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Hales Corners, WI
 
Hales Corners, WI
 

Been to Confucius House Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing