We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A FAVORITE, BUT SERVICE NOT SO GOOD” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Norske Nook

Norske Nook
Ranked #9 of 82 Restaurants in Hayward
Cuisines: American, Scandinavian, Norwegian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Duluth
Level Contributor
249 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A FAVORITE, BUT SERVICE NOT SO GOOD”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

The Norske Nook local chain is one of our favorites. The Scandinavian decor is great and the menu delicious. We had never been to the Hayward restaurant before. It was not very busy on a Sunday. Service was slow, cooks forgot the coleslaw on our sandwiches which the menu said was part of it. Very few coffee refills. Pie was awesome as always!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tomorrowsantiques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    68
    33
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hayward, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old fashioned cooking!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

They a fine breakfast menu all day and many comfort foods. They have the best pies around. They also feature leftsa and other Northern treats.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nogoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmer, New Jersey
Level Contributor
294 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Scandinavian Delight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Although the Norske Nook is well-known for their pies we opted to try their breakfast fare. We were delighted with our choice! You gotta try their Norwegian Pancakes with Scandinavian Lingonberries topped with whipped cream. So what is a Lingonberry? All I can tell you is that they were delicious! Definitely an unexpected surprise for us that is a real local favorite and a true Scandinavian delight!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicemeany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing Pie!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Stopped here while in Hayward for work. I ordered the hot turkey sandwich. It was smothered in gravy and came with a side a mashed potatoes. It was delicious! But that wasn't the best part... The pie was amazing!! As a matter of fact we went somewhere else for dinner the next night and went back here for the pie!

The building itself was small and nothing special, but the service was excellent and the price was right. I will definitely be back!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Horeb
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tasty Lefse Wrap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

The chicken-spinach lefse wrap with a sesame ginger sauce was quite tasty. The warm pecan pie a la mode wasn't bad either! Those Norskie women are great cooks.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Norske Nook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing